Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thistledown Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Stroud > Thistledown Farm Camping Reviews

Thistledown Farm Camping
Tinkley Lane
Nympsfield
Stroud
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL10 3UH
Tel: 01453 860420
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Late March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bluefa 1 review from this member

 This campsite was the best I had ever been on. Idyllic, peaceful and green.

Lots of lovely touches like the sinks made of whole pieces of wood, the fire pits, the sculptures dotted around and the friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kevtamuk 3 reviews from this member

 Magical campsite, beautiful pitches, loved listening to the owls in the evening round the firepit and gazing at the starry skies.

Pizza at the cafe was lovely with friendly service and stunning views.

If you want a rural campsite with plenty of space and good facilities you cant go wrong.

We stayed at the bottom of pasture 3 which was a great location 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucile 4 reviews from this member

 A fantastic campsite, with plenty of room to camp (no fixed pitches). Lovely views, clean facilities with plenty of hot water, friendly, helpful staff. The cafe, serving pizzas and breakfasts and lunches at the weekends is a great bonus!

We had a fantastic family stay here - and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahm12 1 review from this member

 It was very nice. Great staff. They have a very nice place to stay. Great space. No one is too close together. Great food! I highly recommend it to anyone who goes to it. Very friendly people. Also at a fair price! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen98 25 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here four years ago we have wanted to return, but it always seemed to be booked up. Finally we booked in time and had a lovely 3 days at the site. I did do a review after our last visit so am just going to mention extra tips from this visit.

The site is huge and, especially on 3rd pasture, make sure you have a good look around before deciding where to pitch. We didn't and, although our spot was fine, had we wandered around a bit more there were a few quiet secluded areas (even on the summer bank holiday weekend) which would have been nicer.

There is a cafe on site now (up at the top of the hill near the car parks). We had pizzas (they light the pizza oven on Friday and Saturday nights) which were very nice, but it isn't cheap and you have to book in advance. I think they also do breakfasts and lunch, but we didn't use the cafe then so I can't comment. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pezamb 10 reviews from this member

 Wonderful quirky place. We camped in the orchard (basic event loos) which was amazing. Secluded pitches with fire pits, just beautiful. The place has a cool alternative, almost hippy vibe. Spectacular café and shop. Delightful soda bread toast! There are showers down at other parts of the site which look lovely although we didn't use them for our short trip. The walks accessible from the site are amazing. It is such a beautiful place. Stroud is nearby, and worth a visit. Excellent helpful staff also. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights and what a lovely site. We selected to stay in the 2nd pasture and accepted that we couldn't take the car to the area where we wanted to pitch. This has its issues especially if you have a monster tent like we do, the mule for £5 came within 10 mins and dropped us off, but having the car is so much easier when putting up and taking down. Wheelbarrows are provided but this isn't for the faint hearted as the hill down - if you choose to go down there is quite steep especially when transporting your belongings (and who really ever camps light? We certainly don't!)

The site has lovely views and there was a lot of space between the tents.

The compost toilets were kept very clean and did not smell, I have to admit I did feel a bit like a hamster as sawdust is the name of the game!

The shower was hot but did lose a lot of power and heat when both were running at the same time which was a shame.

Great walks around the site so the dog had a lovely time.

The shop was very nice and stocked a nice boutique selection of items - the food area was really lovely, small and well thought out.

The food was cracking! We enjoyed lunch, tea and cake, as well as wood fired pizza. The price was very reasonable.

Wood was delivered throughout the day and cost £7. 50 for hard wood which was dry and seasoned, we even got some kindling as part of the price.

The staff were lovely and very welcoming, one of the chaps was excellent and really went out of his way to help! He even allowed us to leave our broken pop up gazebo which fell victim to the wind.

All in all a fabulous site which we will definitely be returning to! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here early June at the end of half term holidays, the site was quite busy but not packed.

Check-in was simple at the large reception/shop/cafe

We were in the elderflower orchard, it has some portaloo s but now showers, the portaloo were cleaned regularly and adequate, the two shower blocks were a schlep away on the pastures. But we're eco friendly, clean and hot so no complaints there.

The orchard is an old orchard, ideal for small groups, perfect for couples, but if you want big open spaces for the kids to play football, it can be limited due to the trees.

Fire pits are scattered here and there, and every weekend day they deliver logs to each site at a reasonable price.

Pub within 20 mins walking distance

I personally prefer the orchard for a short break as cars are not allowed on the pastures and the approach is steep, and with wellbarrows hardwork.

All in all, a fantastic site, showers and toilets limited but adequate, clean and eco friendly.

Well worth a visit, and we will return when in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DannyT 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed int he 3rd Pasture for our first ever family camping trip. Very helpful staff to get us on our way. Logs brought round most nights. Very clean composting toilets and clean showers. LED lights in the loos at night.

Very steep hill to take all your kit to and from the pasture though and wheelbarrows with flat tyres didn't help at all. Mule rides are available for a fiver a time but they get very busy.

All in all Highly recommend this site and look forward to staying there again.

Book early though as it gets full VERY quickly. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pudsey28 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice site. We were staying in the 2nd Pasture at the very bottom, so it was a bit of a struggle taking the gear down from the carpark in the supplied wheelbarrows.

The firepit & bench were very welcome, & there was plenty of room between the pitches.

Showers were hot, but there could be a quite a queue at popular times, & it was not practical to try to shower at night because there is no lighting. I know this is a 'back to nature' site, but the addition of a few lights would not spoil this ethos too much!

All in all we had a good experience & may well return. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thistledown Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thistledown Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thistledown Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stroud      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1649 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement