Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Miners Standard

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Miners Standard Reviews

The Miners Standard
Bank Top
Winster
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2DR
Tel: 01629 650279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hideehiicampers 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a large field at the back of the Miners Standard pub. It is on a slope so some pitches are awkward. The views are amazing, you are in the heart of the Peak District. However, the site is very basic.

Toilets/Showers - There is one shower and one toilet in each male and female block. These are outdoors. In my opinion these were very poor. The ladies toilet had no seat, there was no toilet roll and no soap. They weren't very clean. The shower was also not very clean. The showers are 20p.

A lot of campers were having small fires on the grass so a lot of the pitches had holes where there had previously been a fire.

Vehicles - The owner said vehicles must be left in the car park after pitching up. This was not policed and everyone ignored this rule.

Pot wash area - There was an outdoor sink to wash pots this was not covered at all so if it rains you will get wet.

The Miners Standard pub serves food. This was very average. I had fish and chips which tasted like frozen fish you would buy from a supermarket. The menu looked impressive but the food didn't live up to expectation.

Good location for visiting the peaks so if you want a no frills campsite this is for you. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redorion 14 reviews from this member

 Split into two reviews:

Site:

Not a good welcome - advised that we could arrive when ever we wanted so arrived at 11 ish. Pub doesn't open until 12 and was advised by the bar man that he wouldn't help until 12. So no clues as to where to pitch etc etc.

Anyway due to the wet weather the field was obviously out of bounds which in the summer would be great siting.

There is a small hard standing area but most is taken up by what look like permanent sited vans.

EHU only available off the pub building so you need a minimum of 30 metres of cable to get to any of the sockets. They will rent you an extension but if busy might struggle.

Toilets and showers (1 male, 1 female) were very clean but had no soap when we stayed.

Pub:

The pub was a good local country pub and once in the staff were very welcoming and so were the locals. The food was of a good standard so no grumbles there and the menu is extensive.

Overall it was a good site but as with other comments I wouldn't want to be there when very busy, and EHU's need to be more easily available. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Louey 7 reviews from this member

 I was part of a pre booked group of 20 campervan units. There was enough room on the hard standing as long as we parked as if in a car park. Outside loos and showers OK, 20p for a 2 min shower (not bad). Biggest gripe was that the hard standing was covered in a thick sheet of ice and no attempt to grit it was made - it was lethal.

Pub was OK, reasonable range of beers. Prices a bit steep, but I'm used to a Wetherspoons.

Food: Menu looked good but half of the stuff was not available. Annoyingly, food was not available till 7pm on Saturday evening evening though there was 30 of the group wanting to eat (we had after all booked to stay for the weekend). When food arrived it was of a good standard.

Would I return? No 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigBadNige 1 review from this member

 Site well-located at edge of village and elevated with great views over rolling hills and dales. No constant road traffic despite B-road at entrance. Yep, site slopes but not excessive and experienced campers can adjust with head-to-toe pitch with the slope. Flat pitches at entrance next to caravans or at top 150m from toilets. Horses in fields adjacent and man with dogs that could be reported to RSPCA.

The facilities are subjective depending on needs/ expectations. Electricity available and you can have a fire. Pub is open for breakfast. Didn't use any of these. One male and one female toilet area that each have a lockable exterior door and inside a separate toilet and shower (meter) although neither of these have a lock. Kitchen wash facilities are uncovered and no hot water - sink and drainer attached to an exterior wall next to water tap.

Pub staff very friendly and helpful. Booked in advance without deposit and showed site and facilities when arrived in dark on Friday night. Pub warm and friendly although beer bit standard. We didn't try food so cannot comment. We did however try the Bowling Green in village (5 mins walk down East Bank) for excellent food, real ale beer and service. Allowed dog and children in conservatory. Away from log fire, mind :-(

*** Site could potentially accommodate @50 tents (over 100 people) at peak times and I would imagine this is VERY busy for toilet block ***

(((Would definitely return))).

Although ONLY at the fringes of summer camping season. Before early May and after late September. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Telfordtrucker 1 review from this member

 Lovely site but very basic. Great pub with great food and allowed both of our dogs inside and also gave them free treats. The field was well mown I had no problems as the ground was hard as there had been no rain. My only problem was needing both my hook up leads to be able to reach the power point. Will definitely use the site again. Is ideal for visiting nearby bakewell and matlock also only a short drive to dovedale 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cracknells 4 reviews from this member

 Booked site at short notice and managed to pitch the caravan on the hard standing car park/caravan storage at the entrance of the camping field at the back of the pub (at our request because of weather forecast).

The grass camping field although sloped looked well maintained. The owners were very friendly and were able to lend us a hook up extension as there is only one box near the car park.

The toilet facilities were clean but only one toilet and one shower cubicle per block. No locks on either of these internal doors so had to lock the main block door which seemed a bit odd? Had lots of lady campers trying to get in and having to queue whilst I finished my shower - sorry!

The pub toilets were also open though. There were outside washing facilities which we didn't use but no cover for those in tents that may have had to.

The only niggle I would have was that the chemical disposal was just a sewage drain with cover at the side of a shed. No signs and no water to be able to wash anything down - although I did over hear the owners mention they would sort out signage when I asked where it was.

Overall, a lovely little site, fantastic views, walking, lovely pub, food looked good and reasonably priced. People friendly and welcoming. Well behaved dogs allowed in the pub too - he even got a treat! I would definitely return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JeanSandy 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 weeks on the site, found it very good value and the owners very welcoming. Site was sloping, but we managed to get on flat ground at the front of site and therefore easy to use the electric hook up.

Food was lovely in the pub, and the locals were friendly.

The toilet and shower block were clean, but no soap on the sink in the toilet. When site was busy at the weekend, there were queues for the showers as only one male and female.

Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glampingcouple 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping with all new gear and tent!

Despite arriving during the worst storm of the summer we loved this site from the start. Very warm and friendly welcome in the pub with all the locals wishing us luck with our first time pitching

Sloping field as said on previous reviews but drained well once the rain stopped, long way from hook ups but no problem to loan long lead from pub (small deposit) our friends were in their caravan on hard standing and also had to have long lead on loan. Pub food and wine extremely good especially the breakfast (yummy).

Fairly basic shower and toilets but very clean (no handsoap in sink though for when using the loo!). There are new loos and showers being built and should be open for August.

The village of Winster is quite lovely, we were lucky enough to be there during Wakes Week and really enjoyed the carnival including decorative floats and amazing Morris Dancers, the local shop is run by the residents and well worth a visit, full of local produce.

Would we visit again. We loved it and are hoping to make it a yearly event during Wakes Week. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GAM123 1 review from this member

 Spent three nights here was a lovely location with fantastic views. Site is on a hill but we didn't find this a problem.

It only has a very small toilet block with only one male and one female toilet and one shower in each but as it wasn't a busy time we find this wasn't a problem.

We found it great that you could have your own camp fire and you could buy the wood from a very nice man next to the site for 5-10, well worth doing. We cooked most of our first nights dinner on our camp fire.

We found this great value for money and we would go back again

Only down side is the cockerel in the farm next door don't think he can tell the time and don't know when to shut up.

Found this a good location to explore the area with plenty to do for all ages. Our dog loved it 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meryl 6 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location with good views. The pub is friendly and has some great real ales and was very welcoming to our 2 dogs. They were given a treat at the bar when we went in. Good value camping.

The site is sloping but we got a good pitch. There are a few things to watch out for

The hook ups are limited and a long way from tents but you could borrow a long extension for a 35 deposit.

Showers and toilets are clean you need 20p pieces. The is only one shower for each sex and that could be a problem at busy times, The toilet and shower is together which meant queues but you can use pub toilet. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Miners Standard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Miners Standard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Miners Standard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020