Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Miners Standard

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Miners Standard Reviews

The Miners Standard
Bank Top
Winster
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2DR
Tel: 01629 650279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ted_ashby_2003 9 reviews from this member

 There's no getting away from the fact that the site is mostly sloping. Having said that it's a very, very reasonable 5 pppn with 1 per shower and no charge for dogs.

We liked: clean toilets and showers, pub on the doorstep with a range of ales, reasonably priced food and friendly staff. Short walk down to pretty village of Winster.

We didn't like: lack of signage for water point and CDP. Lack of blocks for steadies. Poor recycling. Short walk UP from Winster.

Would certainly stay here again. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dad1uk 33 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night in our folding camper.

A lovely site but a large part of the site is sloping.

There are some EHU's but these need to be booked to guarantee one.

There is an outdoor sink for washing up, separate ladies and gents toilets and 1 coin operated showers.

The pub is very friendly both staff and customers and has a good varied menu.

The site is on top of a hill which gives lovely views but does mean it is prone to be windy.

The pub is dog friendly and child friendly but there is very little for youngsters to do.

A short trip (15 minutes approx) will see you in Bakewell which has a variety of shops 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pirsigian 1 review from this member

 Lovely small site - really a pub with a large field at the back

Basic but clean facilities.

The staff at the Miners Standard will always give you a good relaxed welcome.

Visited many times over the last five years usually for a couple of nights and had never had a problem.

Great as a base for walks out - Robin Hood's Stride is only two miles away, and the delights of Matlock Bath a few miles more.

I keep on returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bmansell123 2 reviews from this member

 Tried a couple of nights here but was a very quiet site and as we took our son who is 5 he was the only child on whole site so he found it quite boring. Grass pitch is all on quite a slope so tent users would be not good there, however we were offered a hand standing pitch, but to be honest you cant expect butlins for 5 pound a night. But on the positive me and the baby went in the pub to pay and ended having a couple of beers in there and the pub was very welcoming and got on with the baby, like he was their own. Would recommend if there's a couple of you and you can make your own entertainment. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pocestny 1 review from this member

 Camping area well kept, clean and tidy. Although most of the area is on the slope, there is still plenty space for a good pitch. Toilet facilities are clean. Several shower cubicles (20 pence). If busy, more toilets available inside the pub, accessible from the campsite. Seating area outside the pub and small area for the game of Boule. Staff is helpful, and welcoming. Excellent cousine and selection of traditional ales. Some nights can be noisy from low flying planes to or from East Midland airport. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jfh77 2 reviews from this member

 Really friendly site and pub. Food orders were supposed to stop by 8:15, but we only got back to the site around 8! Just asked if they were happy to hang on for a bit while we sorted ourselves out and it was all cool. Fantastic meal too - really enjoyed it.

Only negatives would be only one shower, and (being picky) I'd have liked a guest ale or two on the taps - that said, the stuff they had on must have been well kept because I was on the outside of several pints of it and woke up hangover free :) despite these minor things it's still a recommended from me

Beautiful location - lovely to stick your head outside the tent and see the view. Hope to return one day. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bubbacat 4 reviews from this member

 We booked by telephone, and was told we can use electric at night for battery charging only. This was fine,

However when we arrived we were told it was on a first come first served basis! The field looked very wet, despite having a 4x4 I decided not towing a twin axle caravan across it, (good move) we instead went onto the hard standing, but ended up with another caravan squashed in not 5feet from us & one 8feet in front. (fire hazard!) In the end it was so busy we were afraid to go out in case we couldn't get the car back in. I think greed on the owners part took over but it was interesting watching all the cars getting stuck in the field (inc 4x4`s & caravans) My electric cable spent 4 days being run over. Majority of hard standing used as full time living. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pkay52 1 review from this member

 Talk about value for money, nice big field plenty of room for pitches. The toilet block with showers was nice and clean, and a sink to wash your pots and pans. The pub itself was lovely and cosy inside. Nice welcome from the people behind the bar. Had a lovely walk around the village (Winster) got a village shop and another pub. All in all a great place for walkers The scenic views were amazing all round the camp and the village. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winkertonk 7 reviews from this member

 Friday & Saturday night at the Miners Standard, Winster.

A wonderful warm welcome from staff. Pitched van on the hard standing area as the grass was still soft from all the recent rain.

A cheap and cheerful basic campsite with pub doing food. 5 per night, as I only had to pay for myself - my three year old was free! Excellent value and a refreshing change from the 25 a night sites.

One spotless gents loo/shower and presumably the same for ladies. Cleaned regularly, even though there were only a few people on site. Plenty of loo paper. Hot water. No worries when quiet, but the lock is on the outer door, so if someone is showering the loo is out of action for others. I'm sure the pub loo's would be available when open though?

Pot wash was outside near loo's

No electric, but didn't need it. The few electric points available would need VERY long leads, and perhaps pre booking would be a good idea if this was a requirement? Not something I use very often, so didn't matter to me.

Well mown grass camping field, but steep in places.

No play area for kids, but we did find a set of swings across the road and into the village a short distance. Dogs, cows and a few other animals next door. Nice to be woken by a cockerel instead of car doors slamming for a change. Rabbits running about on site too!

Campsite has separate road entrance to pub car park.

Didn't sample beer or food, as had little boy with me, but pub interior was nice and traditional and the food smelled excellent! Maybe next time?

Nothing nearby regarding shops, so take everything you will need. No phone signal on '3'. Only a short distance to Buxton, Matlock, and Ashbourne. Great location for exploring the Peak district.

I would happily stay here again, and the price was very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hideehiicampers 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a large field at the back of the Miners Standard pub. It is on a slope so some pitches are awkward. The views are amazing, you are in the heart of the Peak District. However, the site is very basic.

Toilets/Showers - There is one shower and one toilet in each male and female block. These are outdoors. In my opinion these were very poor. The ladies toilet had no seat, there was no toilet roll and no soap. They weren't very clean. The shower was also not very clean. The showers are 20p.

A lot of campers were having small fires on the grass so a lot of the pitches had holes where there had previously been a fire.

Vehicles - The owner said vehicles must be left in the car park after pitching up. This was not policed and everyone ignored this rule.

Pot wash area - There was an outdoor sink to wash pots this was not covered at all so if it rains you will get wet.

The Miners Standard pub serves food. This was very average. I had fish and chips which tasted like frozen fish you would buy from a supermarket. The menu looked impressive but the food didn't live up to expectation.

Good location for visiting the peaks so if you want a no frills campsite this is for you. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Miners Standard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The Miners Standard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020