Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Forge

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Gicq > Camping La Forge Reviews

Camping La Forge
10b Rue De La Forge
Le Gicq
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17160
Tel: 00 44 01778 571390  or  00 44 07896218839
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: June To Mid September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 11/06/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 11/06/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kate w 54 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely week at this little site, situated on the edge of a small village. Colin and Ann are great hosts with lots of knowledge about what to see and visit in the local area. There is no wifi at the campsite.

There is a very nice swimming pool on site. Toilet / Showers are very clean and new. There is also a washing machine available. There are no playgrounds, clubs etc. But the children on site at the same time as us were having a ball!

Pitches are in 2 areas, there's some with small hedges separating them and a small field without marked pitches.

Whilst there we visited the Courvoisier factory at Jarnac, another local cognac producer, chateaus at Crazannes and Dampierre and a day out in La Rochelle. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cjh94 1 review from this member

 Visited last year and went back again this year as we loved it so much last time. The children are already asking if we can go back again next year!

It is a very small site surrounded by fields of sunflowers and sweetcorn and very peaceful. Just what you need for a relaxing holiday. The pool is warm and the children spent many happy hours playing there. It has a lovely big shallow end making it ideal for my six year old to be able to stand in too unlike some other places we've been to.

As usual everything was spotless and the flowers everywhere made the site look very pretty. Colin and Ann were both very welcoming as always and we had a great holiday.

Already looking forward to next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sammyjk 5 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic little site, with an extremely friendly atmosphere. It has a real family feel about it and with only a few pitches you soon get to meet all of your fellow campers.

We only stayed for 2 nights on our way down to Agen, but were made to feel so welcome. Colin greeted us with such enthusiasm, and what a brilliant memory for children's names he has!

The pool was a real hit with the children, and so warm they didn't want to get out. The toilet block was lovely and clean and it was a real treat to have a shower screen meaning no wet clothes. Colin was very happy to advise on local information and places to visit, and answered any questions we had.

We were just gutted we couldn't stay longer and enjoy the many things the area had to offer. We will certainly have to visit again! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paponi 1 review from this member

 When I consult a review, I want to know is the site well equipped; are the washing facilities of a very high standard; and is it well run by welcoming hosts? At La Forge, the answer to all the above is a categoric yes. Colin and Anne treat their guests as guests and not just customers; and it is this difference that is the hallmark of their site. We stayed for two nights en route from the Pyrenees to Normandy, and it was the perfect point at which to break our journey, with plenty to see within a short distance on an otherwise long drive. If you decide to book this site, you will not regret it. Though I may regret giving such a positive review, as it will probably not be available when I need it! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: James Parry 1 review from this member

 This was our second year staying at La Forge and the whole experience of re visiting felt like we were 'coming home' again.

It is a superbly peaceful camp site giving a genuine experience of rural France. Within cycling and driving distance are local villages with shops and restaurants.

The site is child friendly and the pool is great. Le Gicq is small, friendly and fun to explore.

A great place to 'get away from it all' and find some tranquillity.

Much recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sotjon1 1 review from this member

 We returned this August 2014 for our second time at La Forge. We specifically came back because we enjoyed our first visit in 2013 so much. The size of the site is its biggest advantage. With a small number of pitches you soon get to know everyone staying on the site. As a family site the children also make many friends as well. The site is very clean and well maintained and has a very friendly atmosphere. As other reviewers have stated the owners are very welcoming and great hosts. Most of our days here are simply spent by the pool relaxing as the Children play. We love this site. If you need supplies you have to get in the car or ride your bike to one of the local villages/ small towns. We take bikes and to be honest riding to get the bread and croissants is part of the holiday. The area is rural and very quiet indeed. This won't be our last stay here and we look forward to returning for another holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Keefe4 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have visited this site and were not disappointed to go back again. The owners made us feel very welcome. The children love this site which is the main reason to return and the reason that will go again. Because the site is so small they make friends with everyone and so do the adults! The pool area has a shallow end suitable for the younger children and a deep end for the more competent swimmer. The facilities are kept spotless. There isn't on site entertainment and the nearest shops are a bike ride away but for us this is the appeal. A well run site perfect to explore rural France. We will definitely return for our 3rd visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EmmandBee 2 reviews from this member

 Went back for two weeks this year. Great! no charging around from site to site. We just set up(the pitches are all level and perfectly drained, and any rain you do get soaks away instantly), sat back and chilled! We both lead hectic lives and have returned from La Forge this year relaxed and refreshed. We did get to see more of the very interesting towns, chateaus and markets around, La Rochelle, Saintes(Roman remains) Cognac etc. Etc. But at a nice steady pace. We had some gorgeous lazy two hour lunches under the trees in the square in Saint Jean D'Angely and some lovely evening meals at the Bistrot St Pierre in Nere which is very close, its run by Russell and Michelle who are fabulous English hosts. If you want a noisy, fun day go to La Rochelle, in the evening it has a Covent Garden feel about it with some really interesting/funny street performers. Read all the previous reviews for the detail, suffice to say Colin and Anne run a beautiful clean site and are so attentive and helpful. This is a fabulous place in a fabulous part of France, go here to escape from the noisy clubhouses and hustle and bustle. Enjoy! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mellett 1 review from this member

 We have visited this beautiful campsite for two years in a row and hopefully will return again this year. We have three children and they loved it and loved the pool, which Colin keeps sparkling for them. It is a small campsite with all the facilities one needs and is kept spotless. Colin and Anne, the owners are so helpful and friendly. It is situated in a lovely quite village. We would definitely recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 We had booked a pitch at Le Forge, Le Gicq for a week at the end of August just as the Schools were going back. Booking was simple, as “La Forge” holidays is based in the UK. The wonderful hosts open La Forge from April to September each year. The only unusual point to note is they do not take payments by card but do take payment by bank transfer. Once booked we were sent all the usual confirmations as well as directions,

IMPORTANT- Follow the directions that the owners provide, the village has small narrow streets, as do surrounding villages, and if pulling a caravan like ours you will get stuck if you follow sat nav.

On arrival we were pointed to the owner who was an excellent host. He gave us a tour of the site and advised us of the local supermarkets and tourist spots, even offered to book restaurant tables for us if we liked.

The site is a small 10 Pitch & 3 Gite operation located in a small village in the picturesque outback, north of Cognac. There is a very nice pool and the facilities block was scrupulously clean. It consists of 2 Unisex showers, 2 Toilets and 2 Wash Rooms, A washing up sink, Chemical Toilet Disposal, A washing Machine (€2 in the honesty box) and a freezer for the Tent Users. The pitches all have access to Electric (IP44 round 3 pin connection) and each electric point has mains water, Grey water waters the plants.

Firstly the thing that may not suit everyone- Its small and social, everyone has to get on with everyone else. However, as most of the visitors were similarly minded to us – there for relaxation, a swim and a good book, it was a pleasure to chat about our collective holiday experiences.

Children, this is a small quiet site, it doesn’t have the play areas and clubs that most children want these days, so you may not find this suitable as you will be entertaining the children 24/7.

Shops, this is a location for peace and quiet so don’t expect to find a Hyper-U down the street. The nearest shops are south on the edge of Matha about 10mins away where you will find an Intermarche and a U-Express (Don’t be fooled into thinking it’s like Tesco Express it has pretty much everything you need and without a price premium)

What we liked – The showers can accommodate me, a 6’3” male, without having to crouch under the showerhead that dribbles tepid water that stops every 10 seconds while banging your elbows on the walls. They are spacious free flowing and you set the temperature.

The Peace - no road noise, no noise at all really and everyone on site respects everyone else.

The hospitality, the owners made everyone welcome and could not do enough for their guests during their stay and would make a point of personally thanking everyone for their visit and saying goodbye, with true sincerity, when they left.

The Pool, It’s a nice pool, say around 10mx5m. It has a shallow stepped entrance at one end slopping down to a comfortable 1.8m deep end. The water was always crystal clear and is far more clement than a dip in the North Sea. It is surrounded by a slabbed terrace with a few sun loungers and tables with parasols.

The site has a lot of places you can visit that are within 1 Hour Drive (e.g. Cognac) with La Rochelle being 75mins away.

This really is a gem of a site – rural France at its best – with exceptional hosts.

All in all, a very peaceful retreat and a site that we would highly recommend. We will be revisiting in the future. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Forge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping La Forge have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Forge?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping La Forge dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Gicq      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement