Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Merkins Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Bradford On Avon > Merkins Farm Reviews

Merkins Farm
Bradford Leigh
Bradford On Avon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2RW
Tel: 01225 869487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikkid21 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet and secluded site. We visited on a mid september weekend and only shared with one van and 2 other tents.

The tent field is flat with well mown grass. It is fairly exposed to the prevailing wind but that's good for getting the tent dry. It really is just a patch of grass so you will need to bring toys to occupy children.

One male toilet, one female toilet and one unisex wet shower room. All were sparkling clean and mould free. I though they were newly refurbished but apparently they are 6 years old. Really do look as good as new.

50p for the shower buys 8 minutes of piping hot water which was very welcome after riding to Devizes and back. (plus my 9 year old managed to fall into the canal)

Overall a bargain basic site at £15 pn for 2A+2c.

The hill into Bradford on Avon is very steep. You descend onto town but the have a pretty fearsome climb back up to the campsite. I would recommend the lock inn by the canal wharf for a fantastic cooked breakfast sitting in a converted longboat on the canal itself. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jp99 1 review from this member

 An absolutely fantastic site. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful owners.

Although basic, the facilities were spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate. The site has a lovely cafe including outside seating.

Throughout the site there was great attention to the finishing touches and details. The water/waste/recycling facilities were tidy, clearly labelled and well laid out.

A large field was available for dog walking/exercising.

The views were superb and the site provided an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside.

We’ll certainly be going back and would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Across2bare 2 reviews from this member

 Just left this fabulous little site to travel around the area. Very warm welcome received by the owners.

When we booked there was no need to leave a deposit but just told to call into the tearoom to pay.

Tea room was lovely and served a cracking breakfast.

Toilets and shower always clean and never really a queue.

The walk to Charfield Manor was lovely and followed by an equally lovely walk to Holt to another National Trust gardens - really recommend the Glove Factory tea room in Holt !

Very convenient location for loads of places to visit in the area. Walked into Bradford on Avon which was a bit hard going for us oldies - missed the Kennet Avon canal which looked very attractive when we went through the town on way out - looked as if there was a coach park further on - would have appreciated a bus route into the town.

Our two dogs loved the huge field for a run off lead and it was a brilliant area for children to play - so relaxed. Just one little complaint- there could have been a dog bin as I didn't feel very comfortable putting doggy bags into the general waste!

All in all an absolutely wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NTHurzzz 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Just looking for a simple overnight stop - and it was wonderfully quiet. All very friendly and low key. A nice change from the intense facility filled sites you get.

We had decided to go to Longleat (30min drive away) and fancied a stop in a farm near Bradford-on-Avon. Friendly pub 10 min walk away.

As mentioned by others - very simple facilities - but spotless. 1 shower (50p) - 1 mens toilet and 1 womens with hand sink. No running hot water in sinks or washing up sink. Not a problem - just need to plan.

Very friendly and highly recommended back to basics site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve Price 2 reviews from this member

 This is a little gem of a site. Spotlessly clean facilities, very helpful, friendly and charming owners. Plenty of room for our 10 year old to play in (we knew there is no play area so took our own bats, balls etc). Great pub 500 metres at the end of the road.

Wonderful panoramic views of the rolling Wiltshire countryside. Through binoculars you can clearly see the Bratton Camp white horse at Westbury.

We took our three dogs with us and we were given a a print of a suggested walk from the site which took us through open fields to an historic house called Great Chalfield Manor - a wonderful walk.

There are other great walks close by at beautiful Bradford-on-Avon (plenty of shops and a good area for Geocaching) and Cean Hill locks on the Kennett and Avon canal.

We also took a day out to Bath about 7 miles away and visited the Royal Crescent, Bath Abbey, Pump Rooms, Sally Lunn's etc.

This site was absolutely perfect for us and I would recommend it to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruth Leverton 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 6 nights at this super site. Situated just outside of Bradford on Avon the site has beautiful views and the facilities are second to none - basic but more than adequate and always immaculately clean. The shower always had plenty of hot water.

The local pub, The Plough (which is within walking distance of the site) is also well worth a visit for a friendly welcome and excellent food.

The site owners were more than helpful and respectful of customers' needs - especially appreciated them being around in the background if needed but by no means intrusive.

Excellent break away from the humdrum in a peaceful setting. The owners are in the process of opening a coffee shop on site which was progressing well during our stay and we know it will be a success.

We will definitely go back and can recommend it to everyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brozlightyear 1 review from this member

 A very clean, basic and quiet site. There is a one shower and a single toilet for each gender, all kept very clean. There’re about half a dozen electric hook up points that are predominately for caravan / motor-home use. However via pre-booking, Jon & Hayley, the friendly proprietors organised electric for us mere campers.

It is a basic field and we managed to find a fairly flat spot. With not providing lot of facilities, Jon and Hayley have managed to create a very relaxing atmosphere with not many children, but those that were there seemed to be having a very nice time.

The Plough (about 10 minute stroll) provides reasonably good food and at a good value. However, The Barge in town (Bradford-on-Avon) is fantastic (but always busy).

Bradford can be walked or cycled, but it’s a steep hill coming back! Bath is only half hour away with plenty of park and ride schemes.

On the whole a great site to go and get away from it all, with great views of Sailsbury Plain and the Westbury White Hosre. A good base for Chedder (about one hour away), Bath, Glastonbury and Longleat (45 mins) and many a canal and / or river near by to watch, swim or paddle in and on! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: OldGimmer 6 reviews from this member

 Great site - owners very friendly and on hand if you need them.

Facilities are basic but top quality and well maintained, all you need really. Showers are 50p and you get about 6 minutes of hot water for that.

The field was large and they have the tents well away from the caravans so you don't all feel on top of each other.

Right in the middle of a fabulous area for exploring - we would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apca 3 reviews from this member

 This is a perfect site to get away from it all. We spent one night there and will definitely be back! The field is huge (great for kids to play in) with a lovely level area for about 5 tents sheltered by a hedge, at one side, and hard standings for 5 caravans at the top. It's a beautiful setting, with far reaching views, and wonderfully peaceful. The toilets and shower were modern and absolutely spotless. The owners have provided useful information about shops & places to eat etc.

The owner recommended a walk across fields to the NT's Chalfield Manor, which was beautiful. We weren't there long enough to explore any further!

Can't recommend it highly enough if it's peace and quiet, rather than facilities and entertainment, you're looking for. 10/10! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emski 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, simple but exactly what we wanted!

Very friendly welcome when we arrived, site had a few caravans and 2 other tents booked in during our stay.

We had plenty of room and kids had loads of space to run around and play, safely and without bothering any other campers.

Toilets and shower room were spotless, Only 2 toilets and 1 shower but never had to queue so was not a problem.

The campsite is well looked after and very clean and tidy, highly recommended and was a great base for us to visit Longleat (just 30 mins away)

Self catering cottages next door also looked very nice!

Overall a great campsite and weekend away! 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merkins Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merkins Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Merkins Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bradford On Avon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December