Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thistledown Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Stroud > Thistledown Farm Camping Reviews

Thistledown Farm Camping
Tinkley Lane
Nympsfield
Stroud
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL10 3UH
Tel: 01453 860420
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Late March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Si26 2 reviews from this member

We visited this camp site earlier in the year. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome with a detailed and informative explanation of the wonderful site and surrounding attractions. The family owners were very pleasant and helpful.

The site was very clean, well kept and the grass was freshly mown. The site is deceptively large. We stayed in the orchard area and found the fire pits that were in the ground very convenient. The owners came by daily to see if we needed wood for the fire and we found the toilet facilities very clean and convenient. These comprised of ports-loos for our area and in the other fields there were wooden buildings with wash facilities and toilets.

We felt the costs were very reasonable and the whole site had a serene, comfortable and welcoming feeling.

The surrounding area had a pub, restaurant, historical landmark attractions and places of natural beauty. We would recommend this site and plan to return in the future.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marsonpee 2 reviews from this member

The good:

*Very friendly staff, felt very welcome and well informed about the site, rules and facilities.

*Plenty of space on the site to pitch with a large number of fire pits.

*Barrows provided to help move kit from car to pitch.

*Great views from site, and easy access to the breathtaking Worchester Park in the valley below.

The bad:

*None of the site or Toilet/showers/washing up areas are lit at night. Having a shower, washing up and visiting the toilet isn't great when done by head torch. Especially when we had to visit the other end of the site to the other showers as the ones on our field weren't working.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Siriol 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic campsite in a beautiful unspoilt area. We really loved the whole ethos of this site and it is particularly good for children as there are literally acres of fields and woods for them to explore. We couldn't believe the campsite was fully booked as we had so much room but the owner makes sure that he doesn't overcrowd it under any circumstances! ( So nice to see in this day and age when profit usually comes first)He was extremely helpful as were all his staff. We camped with 2 groups of friends in The Elderflower Orchard as we had a small camper van and this is the area they are allowed.

If you just have a tent though you can camp down on the pasture areas although you can't take your car down (but they have wheelbarrows and quad bikes with trailers to get your gear up and down to these) and that's what makes it so safe and idyllic for children. We chose this campsite because it allows real campfires - you're allowed to bring your own wood but they also sell firewood too.

Down on the pastures are composting loos (v clean indeed) and lovely hot showers and washing areas. The Elderflower Orchard doesn't have these (has a couple of festival style toilets) but you can walk to use the facilities in the pastures. That would be my only tiny constructive criticism - that it would have been good to have the same set up in the Orchard ( I think they are hoping to do this in the future).

There is a small shop selling organic local produce and essentials. (I suspect it's quite a way to supermarket so stock up before you come and you can top up milk etc from shop. )There are lovely pubs and walks everywhere around here - it was an area we didn't know and was a revelation! Beautiful! The kids particularly loved a long barrow near to the site wher you can actually go underground! It's called Hetty Peggler's Tump locally! Also from the view point nearby you can see the mighty Severn River spreading across the plain below!

A fantastic weekend at a truly lovely site. The owners should be truly proud that they have created such a wonderful place where camping is exactly as it's meant to be!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 24 reviews from this member

The initial arrival at this site was deceptive. It is on a hill top and when we arrived on a windy, rainy day it looked a bit bleak and unloved.

However, the staff in the new reception / shop were really welcoming and when you venture further down into the 2nd and 3rd pastures (we camped in the Badger Site in the 3rd Pasture) the site was just stunning.

You can choose to pitch where you like, remembering to be next to a fire pit if you want a campfire. The ever helpful staff come around each day with wood you can buy for your fire (10 for a heaped wheelbarrow full) and we definitely recommend the organic firelighters that they also sell for 20p each.

You have to leave your car at the car park and transport all of your kit down to the camping areas in wheelbarrows, which is fine, but if you do have a trailer then it's 5 each way for the staff to tow the trailer to where you want to pitch, then you can just keep the trailer next to your tent for your stay.

The composting loos were great, cleaner than most normal toilets I've seen on campsites and the showers were piping hot. One small criticism would be that on 2 out of the 3 evenings that we stayed there was no hot water in the washing up area (but we did think that it may be solar powered and due more to the lack of sun than anything else). The little path by the toilets did get a bit muddy and slippy on one day but by the next morning the owner had already been along and put wood chips down on it to dry it out.

The little shop at reception is great for the basics, and for their own yummy sausages and they didn't mind us putting our purchases on an account until we could get to a cash point (at the moment they only accept cash or cheques on site).

The best bit of the site is the sheer amount of space. We were there in half term week but never felt at all crowded. There are large woods on site you can explore with ponds and rope swings that the children loved. The walk from the site around Woodchester Park and on to the Rose and Crown in Nympsfied was beautiful and took us about 2 hours, the food when we got there was delicious.

All in all: friendly, welcoming owners; nice loos; campfires; stunning scenery; lots of space. We will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon Gerhardt 1 review from this member

Thistledown is a quiet, relaxed, peaceful, spacious, beautiful campsite. In a very rural position, with lovely countryside all round.

The site is ideal for both families and couples looking for a complete break from the modern world.

We stayed in the 3rd pasture which is a huge area with loads of room to pitch. The kids were able to run and scooter to their hearts content without being a bother to anyone.

Fire pits and picnic benches aplenty. The compost loos were great, showers hot, facilities simple but effective and always spotlessly clean.

Very friendly owners who are clearly passionate about their farm and site and ensuring a relaxing holiday for all visitors.

Lovely small town of Nailsworth just a few minutes drive away and lots of things to do in the local area.

We will definitely be back next year to this wonderful site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loupy21 1 review from this member

Beautiful campsite. We stayed in the elderflower orchid which is said to be the more basic camping area. We liked being able to pitch up were we liked between the trees. It was a bit isolated but we loved that.

We took 2 kids with us and they loved being able to run round safely and look for all the birds and insects that were around.

There was about a 5 minute walk to the showers and washing up area but there were toilets closer by.

We also loved the fact you could have an open fire and they came round every night with the chance to buy more fire wood.

Beautiful walks and woodland close by and on clear nights star gazing was fabulous. We had a fantastic time and will be definitely going again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stally26 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay on this campsite. We stayed on the '2nd pasture' and it was refreshing for there to be no cars allowed by the pitches.

There is a car park at the top and wheelbarrows to cart your kit down which all added to experience, well worth trekking down the steep hill. The scenery was beautiful and the ground was perfect camping ground. Apparently they were full but we had so much space to ourselves so they do not overcrowd.

This a great site for kids, we had our 2 year old with us who could run around safely and freely and loved the animal paddocks but we will rave about it to friends with older children too for all that the woodland has to offer with it's nature trails, streams, rope swings and springs etc all on site.

Love to be able to have a campfire and the owners will come around and deliver wood if required every evening for 10 a barrow.

The local town of Nailsworth is pretty and has everything you need.

My only criticisms - as regular campers we felt that the prices were too high. For 2 adults and a tent we paid 22 a night, for the basic facilities we felt this was a bit steep.

However we didn't begrudge it as the setting really is beautiful. Also - the owners say they will help you with your camping gear if they aren't too busy but what isn't mentioned is that it will cost you 5!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie74 1 review from this member

A brilliant weekend with 4 other families. The landscape is well done with woods, streams and lots of hidden places to find. No need to leave the campsite during the weekend.

The facilities were spotless with a stand alone washing up building, great whilst the bad weather continued.

They were very friendly and delivered large piles of logs each day for camp fires.

Looking forward to returning again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Berlingo Beth 2 reviews from this member

Unit: Micro-camper. Parked in the elderflower orchard. Level. Good ground.

At last! A campsite worth paying for. Amazing atmosphere. Composting loos make such good sense. Don't let the idea of them put you off they are kept very pleasant, light, airey and really, do you know of anywhere else that you have a loo with a view?

Only a very brief visit this time so didn't get to check out the shower block.

Drinking water comes from their own spring and is UV filtered. Can you taste the difference? Lovely. What a treat.

Took a twilight walk, saw rabbits and deer. It will be great to have more time and explore the woods properly.

As for the surrounding area. Watch out for the VERY steep road to Dursley. The map is not lying. Romahome overheated trying to climb it. Amazing views are the payoff.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doodz 2 reviews from this member

Decided to stay at this campsite because it won 'cool campsite' of the year. It was only the second time we have camped. We stayed in the Elderflower orchard.

Although the facilities were very basic (one glasto type porta loo but which flushed and was very clean and one water standpipe).

The downside to such splendid isolation was the 15 min walk to the homemade wooden shower block (2 gas powered showers in a field) up and down hill in the lower pastures- but that was our choice.

We still loved this site.

On the first night we were the only tent in the orchard although we were joined later by a camper van. We bought a half load of wood (5.00)on the first night, made a fire and sat outside the tent. Although it was the end of March, the fire kept us really warm and it was such a novelty for us; it felt great.

We went to the farmer's market in Stroud which is held on a Saturday morning and which I would recommend. Don't eat before you go. There are loads of lovely stalls selling organic wine cider, cheese, and hot food. We also visited Nailsworth which is a nice little town to wander around. We bought rather posh rolls from Hobbs house bakery for breakfast the next morning which

Went well with the bacon we had brought at the farmers market. We tried to book a table to eat at Hobbs on Saturday night but it was full. It looked interesting. We ended up eating at the Rose and Crown up the road. The food was ok but the landlady has a definite attitude problem. Best pub we found was in nearby Uley - picturesque village and micro brewery ale at the Crown (think it was called that).

The campsite borders national trust land (Woodchester Manor) which you can walk around the grounds and is worth a visit. We also went to Hetty Tump's which was interesting (for a hill) in a bizare way. The final day we went to Slimbridge nature reserve which I thought was ok but would not hurry back to (unless you really like ducks).

My only disappointment with the campsite was that we did not see sight nor sign of the elusive badgers -how do you see them in the dark anyway?

The owner and family are very friendly and sociable (including the hens that kept visiting). I would ask them (the owners that is) to recommend pubs etc if I were you.

We'll probably be back late June as my husband is doing the Cotswolds Relay race.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1800 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019