Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Merkins Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Bradford On Avon > Merkins Farm Reviews

Merkins Farm
Bradford Leigh
Bradford On Avon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2RW
Tel: 01225 869487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 31 to 39                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bass gibbon 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent small camp site, run by friendly and professional people. The toilets and shower are cleaned daily. Rubbish and recycling bins are provided and emptied regularly. Chemical disposal point in also provided.

The location is great being close to the lovely town of Bradford on Avon, the walk from the town to Avoncliff viaduct along the river is recommended. Castle Coomb is also well worth the short drive.

We highly recommend this site 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 34 reviews from this member

 Big field caravans & electric hookup roadside then another wide strip for tents. At the far side of the field away from everyone who needs to be close to facilities is a wonderful mowed wide strip of field with just a tap and fantastic views. No one else was there but the owner says that they don't allow more than 5 ish tents as the facilities are limited (but probably the cleanest ever). Great helpful owners, so much to cycle to, from here, we'll have to go back. Went for 2 nights, stayed for 4. Brilliant 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K + g 4 reviews from this member

 We went to this site over the bank holiday weekend with some friends in the same tent. They arrived early and the owner allowed them to have a picnic. The lower field was flat and sheltered by a hedge. The next field had cattle and lamas. The pub up the road was very friendly and welcoming.

Although there is only one shower, one lady and one mans toilet which were spotless, this was not a problem because is a small site. The owner was very friendly and allowed us to pay when we were ready. The site was quite and the grass cut short.

Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirstie76 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a few days away. Found the campsite, clean,tidy and as reviewed by others.

There were 6 of us and the facilities were prefect. Shower and toilets were very clean.

Would phone to book as very busy. We would of loved another night.

Beautiful views. Easy drive to Longleat and surrounding attractions.

Bike hire available in the village.

Would definitely revisit. Kids loved it.  


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rocktech 5 reviews from this member

 I found this site to be a good no-frills site. The photo on the website shows the pitches for motorhomes / caravans on the left of the road and others on the right. But, off on the right through an uncut grass field, with mown paths, lies a big field as well. The owner recommend I put my tent there, as the hedges would shelter it if the winds picked up.

Also, this field was dry underfoot, and seemed well drained and was nearly flat. But the area shown in the photo was very wet to the right of the road. Be warned, it gets soggy in the rain - better to go to the lower field if you can. If you don't need electric hook-up, and don't mind the 100yrd walk to the toilets / shower then I'd recommend this field.

It was very quiet there - in fact I found it almost too quiet in my tent the first night! The whole site was peaceful, and the owners very relaxed.

They only offer 1 gents, 1 ladies toilet, and 1 50p powered shower. No real washing facilities except small sinks in the toilets. And 1 sink for dish washing. Don't expect hot water, there is none - except the shower. And no soap for hand washing in the toilets.

That said, the facilities were modern, clean and well looked after.

I didn't get to go to the local pub about 1/4 mile away, as I used all that Bradford-on-Avon had too offer, and very good it was too. Shops, Sainsburys, pubs etc all very good.

At 10 pitch/night I found the price fair - I have had better for this, but it is a good basic site.  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peek2868 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay at Merkins farm.

We had pitch 4 with EHU. This was ample for our vario 600. Pitch 5 is a full grass pitch slightly larger for those planning on taking a tent would be worth requesting this.

Like has been said before 1 male + female toilet + 1 shower, wet room style. The site was busy with a rally in the back field and lots of small tents opposite the EHU pitches, however the toilets and shower stayed immaculate through out.

Lovely peaceful site in easy reach of bath and longleat.

Only thing missing was hot water on the dishwashing sink but for 11.50 a night for 3 of us and EHU I'm not moaning. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geffersnco 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for a quite site, then this is for you.

We were welcomed when we arrived and allowed to pitch as we liked. Toilets and showers are kept immaculate by owners and although there is only two toilets and one shower, we did not have any problems at all, even though during the week it got busy (3 caravans and 4 tents. Showers cost 50 p for 8 minutes and to be honest it is more than enough time to get all the kids showered and the shower room is big enough for two.

Pub just down the road, very friendly and good beer, meals good but a bit expensive.

All in all and excellent base for exploring the area. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saxylydz 10 reviews from this member

 Great site. Large flat field ideal for pitching up tent. Site was quiet when we stayed so the 1 ladies 1 male toilet and 1 shower wasn't a problem. Shower 50p for 8 mins.

Great pub a ten min walk away with lovely food and welcoming landlady

Nice quiet site, beautiful view.

Maybe at 10 for two per night and then having to pay for hot water in shower, it was slightly over priced, however facilities clean and people friendly. No noise from surrounding area, great place to go relax and get away from it all. Only a short drive into Bath and Bradford upon Avon. Eat in the Bridge in Bradford upon Avon, or The Plough next to campsite. Be sure to visit Thermal Spa in Bath too! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Turbobek 4 reviews from this member

 Me and my boyfriend stayed here from Saturday 23rd Aug to Tues 26th Aug 2008.

Easy to find, although we had sat nav.

You just drive in and pitch your tent. No need to book in at the house as the chap comes round in the morning between 9-10 to collect the money, We didnt see anyone till our 3rd day but there was a note saying if he didnt come then just drop the money in the house which I thought was very trusting and a brilliant idea.

One ladies loo, one mens loo and one shower which was 0.50p for 8 minutes, ample enough time for both to shower.

A washing up sink area which unfortunately didnt have hot water but we just boiled some water and added this.

There is a barn so if your in a large group you can site under there until the early hours if its raining and its very sheltered.

Great location, great little pub called the plough serving awesome food and a short walk from the campsite. 2 course for a tenner on Sundays :-)

Bath is about 10 min drive, longleat (which we were there for) half hour drive and salisbury and hour drive.

We would defo stay there again for another short break.

Would be nice to have freezer pack re freezing facilities but that's my only comment on the site.

Will be visiting again next year. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 39     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merkins Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merkins Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Merkins Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bradford On Avon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020