Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thistledown Farm Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Thistledown Farm Camping
Tinkley Lane
Nympsfield
Stroud
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL10 3UH
Tel: 01453 860420
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: Late March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richard + Betty 1 review from this member

My daughter and I spent a Saturday and Sunday night in early August and both thought it was absolutely fantastic and refreshingly different to anywhere we have camped in England. We were cycle camping on a tandem and will definitely return but next time (probably in a car) with my wife and other daughters.

For us the best things were:

1. The setting and naturalistic design if the site

2. The opportunity to have a camp fire

3. The low density and variety of informal pitches

4. No cars (at least in the 3rd pasture)

5. Nice people and the 'getting away from it all atmosphere'.

On arrival we were caught out as there was no shop in the village and we didn't fancy a long uphill cycle back from Nailsworth. We therefore ate in the Rose and Crown which was very enjoyable and fairly busy, mainly with locals.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Actweaver 2 reviews from this member

Now this is camping in the raw but a great joy nonetheless. They have only recently opened and facilities are very basic. Our section of the site had one portaloo and nothing else however we were sited amidst elderberry trees and beneath a gentle wind turbine. Just 10 mins from the M5 and we were in complete cotswold tranquility. The upper site allows you to park and camp together but we'd recommend (and will visit next time) the lower fields which are park and walk. Even more peaceful and rural with a collection of well fed and well bred animals filling up the landscape. Really hope they do well and will be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Talie and tribe 2 reviews from this member

Arrived back after four nights at this site today still unsure as to whether we liked it or not.

This is real camping, for organised people or people without kids in the group.

The owners will take your things up/down to the lower site for £2.50. Well worth the money it's harder than it looks. We wish we knew this before we took everything down.

There are no shops near to the site, sainburys is the nearest in Sylsley village. About a 10-15 minute drive. Medium sized store selling everything you need food wise and womens clothing.

Some things are brilliant. We all loved the fire pits. Richard drives round each evening selling barrow loads of wood for £10 or half a barrow £5. There are plenty of pits and half oil drums to contain your fire.

The site is huge. There are lots of walks, rope swings, animals, flowers. Plenty to see and do. It's all very hands on. Going in to the animal enclosures to have a stroke or offer a carrot is encouraged and the animals seem very tame and used to the attention.

The family really want to help, nothing is too much trouble.

You can walk through the site over to a near by national trust property with a lake, it's a long walk but lovely.

Unfortunately the whole thing isn't quite there.

We did stay for the bank holiday, so it was very busy. The site is spread out over a large area with a few toilet areas to see to.

However the toilets were literally over flowing several times. With no toilet roll or sawdust (for the composting loos) The composting loos would have been fine if the doors locked and were stocked. They could do with some soap and hot water.

There is no lighting anywhere, inc toilets and showers. They do have transparent roofs or windows for day light/moon light.

The showers were very hot but there were only two of them. Not the solar showers stated (thankfully) It was lovely to have a hot shower after muddy walks and feeding pigs.

There is only cold water to wash up. People were using showers to wash up which clogged the showers and lengthened the queue.

The walk from the car park to the lower camp site is quite steep. Not suitable for injured / elderly / toddlers. This made it really difficult to get our things down to the site. Barrows were provided but it was very muddy and raining when we arrived. We all struggled and all of the kids fell. It put a huge dampner on our first day/evening.

Saying all this the place does have a charm rarely seen. If your fit, enthusiastic about the environment and looking for somewhere very different you should try it out.

I'm looking forward to going back but I may be alone.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Papamet 2 reviews from this member

Quite simply the loveliest site we have ever used. The owner and his son are amazingly helpful and friendly. The children can be children and enjoy playing in the woods and have great fun (we only saw ours when we checked on them or they were hungry!)

I think someone in a previous review said there are no warning signs around but in my humble opinion it would ruin the ethos of the whole site, you just have to use common sense and be responsible for your own children.

The upper orchard site may be more appropriate for those who don't want to go camping but prefer 'glamping' but personally I think the basic camping adds to the charm and adventure of the Thistledown experience.The other thing I must point out, that when it comes to rubbish there is one of the most extensive recycling centres I have ever seen just a couple of miles away from the site and if you are generating that much rubbish you're sure to pass it on your stay when you visit one of the charming local villages so I do not see that as an issue.

We are afterall looking at an eco-friendly site and not a glam, noisy and expensive commercial site, if you have a problem with such things you only have to ask the owner and he'll take it away for you when he is doing other jobs like cleaning the loos, delivering firewood or assisting people moving their kit.

The showers are up and running and are fantastic and the very clean and non-smelly compostable toilets are perfect. Having a proper campfire makes this such a special place. This is our second visit to Thistledown and we have yet another planned for later this summer, can't wait.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MikeyBlondie 1 review from this member

We had a lovely weekend here and will return. This recently opened site has a great sense of spacious Gloucestershire countryside/wooded valley, and is well located for enjoying green England at its best. There is also a super pub along the road in Nympsfield called the Rose and Crown, apparently under new management recently, and it served us very good food both lunchtimes, the Eton Mess was to die for.

The campsite is passionately run by a father and son who really seem to have their hearts in what they are doing, to the point where there is a slight sense of utopia at the expense of some more serious practical detail like efficient recycling/disposal of the vast amount of rubbish generated on a site this big (that was hopeless on our w/e); selling eggs (no food in sight on our w/e), providing more barrows for schlepping kit (people waiting); teaching the toddlers to use the funny loos properly so wood shavings don't go all over the place; plus. There is no demarcation of pitches so it's a bit of a free for all, which is fine if numbers are restricted and everyone is sensible about where they pick a spot, but is a bit unnerving if you have a vast space next to you but think a family of 15 could arrive at any moment. I very much had the sense that the whole set up is a work in progress; it's wonderful, but could be even more wonderful, and it will be interesting to see how the place evolves once more people have found it!

I must stress that I'm very positive about the place compared with many other campsites overall. The showers on our lower area were fantastic by the way, hot and free, although sshhh rumour has it they're not entirely solar powered, never mind, I loved them. The wildlife is super, pheasants outside our tent, and plenty of birds although some turned out to be local gliders drifting about!

My final point is to beware young children running off into the woods at the bottom, there are watery ponds in there, green on the surface, and rope swings, and I sincerely hope that is not just an accident waiting to happen, there are no warnings and it all looks so safe down there whilst you're pre-occupied with the tent.

Looking forward to the next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spridds 1 review from this member

Great site, admirable green philosophy, clearly needs investment to realise the dream but actually feels great already. Loved parking our camper (vw) in amongst the Elderflower trees, felt like we were on the Serengeti. The log pile is well stocked and fun to have proper fires / real logs, walking around the camping pitches / through the woods was great although you cant drive to these the walk is only 5mins, great settings amongst the trees real seclusion and a magical feel. Toilets are basic in the top fields (festival style) new toilets / showers for the campers are as expected, green as can be, sawdust etc = Fun and again in line with the eco dream. Left feeling like I wanted to stay longer and get more involved in the dream.

Maybe a great site for grown up Hippies.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eveliendehoop 1 review from this member

This campsite is truly wonderful. As it says in the other reviews, there are no showers yet but I've witnessed the work that's being done on them. They will soon be up and running.

The area is gorgeous, and offers something for different audiences. The National Trust house down in the valley (about 2 miles from the campsite if not less) is well worth a visit (woodchester manor) and I spent a wonderful time walking in the area.

There's some badgers living at the edge of the campsite, so if you're silent at dusk, and stand very still, you can see them! A magical experience.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScottN 1 review from this member

Very friendly, family-run business that's apparently been open about a year. Richard and Ryan, the father and son team who seem to manage the campsite (and the farm / eco-reserve that opens Thistledown up to non-camping visitors) are incredibly helpful and enthusiastic and genuinely have a passion for making the site something special.

The campsite has three levels - an upper, 'middle' and lower site. We stayed in the lower site - although you can't bring your car down there it is a much more secluded space with some amazing views across the hills and valleys. To get your camping gear to the pitch I'd recommend taking the 4x4 'mule' - an exciting way to introduce yourself to the scenery.

The pitches are big and spacious and there are numerous picnic benches and fire pits nearby. The site will happily sell you a large stack of wood or you can bring / collect your own.

Facilities, at the moment, are fairly basic, with some earth-compost toilets and a spring water tap. I understand that they're building / installing some additional toilets, taps and some heated showers.

The surrounding countryside is very beautiful and peaceful and there are some lovely walks to hand, ranging from a turn around the grounds to much further reaching parts. Personally I'd heartily recommend the walk to Woodchester and a pub lunch in the Ram Inn - great food and a very sunny beer garden. If you can handle going further, the views from Selsea common are spectacular.

All in all, we had a fantastic weekend at Thistledown and wouldn't hesitate at going back. The only negative for me is that, until some showers are installed there, I wouldn't want to stay more than a couple of nights - but I'm no hardcore camper!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilderbeest 5 reviews from this member

My twin boys and I spent two nights at Thistledown.

The owner and his son gave us a very warm welcome and took our camping gear to the site with their little 4x4. We also bought some firewood for the evening which was promptly delivered as well and more than we could use on the two nights.

The facilities are basic - a twin compost loo and a water tap, but that was all we needed for two nights. The site is absolutely beautiful and we took a long walk through the woods and along a stream after we had set up the tent.

My favourite bit was sitting by the camp fire after our dinner. The last time I had camped and had a proper camp fire must be over 20 years ago!

This site is quite different to your normal camp site - it feels that you are a lot closer to nature. There is plenty of space and there are little corners where you can pitch your tent and have privacy. No caravans or camper vans, which adds to that great 'wild' feel. This is what camping should be like!

I'm getting a bit carried away here which is probably because this site reminded me of wild camping when I was a teenager, so forgive me for my ramblings ;-)

The next town is Nailsworth about 2 miles away with plenty of shops, 2 butchers, a delicatessen, pubs, restaurants, etc.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamen 1 review from this member

We went to Thistledown over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend, despite forecasts of bad weather (which didnít really come).

The site is in an amazing setting, on multiple levels on the hillside. This is the reason you canít get your car to the lower campsites. There is a bit of a slope to walk up to get to the car park but itís not too far. However it may not be as easy in really bad weather. Richard took our gear down to the site and even towed our trailer down there for us.

The pitches are located on large, gently undulating, fields surrounded by trees, so they are very sheltered. We didnít have any problem finding a flat area for our huge tent. There are a couple of really big firepits in each field, ideal for a large group of people to gather around. There are also picnic tables dotted about for you to use.

There are several small firepits cut into the ground too, which are ideal if you want a small cooking fire closer to your tent. They also have brasiers available for you to use if there isnít a pit close by.

Thistledown has extensive walks and a huge woodland for the kids to explore. The kids were constantly coming back telling us of the exciting thinks they had found. They saw pheasants, rabbits and deer amongst other things. There are also pigs, goats and sheep which love to eat any left over vegetables you have.

The day before we arrived a pair of twin sheep had been born and while we were packing to leave another pair were born. Richard took us and the kids to see them when they were 5 minutes old.

The facilities at the site are basic, however there is a visitor centre in the process of being built. This will apparently include showers, toilets, cooking and food preparation areas and even a covered eating area.

The lower campsites currently have a pair of composting toilets. These are clean and not at all smelly. They are as easy to use as a normal toilet.

The only concern that we had is that the site is open as a visitor centre so there are non campers wandering past your tent. However the people we saw were friendly and as long as you keep valuables safe and out of site you should be fine.

All in all we had a great time at the site, itís not the cheapest we have stayed at but it is one of the best.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!