Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thistledown Farm Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Thistledown Farm Camping
Tinkley Lane
Nympsfield
Stroud
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL10 3UH
Tel: 01453 860420
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: Late March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollylyn 4 reviews from this member

Have just got back from 2 nights at Thistledown and have to say it was lovely. We stayed in the 3rd pasture and I would definitely recommend a lift back up that hill when you pack up!

Composting loos were a bit strange to get used to, but very exciting for my four year old son and showers were lovely and hot as long as you were very early or very late to beat the morning rush.

The area was lovely and not at all hard to find the campsite with our sat nav. We ate in the Rose and Crown just down the road and it was nice although a little expensive.

I definitely want to go back to Thistledown again and in fact am about to book for next year - if that isn't a recommendation then nothing is!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fiddlyfingers 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful four nights at Thistledown.

We pitched on the 2nd pasture, where there was a clean portaloo which was changed daily, and had plenty of loo roll.

We parked near the 'soil collar sculpture' - essentially a small hill fort around a big tree, which the children loved running up and down and generally having a whale of a time.

We bought some wood for 10 which lasted us 2 nights at least, and if you weren't cooking over the fire you wouldn't get through it as quickly as we did.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, the surroundings are beautiful, and it's a short pretty walk to composting toilets and hot showers.

Will definitely be visiting again!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tarar 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights from thursday to sunday in the elderflower orchard site.

The staff were very helpful on arrival and we were able to choose our own pitch, plenty of space to choose from and with the trees around it felt private. They also gave us directions for a walk through the National trust park to the mansion.

The toilets were portaloos in the orchard and were kept clean and changed regularly.

The shower block was about 5 minutes walk to the third pasture and was kept clean and were hot.

We had a campfire every night, a barrow full of wood for 10 was brought to you.

The local pub The rose and crown is about 15 minutes walk from the campsite and provided real ales and a selection of good food.

The small town of Nailsworth is about an hours walk away or 10 minutes drive where there are shops and restaurants if required.

Will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bmacky 9 reviews from this member

We booked this at the last minute and are so glad there was room for us! We stayed in the 3rd pasture and after managing to get our kit down the steep track by wheelbarrow, we put up the tent in a small clearing surrounded by trees. However when we left we did decide to pay 2. 50 to get a lift back to the car park! The owners do not try to cram people in, they believe that everyone should be able to have their own space.

The compostable toilets were always clean and didn't really smell at all. The showers were good (and free) and there was plenty of hot water. As others have said, it was fantastic to have a real campfire at night, and a barrowful of wood was provided for 10. The owners and family were very helpful and were keen to make sure you had what you needed without being intrusive.

At night time it was peaceful with only the sound of owls to hear. There was plenty of wildlife, including the occasional deer and badgers. There are some animal paddocks near the lower carpark with some pigs, goats and horses which the children loved.

There are no shops within walking distance but there are small villages within 5-10 mins drive including some good restaurants.

Overall, this site is fantastic if you want to get away from it all and get back to nature. Not for anyone who wants loud music and a bar! We are hoping to return in August

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Storeyfamily 2 reviews from this member

Used this site for a one night stop off en route elsewhere. Easy to find off M6. In nice countryside, lovely town along the road.

The site is large and interesting, loads of space, and interesting corners plus a modern stone circle, but the facilities don't really suffice.

We were in the orchard where there were some pretty dodgy portaloos. The shower/washing up block was too remote and too small.

Credit to them, I think they are trying to reduce environmental impact, but too basic for us.

Verdict - has potential but I won't be going back unless it developed

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

Visited Thistledown for a weekend break. We arrived on Friday evening and decided it would be easier to pitch our tent in the Orchard.

The site's owners were friendly and we were soon setup and had a fire going in one of the pre-dug firepits using logs that we were able to buy from them.

The Orchard pitches are near the entrance so you can hear cars passing along the road, but it's not a busy stretch and has hardly any traffic overnight.

The layout of the orchard means that you feel like you're on your own as other tents can't really be seen. We were only sharing the area with another 3 or 4 tents but it was nice to have some privacy and feel that you had the whole place to yourself!

The 2nd pasture had a large group in over the weekend so we avoided that field. The 3rd pasture was a lovely place, with lots of secluded spots for tents.

Although it was quite busy there was still lots of space, but having driven down on a Friday night we didn't have the energy to cart all our kit down in the (rather large) wheelbarrows.

Having said that, the field is not a huge distance away and apart from a short descent at the end of the track it's only about a 3 minute walk to the entrance. Sadly that descent becomes an *ascent* on the way back out, so keep that in mind if you have a lot of kit to take back to the car (we have a canvas tent and a stove!)

The facilities in the Orchard are basic - 'events' toilets and a drinking water tap. The toilets were kept nice and clean and didn't smell at all though.

In the 3rd pasture there is a washing-up hut with 3 sinks and although we didn't use it there was plenty of space here.

We did use the shower block and the showers were great. Nice and spacious, with a good flow of hot water and all kept in good condition.

Next time we hope to pitch up in the lower fields where the views are better, the facilities are closer and there is a bit more shelter from the wind but we had a really nice stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

The location is great - just a short drive off the M5 and it's definitely worth popping to Stroud on a Saturday morning to visit the farmers market!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MartinaCara 1 review from this member

We were greeted by Ryan and Richard and made feel very welcome. The were so helpful and friendly throughout our 4 days in the campsite.

We were helped by Richard to bring our 'kit' down (recommended as there is a steep hill) to the lower field where we pitched near the toilets. The toilets were cleaned twice each day and it did not smell.

The showers were amazing and wow the handbasin is made from a carved piece of wood.

We loved having a proper campfire and on exploring the fields around I was waiting for a Hobbit to pass by! I cant wait to come again.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pickledrabbit 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Thistledown as a party of three tents in the lower pasture. The site was busier than expected but still made for a wonderful experience.

Kids enjoyed going through the woods and making dens, charging about the place looking for interesting places to hide. A little boy's paradise.

Eco toilets were surprisingly hygienic and washing up area was really clean - will definitely be coming again.

We used the firepit and wood provided - and managed to keep the fire going all night.

Definitely ask for the lift in the jeep for all your stuff, particularly when packing up.

Went for lunch in the Rose & Crown which wouldn't recommend as food was less than mediocre.

Parents stayed in the B&B above the Rose and Crown - said it was ok but lousy coffee. Would definitely visit Thistledown again but maybe will research the local pubs more thoroughly.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lightningrider 5 reviews from this member

We visited this camp site as a group consisting of 2 adults, 2 teenage children and a dog. The fire pits were a real bonus as was the log delivery. Total peace and quiet, lots of opportunity for star gazing and the only noises we heard were animals, going about their business in the surrounding trees.

There's a pub just down the road and facilities for groceries in Stroud. Also, it's a great spot to venture out from to explore the Cotswolds, visit Slimbridge and sample the scenery along the Severn.

Top site, top people and a very good time was had by all :-)

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicebird 1 review from this member

Had a great stay here recently and loved it.

We were a big group with children from new born to 7 years and it isn't always easy to find something that suits everyone, but everyone agreed it was the best spot we've all stayed at yet.

It is peaceful, pretty and individual.

They were great when we were booking and answered all queries and recommended a spot that suited us perfectly.

There are badgers out each evening to watch, other animals on site, beautiful views, privacy, great showers and compost loos complete with views and geraniums!

Definitely a place to go back to.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!