Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Miners Standard

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Miners Standard Reviews

The Miners Standard
Bank Top
Winster
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2DR
Tel: 01629 650279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizabeth 1 1 review from this member

 Just Spent three nights at the Miners Standard. We needed hard standing after all the rain which was available just had to hire extra electric hookup cable as it was some distance from the van.

Most of the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The food was very good and good value for money.

The toilets/showers were clean and tidy but there was only one female and one male. Could be a problem if the site was full. There may have been somewhere to do the washing up but we couldn't find it! Must have been there just hiding!

The site fees were also different from the fees advertised. You need to check the currant rates.

Would we go back there. Not sure. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barneysmum+dad 1 review from this member

 We have just returned after 3 nights at The Miners Standard, We all had a lovely time!

It has a nice relaxed atmosphere & Every person there was Very friendly and Helpfull.

The site is a sloping field behind the pub well away from the road, with fabulous views, The top part is fairly open, there are more sheltered parts as you come down, We found ourselves a nice sheltered spot about two thirds of the way up the field.

The site allows campfires and dogs (two essentials for us)

I thought the facilities were very good for camping, they have two units, one for men & one for ladies with a toilet, wash basin & nice shower (20p - 3 minutes)in each, All kept spotlessly clean with a good supply of loo rolls and hand paper towels. The back door to the pub is nearby & appeared to be open most of the time so you can use the toilets just inside.

The bin area was not particularly 'nice' but it served its purpose!

Its been a while since I last went camping & apart from the ground being harder than I remember, the main change seems to be the requirements of some people, I sugest that if you like lots of facilities & mod cons then you need to put your hand a bit deeper in your pockets & pay for them!

At 5 per person a night this place is Excellent value for money!

In the warm welcoming bar the drinks were very good & reasonably priced & the food looked delicious! Next time we will bring less food & more money with us! They were very welcoming to our dog who was so spoilt one night with doggie treats from behind the bar I was afraid he might refuse to leave! (one lovely local lady was feeding him her roll with her own home cured bacon and free range egg - never mind the dog - My husband & I were drooling)!

Wood for fires was available to buy next door to the site.

Winster was lovely & just a short walk away with a handy little shop, Easy going down, A good heart pumper coming back up! Some lovely walks all around, The limestone way was very close by.

I thoroughly recommend this place to any-one who wants to get back to proper camping! And your dog will love it too! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starview4 1 review from this member

 Our first real camping trip, ( me and wife ) to christen our new tent. Location of site is great,

So much within easy reach. Dovedale, Chatsworth, Bakewell, and even managed the start of the Pennine way at Edale, and Limestone Way passes in next field.

Booked in for 2 nights, but ended up stopping 6 !

Very good value, but minimal toilet / shower facilities ( but are clean ), and not a lot for kids to do.

Make sure you have long lead for hook up. Although

Extension can be borrowed ( deposit needed )

Very friendly staff and Great food at their pub, recommend the mixed grill.

If ever we get back to this part of the country would definitely pay another visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whatamess 31 reviews from this member

 I liked this site, although as Francophile says, it does have basic facilities (although obviously newly decorated and very spacious) which could be a problem if the site was really full. However, the pub is open from early in the morning so the pub toilets are available.

The shower (it was either 1 or 50p, I can't remember now) was excellent and, because it was everything in one (shower, toilet, washbasin - and somewhere outside the shower cubicle to put your clothes) there was plenty of room. The shower ran for 10 minutes, though, which I thought was excessive.

The pub was cosy and friendly and the food was good. They serve an excellent breakfast for about 5. The beer garden was behind the pub and the electric pitches just beyond that with no boundary. The camping field was huge but sloping. The pub also does B&B which was about 35 a night.

The village is a pleasant 10 minutes walk away and is very pretty, although downhill so it's a steep walk back!

Chatsworth House is about 15/20 minutes drive and is an excellent day out.

I would go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Francophile1947 17 reviews from this member

 Cheap at 6. 50 a night without hook-up, but definitely needed more toilets and showers. Gents only had one toilet, one wash basin and one shower.

However, the only lock was on the outside door so, if someone was using the toilet or shower, the other wasn't available - very nicely tiled out though. Site is very sloping, so my levelling ramps couldn't cope.

Pub is very reasonable, food was good and staff very friendly. Access road has some deep potholes and I heard several vehicles bottoming out on them.

Would I go back? - not sure yet! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daisy_Bumbleroot 6 reviews from this member

 This place is easy to find though we did drive past the campsite entrance and into the pub entrance, but there was enough space to turn!

We pre-booked our pitch, which may be advisable if you need electric due to there only being a few points - all located on the one wall so you need a good length cable.

It was 10. 50 p/n for 2 people, 1 dog, camper, awning and hookup - which to me is great value.

My only complaint would be - there is nowhere to wash up and though I saw 3 standpipes - there is no where to empty buckets of washing up water. If the owners put even an outside sink somewhere then this would give a better score. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Five Happy Campers 7 reviews from this member

 Back from the Miners following a glorious weekend (25 degrees)

Things to note since last year. The price increase (boo hoo)

5 per adult (Was 2)

2 per child (Was 1)

Still only 1 male and 1 female shower and toilet though - It really could do with more. And more bins. It wasn't as busy as usual (maybe due to the price increase) but the bins were over flowing by Monday.

Not impressed by the grumpy lady on the boules team moaning at the children who were watching either. Lets hope she was from a different pub team and also lost :-P 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 Ideally placed for seeing Derbyshire. Matlock and Bakewell 5 miles away Sloping field for campers. Gravel hardstanding for tourers. One shower and toilet for each sex. Showers 20 pence for 3 mins. Pub facilities were open first thing in morning.Good ale food looked good. Winster lovely olde world place with history. Plenty of walks around. Ideal for overnight or two day stop. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Christine anne 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a mid week break. Because the weather was warm we were able to go for walks and sit out side. The village is very pretty with a well stocked shop. Walking to the village meant walking up and down steep hills, although we found it challenging anyone that is in the least infirm will find it impossible.

The camp site is behind the local pub, which sells excellent real ale, and home cooked food. The staff were very helpful and made us welcome. The only criticism is that the electrics on the site are of a poor standard 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Five Happy Campers 7 reviews from this member

 Our second camp this year at the Miners Standard.

I've found the loo's to be open in the pub when the pub is shut - certainly in the morning - the door is stiff - so needs a good push.

The shower and toilets are always clean (the water does collect in the shower but I take my boys down in their croc's - so no issue).

Food at the miners is hearty pub fodder - the Lamb Shank was delish this time.

The staff even have dog chews for doggies :-)

A great relaxed site which permits BBQ's and fires. Next door to the pub, you can buy a bag of logs for 4.50 so we had some great campfires.

We did have a couple of hellishly windy nights up near the top of the field - so top tip - if the forecast is windy - camp as close to the pub as you can - we would have moved (as we stayed for a week) but we couldn't be chewed with the hassle of moving everything) - weekend with friends and during the week by ourselves and it wasn't at all full (for school hols).

We'll definitely be back again. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Miners Standard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Miners Standard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Miners Standard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5866 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020