Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Hall Cottage Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Old Hall Cottage Camping Site Reviews

Old Hall Cottage Camping Site
The Cart House
Hardraw
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3LZ
Tel: 01969 667691
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 09/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet, pleasant site with reasonable views. There is very little road or railway noise, but we were delighted to see or hear one or two low flying jet fighters coming close by about every hour. The grass was recently cut, with shade if you want it, plenty of level areas, and ground superb for putting pegs in. On our Monday night in July, there were four other tents. With no dogs allowed this meant very little noise from other campers. The field seemed medium sized, with trees bordering about two and a half of the sides of the four, so allowing some long distance views of the typically flat-topped Yorkshire Dales hills around.

The toilet block was clean, with three unisex toilet cubicles, two sinks and two showers, with hot and cold water in the sinks and the covered washing area. Toilet paper and liquid hand soap was available, and detergent for the single washing up sink.

At a cost of £14 for two people, a tent and car, we thought this site was good value. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PICTURE 1 review from this member

 My husband and I plus 2 daughters have just spent the weekend here. It is a beautiful site surrounded by lovely countryside. The site is very clean, the toilet and shower blocks are spotless and seem to be checked regularly by the owner of the site. The site does not have facilities such as hair dryers etc but is a good clean site with fabulous hot showers. One of our daughters is terrified of dogs so we were very pleased to find that the site does not allow them. The cafe were we booked in serves lovely home made soup and cakes. The village is lovely with a stream running through the centre, great for our girls to play in. The small town of Hawes has good shops and is a pleasant 1. 5 mile walk away.

We had a lovely weekend and will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J and J 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights at Old Hall Cottage Camp Site. This is a lovely quiet site in beautiful surroundings. Cafe and Public House nearby. Shops in Hawes 30 min stroll across fields. The communal facilities very clean with plenty of hot water. No marked out pitches, just choose your spot and erect your tent. The grass was a bit long and would have benefited from a cut. We loved this site and are planning a return visit soon 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Walker Rambler 6 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from spending 3 nights at this campsite. I have camped all of my life and I must rate this as one of the best sites I have ever stopped at. The first 2 nights were very quiet and it got fairly busy on the Saturday night. Although there are only 2 showers on the site, at no time did I have to wait for a shower. Also I thought the showers were the best I have used on a campsite. The toilets and showers were extremely clean and tidy at all times. The views from the site were stunning. The only downside was that the nearest shops are a good walk away at Hawes but I would still give this site a 9 out of 10 score. I will definitely be returning to this site probably within the next fortnight. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KimmyJane 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Old Hall Cottage camp site last weekend, the site is well maintained with clean facilities - without C&C Club rules about shower blocks being closed for three hours for cleaning. Stunning views, very helpful, accommodating owners, great food at the café and the pub just over the bridge. Ideal for local walks, without having to drive to a starting point. Not too commercialised, possibly due to lack of electric hook-up (owners, please don't change!) quiet site. Area a lot quieter than the Lake District, so if you like a walk without the 'madding crowd' head for Hardraw :-)

I'm sure we'll be back,  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rebell50 2 reviews from this member

 Very helpful and pleasant owner, who made delicious home made food in the cafe.

Toilet and washing area spotless and hot water for washing up and bathing.

Very clean with no litter and clearly marked bins.

High standard of facilities.

Lovely green rolling site next to a small river and a stone's throw from the famous Hardrow Falls but without the bog or public access.

Overall a lovely spot with picturesque views 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fen Runner 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a quick two, enjoyable nights at Old Hall Cottage and I thought the views from the site are amazing.

The site is relatively level and on the days in question it was quiet with only five tents in situ so I could pitch where I wanted. As previously commented on the toilets/showers are small but for me this wasn't a problem with the site quiet.

The showers were clean and pipping hot so the 50p did not seem too much to ask. The lack of hot water in the basins was a chore though as it meant 'carting' a kettle with you if you wanted a shave.

The cost for me and a two berth tent/car was £9 per night so this didn't seem too expenses but I have just returned to camping after a considerable time so don't know how this compares?

The Green Dragon pub is only two mins and is an excellent pub with a wide variety of real ales, good food, homely ambience and welcoming open fire.

If you catch the site 'off peak' as I did you will find it a more than enjoyable experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

 A very well kept site, fairly flat ground and well drained. The camping area is behind the cafe and away from the road making this site nice and quiet.

The two toilets are kept clean and well 'stocked', there isn't a hand washing sink in the toilet but there are 2 sinks available in the shower block which has 2 showers.

Unfortunately the facilities do not have hot water, not even in the pot washing area which makes washing greasy pots a bit of a chore.

There isn't a play park or designated area for children but there is still plenty to do in the surrounding area.

The area has a lot to offer if relaxing is the order of the day, the views are amazing.

Next door to the site is the Green Dragon pub which serves reasonable beers and food. The owners of the pub also own the waterfall just behind the pub, worth a visit but be prepared not to be amazed.

The cost for a 3 man tent with 2 people cost £13 for 1 night, very reasonable indeed. Cost of a shower is 50p for 5 mins.

We will visit the site again as we enjoyed our stay, friendly locals and sociable visitors. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelleyandandrew201 1 review from this member

 My boyfriend and I have stayed here a few times now and is one of our favourite places to come back to. It costs us £14 per night as we have a large 4-man tent. The field is rather uneven so a level pitch may be hard to come by at peak times, especially if you have quite a large tent. That said, we've never had a problem.

The shower and toilet facilities are clean and adequate, with hot showers for 50p and always plenty of paper in the toilets! This is only a small site and we've been when it has been very busy, and never had to queue for a toilet or shower. The washing up area does not have hot water, but it isn't that much of a hardship to boil our own kettle and get some.

The cafe in the Cart House is lovely, the leek and potato soup is delicious and a variety of tea and coffee is available, as well as locally produced icecream for those hot days. The highlight must however be the Green Dragon Inn next door, not a cheap round but some very nice real ales on tap and plenty of good conversation to be had with the locals and others passing through. We've stumbled on folk festivals here when we've been, and spent several evenings taking refuge when we didn't check the forecast before freezing in our tent!

It is a pleasant walk of just over a mile along the Pennine Way into Hawes, where there are several pubs and cafes and a variety of shops where we have managed to find everything we needed, especially as there is a Spar for groceries. There is also a HSBC in Hawes where there is a cash point.

In all, this is a lovely little site that we enjoy coming back to, and are looking forward to our next trip. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dollydog1 6 reviews from this member

 The campsite is in a lovely scenic area and is also very large. My family and I had lots of space as there were hardly any campers there as it was the end of March. The staff were nice too.

We were charged £18 per night. It is £12 for 2 people with a 2 berth tent and car, as we had a 4 berth tent they charge £1 per extra berth per night, then they charged us £2 pounds a child per night. As we had 2 children with us it was £4 extra. This seemed ridiculous as they had already charged us for having a larger tent. We have stopped on campsites with lots of facilities at this price so we felt like we had been ripped off.

The facilities were always clean and smelling nice, but the toilet and shower block were always cold as they are not heated as they are in old fashioned buildings. The toilet and shower blocks are unisex so when having a shower it is best if you have a friend with you to tell you when someone is there, as when you put your 50p in the meter which is outside the shower you might be seen.

There is a cafe on the campsite which serve light snacks and hot/cold drinks. The food was lovely but slightly pricier than here in Doncaster.

None of the taps there have warm water, just cold, so if you need to wash some pots you will have to boil some water yourself. It seems really silly to me that the pot washing area as cold water.

There is a lovely pub a minutes walk from the campsite called the Green Dragon. It is really old worldy with a roaring fire and old fashioned furniture.

Behind this pub there is Hardraw Force the waterfall. The staff there are fantastic and we asked if they would do us breakfast and they did even though we were not staying there.

The kids were even given a fudge for free which I thought was really kind. We had an evening meal here also which was very nice but a little pricey but that's probably because there are no shops for miles so it might cost more to get there. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement