Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Miners Standard

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Miners Standard Reviews

The Miners Standard
Bank Top
Winster
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2DR
Tel: 01629 650279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5358darren 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed their this weekend,a basic campsite with a very friendly atmosphere.Owners very pleasant children and dog friendly.

Pub food was exceptional (try mixed grill )all home made with a good selection to suit all tastes.And a good pint of stones to boot.

Very good surroundings, the village very nice local shop open till 7pm only disappointment in the village was the 2nd pub was closed until 6pm.

The walk back from winster is very steep. Winster only 5 miles from Bakewell and Matlock overall I will go back and at 2 pppn I only wish I had heard about this place years ago. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

 Cheap it is! But not always cheerful. I politely asked a lady about the showers cost and was told '20p for 3 minutes and 1 for 6 minutes.' I was then accused of arguing when I queried this. Is it me?

Basic it is! With one shower each for men and women. Although the pub facilities always seemed to be available. If you want an electric hook up it is available, but bring a LONG lead, I needed 2x25m cables and that was just enough, but I was pre-warned.

Overall I would recommend this site. At the price how could I not! And the Derbyshire Dales are truly beautiful. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HazelS 5 reviews from this member

 A very basic campsite, but very low cost so great value for money. When the pub is open the pub loos are available. But outside pub hours there's only one ladies and one men's loo and each share with their own shower, so if either shower is in use the adjoining loo is locked. Having said that, there was never a queue and it's only 2.

The pub food was good, although the dining room was a bit canteen-ish.

Winster is a lovely village with loads of history and the walking and cycling around the area is second to none. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bladeclip 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and cheap campsite. We have just had 2 nights at the Miners and had a great time. Its a large field behind the pub away from the road and car park, so no noise. We booked very late Thursday for Friday and Saturday nights.Also we needed 3 tent pitches for the weekend. They had room and when we arrived they we're great.

As the other reviews have said their is only 2 toilet and shower sets, 1 male and 1 female. A word of warning is that the lock in on the outer door, as I did walk in on someone on the loo, Sorry if your reading this. But when the pub is open you can use the back doo r to the pub and use the toilets in there.

Main positives of the site are: Friendliness, location to Matlock, Buxton, Bakewell and Ashbourne, site is great for the children to play, and the cost is only 2pppn and 1 for children and a really nice traditional pub setting. We'll all be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ermintrude75 8 reviews from this member

 Can't add much to what everyone else has put, a great relaxed site, ideal for us having a friends' reunion with some campers and some non-campers (in the B&B for 25pppn). Pub grub and beer very good, atmosphere friendly. A shame about the limited loos/showers but what's there is good and clean.

Also bonus marks for the village shop (a way down the hill) being open until 7pm Mon-Sat.

Incredible value for money. Would highly recommend and will probably be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dotty44 1 review from this member

 Very basic but very nice campsite which consists of one large field behind pub (didn't feel like back garden though which was great). Booked in for May 1/2 term week and when we arrived on the Saturday, the whole perimeter of the field was taken and so we were forced to pitch up in the middle which we weren't too happy with but turned out perfectly ok. Slope looked worse from a distance and once pitched up didn't prove a problem.

2 toilets (1 mens/1 ladies) both outside with showers were hot and cost 20p for 5mins, but often no toilet paper which again once we realised didn't prove a problem as we had some ourselves. Plenty of room to put up badminton net and to play footy. They did pitch up a marquee on the Friday night before we left, on ground between camping field and pub that was for a wedding that went on til 2am, but again we were enjoying a real fire using the rocks and wood we'd collected after arriving and had a BBQ til late hours so didn't bother us and we enjoyed the music, but might have been problem for some.

The owners very helpful and friendly to the point we wanted to treat them to a box of After Eights as a thankyou. Showers, toilets, space and good views with a pint on tap when you want it - and all at 2 pound per person per night - we thought was extremely good value. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4pudz 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic Site!Very cheap at 4.50 a night without hook up and only 6.50 a night with hook up.

Really enjoyed our stay here over the bank holiday. When we arrived there was even an icecream man doing the rounds on the site - the kids loved it! A very relaxing site with some lovely walks. Owners really nice and welcoming. Pub is lovely with great food and good prices and welcomes Kids and dogs.

The only downsides I would say are there's only 2 toilets and 2 showers (kept very clean might I add) for the whole of the campsite and bins were overflowing onto the field - but what do you want for 4.50 a night?

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Five Happy Campers 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Miners standard (Last bank hol in May)

Pub is a traditional little Derbyshire pub with great food (proper pub grub/ big portions) - the prices on the pub's website a little out of date but still reasonably priced. Good beer. Kev (the owner) was lovely, as were the people we bumped into in the bar. Child friendly.

Fab small site in a little village. I agree with all the comments made in the prev review.

However, the points forgotten were:

It's only 2pppn (1 for children) and given the closeness to Matlock is amazing, REGARDLESS of tent size! and if you want to put up additional gazebo's they are free too (we didn't have them with us but will next time)

Very chilled out site. Everyone was respective. We will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trgib 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from visit to this Site over Bank Holiday weekend. Arrived afternoon on Friday. Already a few units on site. Mainly caravans and the odd traler tent. Predominantly sloping although small hardstanding area. A number of units arrived later in evening.

Located immediately behind pub which served lovely food and was very accommodating to the campers. Toilets were allowed to be used as an overspill to the site toilets. The only down side to the site being the toilet and shower facilities which were too limited really for the amount of people. On toilet one shower per sex. But they were clean and ok. The showers take 20p coins, giving 3 mins of hot water. This was very welcome given the horrible weather we had.

Nearby are Bakewell and Winster and Matlock. Supermarkets in both Bakewell and Matlock. Very relaxed atmosphere and will go again. They could do with more refuse facilities as there was only a few bins for the whole site which were overwhelmed on a bank holiday. Recycling would also have been welcomed. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dnbb 1 review from this member

 Arrived friday night and stayed five nights.

The site position was great Bakewell, Matlock, Buxton all a short drive away, site was spacious with great view over the valley.

The site and toilet block was kept clean and tidy although would imagine in busy periods the one gents and ladies toilet could be a problem, however the pub is open 12 till 12 seven days a week so these facilities are available most of the time.

The pub itself is great, a traditional country pub with great pub grub at reasonable prices, great friendly atmosphere and welcoming staff, who spoilt the dog rotten.

Nearly forgot to mention the beer, excellent!

All in all basic amenities but a great atmosphere good food and drink, we shall return. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Miners Standard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Miners Standard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Miners Standard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020