Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Hall Cottage Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Old Hall Cottage Camping Site Reviews

Old Hall Cottage Camping Site
The Cart House
Hardraw
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3LZ
Tel: 01969 667691
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Starless 1 review from this member

 There was a friendly welcome in the Cart House Tea Room when I checked in. Unfortunately, due to Covid-19, there were no shower facilities in use, but this was explained to me in advance.

This probably explained why the campsite wasn't well frequented. It was also a Tuesday when I arrived. I could put my tent and car anywhere on the relatively flat and well-kept field.

There were only 2 other tents.

The toilets and wash rooms were kept clean, and safety precautions were in place.

It was quiet, and I liked it like that.

It's well placed for plenty of walks, and only 1 1/4 miles from Hawes over the fields. I enjoyed my stay, and the field was slowly filling for the weekend when I was leaving. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 7 reviews from this member

 Beautifully located, customer service was OK, facilities were clean and loo rolls in plenty only one pot wash sink and two W/Cs and two showers really need more as I spent quite a long time queuing to use early on a morning,

If you want a spot that's flat best go early as the first field is on a pronounced slope with only a few flat places,

The second field is not opened until the first is full and it is flatter,

The Green Dragon is near to the campsite and I was impressed with the food there, The village of Hawes is only a short walk away approx one and a half miles,

There is some fantastic walks we went up Gt Shunner across Abbotside common and down Fossdale,

The route along the Common over Little Shunner and down Fossdale was very boggy me and my daughter fell into a couple of hidden bogs each so be careful when there's been heavy rain the bogs are difficult to see.

The nearby Simonstone Hotel is a short walk away serve some nice beers but the outdoor sitting area is absolutely alive with bluebottles. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessnewsome 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. The campsite wasn't overly busy which was great! The location of the campsite is good for visiting the sights of the Yorkshire Dales.

The campsite is located next door to a pub- Green Dragon Inn- and behind a tea room which is where you book for and pay for your stay. You go through the pub in order to reach Hawdraw Force, a lovely waterfall which is only a short walk away. The town of Hawes is around a 20 minute walk away.

To my knowledge, there were no hookups. There were only two toilets- albeit, very clean ones- and two showers (50p for 5 minutes). There were't really any pitches with spectacular views as the campsite was of a very private feel, surrounded by trees. It was quiet at night and felt safe.

We enjoyed our stay but I think if the campsite had been more busy the lack of facilities could have impacted upon the enjoyment. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 My kind of site, pretty, basic with nature all around and you are so ‘in the Dales’.

Despite a somewhat terse greeting from the lady in the cafe, it was very busy, everything else was just perfect. Having traveled up North from the South Coast, this was a perfect place to meet my buddy who'd travelled down from Edinburgh. We were the only people on site and we're able to relax in the glorious sunshine content in the peacefulness that abounds, the only sound being the babbling river next door.

Facilities basic, but clean and are totally appropriate for the site. Pitches are unmarked and not particularly flat, but you can find a few spots, and hey, we were the only ones there so had plenty of choice.

Nice looking pub next door that everyone said was amazing, although after a few sherberts in our fan we never got round to visiting, which was a shame.

Did a lovely walk on second day, although weather could have been kinder, that ended in Hawes which was a pleasant little town.

Only gripe and can only blame Mother Nature for this one, is that there were a lot of mozzies. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helenmicky 1 review from this member

 Hi, what a wonderful campsite! And what an amazing place for children!

The icing on the cake was a picturesque babbling brook/stream to explore - it kept our two, aged 12 and 9, and their new campsite friend, 11, occupied for hours, without having to be supervised all the time. Just make sure you take wellies! Can walk to the waterfall - beautiful.

Football and cricket were other big hits as were walking trips to Hawes and up to Whether Fell. And another highlight - the lambs in a field near our tent; our daughter spent hours feeding them and chatting to them. Also saw a sheep dog demo which was very entertaining, with gorgeous dogs and wonderful scenery.

We couldn't get a wifi or mobile phone connection on the campsite (a real selling point in my opinion) which meant no gadgets - and the kids were so busy enjoying themselves in the great outdoors that they didn't even ask about going online anyway! Four days of utter bliss in the Dales, which has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Clean toilets and showers. Nice tearooms (with some wifi there) and friendly and helpful staff. But mostly we got away from everything and simply enjoyed being outside with the kids with no distractions.

One more sink for washing up might be good, but really not a big deal.

Go and enjoy! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukulele Assassin 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great little campsite for short stays.

The people who run it are very friendly and helpful. The facilities as previously described are limited and can lead to queues, however they are cleaned several times a day.

The site was a bit muddy on our visit but we found a dry spot that stayed dry and drained well during the weekend.

Young children can get a bit bored as it is just a field and Hardraw is only a very small village but Hawes is not far and there is a good park for them to let off steam.

The cafe is wonderful and has some wholesome meals at more reasonable prices than the pub, we found the pub extremely expensive for the quality of the food and wasn't very welcoming to children.

Also, it is great that this site is dog free, however if you are not a pet lover you may get a shock in the eateries in Hawes, they all seem to welcome dogs and some seemed a but unhygenic with all the damp smelly dogs sat under tables. If there was a 'dog-free' pub in Hawes it would do a roaring trade. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surrey Yeoman 6 reviews from this member

 This is a nice little campsite and the facilities are good and as previously described. Nice location, Green Dragon pub 2 minutes walk away for ale and good pub food.

On the evening of my visit (25th June 2015, a warm but showery day) the place was absolutely swarming with biting midges, which came up in dense clouds from the grass where they are apparently breeding and which made things rather unpleasant to say the least. Obviously beyond the control of the owners, but so bad that I packed up and wild camped further up the Buttertubs Pass where there was more breeze and no midges.

Obviously a seasonal problem, but make sure you take plenty of insect repellent if camping and citronella candles if they're suitable for your temporary abode! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zzeul 6 reviews from this member

 I would just like to echo all the praise the other reviews have given this site. However, note that the unisex shower/washing block will not be to every-ones liking.

The sites cafe is a little upmarket, so don't expect bacon butties or egg and chips to be available.

Now this is no reflection on the camp site, but, one of its attractions for me was the proximity of The Green Dragon Inn across the bridge. But this turned out to be a huge disappointment to me. I thought it dirty, tired, run down, and the meal I had there was dreadful. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IanCampLight 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to Old Hall and we will no doubt be back again. If you like a small, quiet and very well maintained site with a friendly owner then this is the place for you.

Pitches are set in an attractive field that is part of the landscape so you can choose between well-sheltered and near the loos & showers, a nice spot by the stream or higher up the field with a fabulous view.

The toilets & showers are always nice & clean. If I had to find a gripe it would be that the light by the wash basins is not that bright but it's a small thing. The washing up area has hot water and washing up liquid seems to be provided (though it may be what other campers forget to take away).

Best of all is the site's location. The owners also run a separate cafe by the road entrance, the pleasant if slightly peculiar Green Dragon Inn is next door, there are great walks from the campsite in all directions, flat or hilly and there's a pleasant mainly footpath walk into Hawes, about a mile. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JanStu 1 review from this member

 A lovely, quiet site in a beautiful setting and a great base for touring the Yorkshire Dales. Two unisex toilets and showers (50p for 5 minutes)and a washing up area. All kept very clean and stocked with toilet roll, handwash and washing up liquid. Good food available in the tea room and an evening meal can be purchased from the pub next door. I will definitely be returning again. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December