Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Miners Standard

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

The Miners Standard
Bank Top
Winster
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2DR
Tel: 01629 650279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dad1uk 32 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night in our folding camper.

A lovely site but a large part of the site is sloping.

There are some EHU's but these need to be booked to guarantee one.

There is an outdoor sink for washing up, separate ladies and gents toilets and 1 coin operated showers.

The pub is very friendly both staff and customers and has a good varied menu.

The site is on top of a hill which gives lovely views but does mean it is prone to be windy.

The pub is dog friendly and child friendly but there is very little for youngsters to do.

A short trip (15 minutes approx) will see you in Bakewell which has a variety of shops

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pirsigian 1 review from this member

Lovely small site - really a pub with a large field at the back

Basic but clean facilities.

The staff at the Miners Standard will always give you a good relaxed welcome.

Visited many times over the last five years usually for a couple of nights and had never had a problem.

Great as a base for walks out - Robin Hood's Stride is only two miles away, and the delights of Matlock Bath a few miles more.

I keep on returning.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bmansell123 2 reviews from this member

Tried a couple of nights here but was a very quiet site and as we took our son who is 5 he was the only child on whole site so he found it quite boring. Grass pitch is all on quite a slope so tent users would be not good there, however we were offered a hand standing pitch, but to be honest you cant expect butlins for 5 pound a night. But on the positive me and the baby went in the pub to pay and ended having a couple of beers in there and the pub was very welcoming and got on with the baby, like he was their own. Would recommend if there's a couple of you and you can make your own entertainment.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pocestny 1 review from this member

Camping area well kept, clean and tidy. Although most of the area is on the slope, there is still plenty space for a good pitch. Toilet facilities are clean. Several shower cubicles (20 pence). If busy, more toilets available inside the pub, accessible from the campsite. Seating area outside the pub and small area for the game of Boule. Staff is helpful, and welcoming. Excellent cousine and selection of traditional ales. Some nights can be noisy from low flying planes to or from East Midland airport.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jfh77 2 reviews from this member

Really friendly site and pub. Food orders were supposed to stop by 8:15, but we only got back to the site around 8! Just asked if they were happy to hang on for a bit while we sorted ourselves out and it was all cool. Fantastic meal too - really enjoyed it.

Only negatives would be only one shower, and (being picky) I'd have liked a guest ale or two on the taps - that said, the stuff they had on must have been well kept because I was on the outside of several pints of it and woke up hangover free :) despite these minor things it's still a recommended from me

Beautiful location - lovely to stick your head outside the tent and see the view. Hope to return one day.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bubbacat 4 reviews from this member

We booked by telephone, and was told we can use electric at night for battery charging only. This was fine,

However when we arrived we were told it was on a first come first served basis! The field looked very wet, despite having a 4x4 I decided not towing a twin axle caravan across it, (good move) we instead went onto the hard standing, but ended up with another caravan squashed in not 5feet from us & one 8feet in front. (fire hazard!) In the end it was so busy we were afraid to go out in case we couldn't get the car back in. I think greed on the owners part took over but it was interesting watching all the cars getting stuck in the field (inc 4x4`s & caravans) My electric cable spent 4 days being run over. Majority of hard standing used as full time living.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pkay52 1 review from this member

Talk about value for money, nice big field plenty of room for pitches. The toilet block with showers was nice and clean, and a sink to wash your pots and pans. The pub itself was lovely and cosy inside. Nice welcome from the people behind the bar. Had a lovely walk around the village (Winster) got a village shop and another pub. All in all a great place for walkers The scenic views were amazing all round the camp and the village.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winkertonk 7 reviews from this member

Friday & Saturday night at the Miners Standard, Winster.

A wonderful warm welcome from staff. Pitched van on the hard standing area as the grass was still soft from all the recent rain.

A cheap and cheerful basic campsite with pub doing food. 5 per night, as I only had to pay for myself - my three year old was free! Excellent value and a refreshing change from the 25 a night sites.

One spotless gents loo/shower and presumably the same for ladies. Cleaned regularly, even though there were only a few people on site. Plenty of loo paper. Hot water. No worries when quiet, but the lock is on the outer door, so if someone is showering the loo is out of action for others. I'm sure the pub loo's would be available when open though?

Pot wash was outside near loo's

No electric, but didn't need it. The few electric points available would need VERY long leads, and perhaps pre booking would be a good idea if this was a requirement? Not something I use very often, so didn't matter to me.

Well mown grass camping field, but steep in places.

No play area for kids, but we did find a set of swings across the road and into the village a short distance. Dogs, cows and a few other animals next door. Nice to be woken by a cockerel instead of car doors slamming for a change. Rabbits running about on site too!

Campsite has separate road entrance to pub car park.

Didn't sample beer or food, as had little boy with me, but pub interior was nice and traditional and the food smelled excellent! Maybe next time?

Nothing nearby regarding shops, so take everything you will need. No phone signal on '3'. Only a short distance to Buxton, Matlock, and Ashbourne. Great location for exploring the Peak district.

I would happily stay here again, and the price was very good.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hideehiicampers 1 review from this member

This campsite is a large field at the back of the Miners Standard pub. It is on a slope so some pitches are awkward. The views are amazing, you are in the heart of the Peak District. However, the site is very basic.

Toilets/Showers - There is one shower and one toilet in each male and female block. These are outdoors. In my opinion these were very poor. The ladies toilet had no seat, there was no toilet roll and no soap. They weren't very clean. The shower was also not very clean. The showers are 20p.

A lot of campers were having small fires on the grass so a lot of the pitches had holes where there had previously been a fire.

Vehicles - The owner said vehicles must be left in the car park after pitching up. This was not policed and everyone ignored this rule.

Pot wash area - There was an outdoor sink to wash pots this was not covered at all so if it rains you will get wet.

The Miners Standard pub serves food. This was very average. I had fish and chips which tasted like frozen fish you would buy from a supermarket. The menu looked impressive but the food didn't live up to expectation.

Good location for visiting the peaks so if you want a no frills campsite this is for you.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redorion 14 reviews from this member

Split into two reviews:

Site:

Not a good welcome - advised that we could arrive when ever we wanted so arrived at 11 ish. Pub doesn't open until 12 and was advised by the bar man that he wouldn't help until 12. So no clues as to where to pitch etc etc.

Anyway due to the wet weather the field was obviously out of bounds which in the summer would be great siting.

There is a small hard standing area but most is taken up by what look like permanent sited vans.

EHU only available off the pub building so you need a minimum of 30 metres of cable to get to any of the sockets. They will rent you an extension but if busy might struggle.

Toilets and showers (1 male, 1 female) were very clean but had no soap when we stayed.

Pub:

The pub was a good local country pub and once in the staff were very welcoming and so were the locals. The food was of a good standard so no grumbles there and the menu is extensive.

Overall it was a good site but as with other comments I wouldn't want to be there when very busy, and EHU's need to be more easily available.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3547 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019