Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Hall Cottage Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Old Hall Cottage Camping Site Reviews

Old Hall Cottage Camping Site
The Cart House
Hardraw
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3LZ
Tel: 01969 667691
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 09/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grayonetwo 1 review from this member

 First time back camping for many years and a great little campsite. (But if I put that it will get busier!) Basic but very clean. And apart from farmers mowing their fields and shooting their guns - very quiet!

The worst bit was the midges but this can't be put down to the site, just the weather and the time of year; and this is the countryside and none of this spoiled a stay on a friendly and really nice site.

As mentioned it is basic and I would have paid a little extra to have hot water on tap. The 50p for a hot shower was fine but the sinks only run to cold water.

The cost was £7 a night for me a tent and the car, so I'm not complaining.

The Green Dragon nearby does great beers and I'm told, good food. Oh yes I nearly forgot, the owners are really nice, so to quote Arnold, 'I'll be back'. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kezsex 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly, basic campsite with great views. Perfect. Ideal location for walking or for sitting around boozing and playing cards. And for playing croquet.

Lots of red squirrels running about. The owners are great. This site is a winner. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsh1831 2 reviews from this member

 Rather expensive at £42 for 2 nights for 2 adults and 2 children considering its 50p for a cold 5 minute shower and there isn't any hot water for washing yourself or your pots.

Saying that, it is in a beautiful setting with fabulous views and not too overcrowded and the facilities (2 toilets and 2 showers)were very clean.

The Pub at the bottom of the road has a great atmosphere and serves great food until 10pm but gets very busy so don't be in a hurry.

Would probably go back at a push due to its location armed with the prior knowledge of its lack of hot water. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pl1224 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite was very easy to find and is in a very picturesque location a couple of hundred meters from Hardraw falls. We got there just after 5:30 and the café had just closed so we were unable to check-in, so we pitched up and paid in the morning which was not a problem - however the campsite had just opened that day and we were the only campers, I’m not sure if this would be OK in peak season – it would be best to phone ahead if you’re likely to arrive late.

The George &Dragon pub, serves food all day/evening and is only a minutes walk away – although the food is not great for the money. There’s a much better choice in Hawes, which is a pleasant and an easy 1.5 mile walk away.

The campsite, toilets and showers were very clean and no more than a minutes walk from any point on the site. There are two unisex showers in a single room, you have to strip off in the shower cubicle, then leave the cubicle to put a 50p coin in the meter, so its advisable to go in pairs so one person can be in the shower while the other waits outside. Neither shower was working when we visited, however one had been repaired by the time we left and a the other was in the process of being fixed.

It’s a very good, basic, quiet site. At £12 for two adults and a car, we’d be happy to visit again, but would probably avoid peak times as the showers would be very busy and there’s no hot water outside of the showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holls1981 1 review from this member

 We went on our first camping trip with our 13 month old to this site. We have a 10 man tent and there was space in the bottom field for it on flat land.

The facilities were basic but ok for a couple of nights. The only thing that let the site down was the thousands of midges around. It was awful. My little boy got bitten a few times and he was hardly outside. It's a shame as he's just learned to walk and was keen to be off but we couldn't risk letting him go.

There was loads of room though as the tents weren't packed in like some sites do. I would definitely go back if it wasn't for the midges and even with citronella candles we still went home looking like we had chicken pox! It was a good site though if you're not bothered about the midges. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhi+Gav 11 reviews from this member

 We wanted to visit Hawes over the bank holiday weekend and after calling at least 10 local campsites, we were told they were all fully booked. We braved it and headed for the old hall cottage campsite hoping they had room for us and managed to get a pitch no problem, even on a busy bank holiday weekend!

The site is great. Relatively small with approximately 30 tent only pitches, mostly flat and well maintained fields.

There are only two toilets and two showers (50p for 5 minutes) but even though the site was full by Saturday afternoon, I didn't queue for either facility all weekend.

The tea rooms are in front of the campsite and serve breakfast (not sampled!). The Green Dragon pub is literally a 2 minute walk from the site. With a log fire and excellent food this place has to be visited!

The Hardraw force waterfall is just behind the pub and it is only a 1 mile walk across the fields to Hawes. I highly recommend both this site and it's location! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flipper31 1 review from this member

 We stopped here 2 weeks ago and had the best time ever. Its a very basic site but the views are amazing and make up for everything, our kids played out from morning till night without disturbing or getting in anyones way and they seemed really safe which is great. There is a small stream that runs along the site but you have to go to the tea shop at front to get access, this wasn't a problem. The toilets are spotless as are the showers but again very basic.2 showers and 2 toilets with cold Water washing up facilities. £16 per night.

I can see myself going back to this site year after year. I loved it! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hillwalking 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site! Hidden down a track beside the tea rooms, this site is away from it all set in the heart of the Dales with great views of the surrounding countryside. The camping field is an undulating field beside Hardraw Beck, with plenty of flat areas. When I visited in mid week at the end of June there was only two other tents.

The facilities are good - 5 minute powerful shower for 50p, clean toilets, but no hot water for washing up. Costs £7 per night per person for a tent and car.

The tea rooms (where you book in) is very good, but doesn't open till 10am. The nearby Green Dragon is a great place to spend an evening - old fashioned dales pub with a large range of real ales.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Goodey441 1 review from this member

 Lovely situation and grassy fields with stone walls. The facilities were of a moderate standard for the tariff, we stayed over the bank holiday so facilities were predictably stretched. 2 toilets with paper provided and clean. 1 dishwash sink with no hotwater, and no handwash hotwater or soap, left me disappointed for the tariff .2 Showers at 50p.

The tearoom where you book in was lovely with tasty fare reasonably priced, also has a little gift shop. The nearest pub is the Green dragon where you can access the famous hardraw force (waterfall) well worth a visit and the £1 to get to see it.

Overall I'd say lovely but expensive, 2adults and 2 under two's £54. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliandjohn 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site! pity about the weather, poured down most of the time and the site was very wet! not much level ground for a large tent but good facilities, clean loo's and shower block (50p a shower) no noise while we were there but site was quiet! maybe something to do with the rainy weather. Great pub next door, guest beers and its own waterfall! 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Old Hall Cottage Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement