Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thistledown Farm Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Thistledown Farm Camping
Tinkley Lane
Nympsfield
Stroud
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL10 3UH
Tel: 01453 860420
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: Late March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucile 4 reviews from this member

A fantastic campsite, with plenty of room to camp (no fixed pitches). Lovely views, clean facilities with plenty of hot water, friendly, helpful staff. The cafe, serving pizzas and breakfasts and lunches at the weekends is a great bonus!

We had a fantastic family stay here - and will be returning!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ahm12 1 review from this member

It was very nice. Great staff. They have a very nice place to stay. Great space. No one is too close together. Great food! I highly recommend it to anyone who goes to it. Very friendly people. Also at a fair price!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 23 reviews from this member

Having stayed here four years ago we have wanted to return, but it always seemed to be booked up. Finally we booked in time and had a lovely 3 days at the site. I did do a review after our last visit so am just going to mention extra tips from this visit.

The site is huge and, especially on 3rd pasture, make sure you have a good look around before deciding where to pitch. We didn't and, although our spot was fine, had we wandered around a bit more there were a few quiet secluded areas (even on the summer bank holiday weekend) which would have been nicer.

There is a cafe on site now (up at the top of the hill near the car parks). We had pizzas (they light the pizza oven on Friday and Saturday nights) which were very nice, but it isn't cheap and you have to book in advance. I think they also do breakfasts and lunch, but we didn't use the cafe then so I can't comment.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pezamb 10 reviews from this member

Wonderful quirky place. We camped in the orchard (basic event loos) which was amazing. Secluded pitches with fire pits, just beautiful. The place has a cool alternative, almost hippy vibe. Spectacular café and shop. Delightful soda bread toast! There are showers down at other parts of the site which look lovely although we didn't use them for our short trip. The walks accessible from the site are amazing. It is such a beautiful place. Stroud is nearby, and worth a visit. Excellent helpful staff also.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights and what a lovely site. We selected to stay in the 2nd pasture and accepted that we couldn't take the car to the area where we wanted to pitch. This has its issues especially if you have a monster tent like we do, the mule for £5 came within 10 mins and dropped us off, but having the car is so much easier when putting up and taking down. Wheelbarrows are provided but this isn't for the faint hearted as the hill down - if you choose to go down there is quite steep especially when transporting your belongings (and who really ever camps light? We certainly don't!)

The site has lovely views and there was a lot of space between the tents.

The compost toilets were kept very clean and did not smell, I have to admit I did feel a bit like a hamster as sawdust is the name of the game!

The shower was hot but did lose a lot of power and heat when both were running at the same time which was a shame.

Great walks around the site so the dog had a lovely time.

The shop was very nice and stocked a nice boutique selection of items - the food area was really lovely, small and well thought out.

The food was cracking! We enjoyed lunch, tea and cake, as well as wood fired pizza. The price was very reasonable.

Wood was delivered throughout the day and cost £7. 50 for hard wood which was dry and seasoned, we even got some kindling as part of the price.

The staff were lovely and very welcoming, one of the chaps was excellent and really went out of his way to help! He even allowed us to leave our broken pop up gazebo which fell victim to the wind.

All in all a fabulous site which we will definitely be returning to!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here early June at the end of half term holidays, the site was quite busy but not packed.

Check-in was simple at the large reception/shop/cafe

We were in the elderflower orchard, it has some portaloo s but now showers, the portaloo were cleaned regularly and adequate, the two shower blocks were a schlep away on the pastures. But we're eco friendly, clean and hot so no complaints there.

The orchard is an old orchard, ideal for small groups, perfect for couples, but if you want big open spaces for the kids to play football, it can be limited due to the trees.

Fire pits are scattered here and there, and every weekend day they deliver logs to each site at a reasonable price.

Pub within 20 mins walking distance

I personally prefer the orchard for a short break as cars are not allowed on the pastures and the approach is steep, and with wellbarrows hardwork.

All in all, a fantastic site, showers and toilets limited but adequate, clean and eco friendly.

Well worth a visit, and we will return when in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DannyT 2 reviews from this member

Stayed int he 3rd Pasture for our first ever family camping trip. Very helpful staff to get us on our way. Logs brought round most nights. Very clean composting toilets and clean showers. LED lights in the loos at night.

Very steep hill to take all your kit to and from the pasture though and wheelbarrows with flat tyres didn't help at all. Mule rides are available for a fiver a time but they get very busy.

All in all Highly recommend this site and look forward to staying there again.

Book early though as it gets full VERY quickly.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pudsey28 1 review from this member

Very nice site. We were staying in the 2nd Pasture at the very bottom, so it was a bit of a struggle taking the gear down from the carpark in the supplied wheelbarrows.

The firepit & bench were very welcome, & there was plenty of room between the pitches.

Showers were hot, but there could be a quite a queue at popular times, & it was not practical to try to shower at night because there is no lighting. I know this is a 'back to nature' site, but the addition of a few lights would not spoil this ethos too much!

All in all we had a good experience & may well return.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucie Robinson 1 review from this member

Fabulous campsite. Clean, well looked after, environmentally friendly facilities. Owners and staff were friendly & helpful. Well stocked shop - great selection of beers & ciders, meats, eggs etc locally produced. Loved the walk from the campsite to the nearby National Trust property & a pub in walking distance serving decent food, a bonus. We had our section of the Pasture 3, all to ourselves as the weekend we were there was particularly quiet. Great to have a picnic table and wooden bench next to the fire pit. The site has been in continuous (?) occupation for a long time, would have loved to have learned more about that.

It is more expensive than other sites I have stayed in, but it seems the owners are investing a lot in the environmental side and good management and upkeep and as a large site, this must come at a cost. Thanks to the owners for this great place, would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fiwhit 5 reviews from this member

Just had an excellent visit to Thistledown with friends and pleasantly surprised at how spacious the site was and how much room each group was allocated. We were told that the site was full but we must have had between 7 - 10 metres between tents, plenty of other sites would cram in at least another 4 tents in our space, so it was a real treat. Composting toilets were clean and serviced regularly and the showers were strong and hot with enough space to change and dry. Only minor gripe would be queuing for the showers with the toilet queue. The kids loved the Roman spring and pond with plenty of space to run around and trees to climb. Nice walk to local National Trust property, very scenic. Shop on site sold a good variety of very nice foods and beer. Unfortunately not enough time to appreciate the site fully due to major traffic hold up on day of arrival and the tail end of Hurricane Bertha on Sat night Sunday morning! We will definitely return, a real gem.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2416 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019