Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Merkins Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Bradford On Avon > Merkins Farm Reviews

Merkins Farm
Bradford Leigh
Bradford On Avon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2RW
Tel: 01225 869487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Loverton 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights in this peaceful location with wonderful views. The weather was fantastic and the site was pretty full over the week-end. However, the facilities (1 male toilet, 1 female toilet & 1 very large shower room (50p)) were kept really clean and we never had to queue.

Visited the local pub about 10 minutes walk away and had a nice meal, pretty average prices. We also had a lovely walk to Great Chalfield Manor, but unfortunately as it was Monday, it was closed! We walked from there into Holt to the Courts Gardens (NT) which were fantastic and then walked back to the site (about 2 miles).

We also walked into the pretty town of Bradford on Avon, but be warned - the walk back is uphill and quite strenuous!

We didn't use the on-site cafe, but it was very popular, as we noticed lots of people were coming on the site to use it.

I have to agree with the comments about the washing up area - we only used it once, because there was no hot water. No problem for us, but if you're camping it wouldn't be very good.

We nearly always use Caravan Club sites, but this proved to us that small commercial sites can be just as good and much cheaper! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pentlandsl 3 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site set in a lovely part of the country and run by very welcoming owners.

We stayed here for just one night but we loved the site and will be coming back again in the future.

The basics: Level field, very quiet and clean and good showers and toilets.

There is also a fabulous cafe on the site that is run by the owners. Lovely decor and good value cooked breakfast!

Couldn't fault it in any way at all. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Worrywort 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just one night. Owners seemed friendly, and we were allowed to stay on the hard standing though we hadn't booked EHU; the grass area for tents was still a bit wet. Lovely view across the valley from the site towards the White Horse at Westbury; this does make it a bit exposed when the weather is very windy. Cosy vintage-themed cafe on site, opens from 9am to 4pm 6 days a week. We had a lovely breakfast, not cheap, but good quality. About 5 mins to walk up to the Plough, we had a pretty good meal there, price was about mid-range for a good pub meal. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CJAD 4 reviews from this member

 We were visiting for a few days over half term and visited the Roman baths in Bath and Cheddar Gorge.

This is a lovely quiet site with beautiful views across the countryside.

There is plenty of space for the kids to run around in.

The hardstandings were flat and each had electric hook-up. The toilets and showers were kept very clean.

There is a cafe on site that does a very good breakfast.

We would happily return. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanefidel 3 reviews from this member

 I booked via email and got a very prompt reply telling me to pitch my tent and settle up at the cafe. This I did on arrival to find the owners very friendly and helpful.

This is a lovely little site in a very picturesque part of England.

The toilets were spotless and of a very high standard, although only had cold water for hand washing, as did the washing up area.

The only negative comment I have is that the site was very noisy.

I was down for the weekend to watch the motocross at Farleigh Castle and decided to camp away from the track to get a good nights sleep away from the noise.

However this was not the case. On the first night there was a tractor working in a nearby field until 1.40am. On the second a family pitched next to me and their children were squealing and tripping over guy ropes until past midnight! The father did attempt to calm things down (in a very loud voice I might add) but to no avail.

Maybe I was just unlucky, and I can't really blame the owners, but a patrol of the site in the late evening may be a good idea just to ensure everything is as it should be.

Ironically I decided not to stay another night and did indeed stay at the motocross event for the last evening and had the best nights sleep of the weekend !

In conclusion this is a great little site however my stay was spoilt be inconsiderate people, which is a shame as I will not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mother-goose 4 reviews from this member

 We had a great time!

This was our first camping trip in over ten years, we stayed the last weekend in July. I sent an inquiry about the site last minute and received a very quick reply, all my questions were answered.

I was told on arrival to chose a place to pitch and then pay in the cafe. It is a small site but that is what we were looking for. The toilets and shower were very clean, only one shower but all the campers seemed to go at different times so we did not have to wait.

Lovely big space in the middle for children to play and also a field as well. My daughter had a great time catching grasshoppers.

There is a pub about five minutes down the road but it is a bit pricey, almost 50 for 2 adults and 1 child without desert(there did not seem to be a children's menu).

The only negatives for us were the fact that there is only cold water to wash up with and although they will refreeze your ice packs they do not do a replacement service. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevearty 7 reviews from this member

 We found this site on UK Campsite and after reading the reviews booked at very short-notice over the internet. We had to mess the owners around with arrival dates and times and departure dates due to various changes of plan, but this presented no problems and they did everything they could to help us.

The listed postcode refers to a group of farm buildings two or three hundred metres back towards the main road, continue on and look for the gate entrance between two hedges further on. We have a large twin-axled caravan and landrover, but access through the gate was easy, however exiting onto the narrow lane meant we had to give a wide-swing out. There are 5 hard standing pitches and one grass pitch, but they are a little narrow, there is not enugh room for a caravan, awning and car on the same lot. There is also a large field which can cope with lots of tents.

Cost for my outfit with two adults and EHU was 14 which is very good for the area. The hook-up coped with all our power consumption needs. There is a chemical toilet disposal point and fresh-water point. One shower, which requires a 50p piece, one ladies toilet and one mens toilet. Whilst we were there it was fairly quiet, but if it got busy there might be a bit of pressure on these facilities. Digital TV signal was good, mobile signal was a little hit and miss and we had a clear view of the sky for satellite. There is a lovely cafe on-site which serves a great breakfast. The site is set in a large field which is very safe for children to run and play in or dogs to be walked without disturbing anyone.

Bradford on Avon is well worth a visit with lovely walks along the canal and river. Bath is close by as is Longleat Safari Park. There is a Sainsburys on the outskirts of Bradford-on-Avon or a massive Tesco at Trowbridge. Top tip is to park your car at Bradford-on-Avon and catch the train to Bath which saves on queuing traffic and parking. There is pub close by, 'The Plough' which we didn't visit, but I can highly recommend the 'Lock Inn', Bradford-on-Avon, for either an evening meal or Breakfast.

This is a basic, quiet site, very safe for children and reasonably priced that is ideally located for exploring all that the local area has to offer. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

 A reasonable site for short stays or weekending. We had the only grassy pitch for caravans with electric at the end next to the entrance.

Not a problem with noise or exhaust fumes but we weren't there in high season. 50 p for 8 minute shower but the cubicle was large enough for a family to share

I'm not quite sure why washing up facilities were offered as they were cold water only.

I'm not sure how well the site would cope at full capacity in high season with two toilets and one shower. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheKells 6 reviews from this member

 We spent three days at Merkins Farm over the Easter weekend, only cut short because of the weather. This is a lovely little site run by the friendliest of families.

This is by far the smallest site we have stayed in and at first we worried about the facilities as there was only two toilets (one ladies and one gents) only one shower and one sink for washing up.

However, the site was probably 70% full and we didn't once wait to use any of the facilities. This may be because so many of the guests were in caravans or motor-homes (we were one of only two tents).

There is only hot water in the shower (50p for 8 minutes of hot water) which made washing up a little tricky but we just boiled a saucepan and took our own hot water to the sink.

The field is 'L' shaped with 6 electric pitches with hard standing (more specifically for caravans and motor-homes) running along one fence/bush alongside the quiet road and nearest to the cafe and facilities.

The other section of field (for tents and other units) came away from the road, so was quieter and was also pretty flat with beautiful views over the fields.

We usually prefer to have electric but were not able to get an electric pitch. However, the site owners very kindly and happily re-froze our freezer blocks for our cool box as we had nowhere to plug in our fridge, which we thought was a great personal touch. There was no playground for the children, but the size of the site probably didn't warrant one.

The site was in an excellent location for our two main aims for the weekend: to visit Bath and also Longleat. A small tip is to get the train into Bath from Bradford-on-Avon (a lovely little town only 5 minutes from the site) instead of driving into Bath as the return ticket was very cheap, the journey extremely pretty and I had been pre-warned that Bath is a nightmare of one-way systems. Bradford-on-Avon is also well worth visiting.

One final recommendation is the friendly pub just 5 minutes walk away, The Plough. There was a mix of locals and campers like us and everyone was welcoming and fine with us taking the children in the evenings. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Egglets 5 reviews from this member

 We overnighted here while visiting relatives, very surprised, great site short distance from Bradford On Avon. The facilities are 2 toilets one shower, all were immaculate. Owners/staff couldn't be more friendly.

Large field which we could use to exercise the dogs which was a great help and stunning views.

Big plus point was the Cafe on site which was open at 9 on a Sunday morning from which we had a great breakfast which we enjoyed sitting outside on the tables enjoying the view.

We will stay again! 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merkins Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merkins Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Merkins Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bradford On Avon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1484 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December