Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Forge

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Gicq > Camping La Forge Reviews

Camping La Forge
10b Rue De La Forge
Le Gicq
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17160
Tel: 00 44 01778 571390  or  00 44 07896218839
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: June To Mid September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 11/06/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 11/06/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellenaboobop 1 review from this member

 A beautiful place, hoping to visit again, Colin and Ann are lovely people, and obviously experienced tourers/campers and have really put a lot of thought into their site.

They also have extensive knowledge of the surrounding area, and will have not hesitation in assisting.

The facilities are amazing and the pool is wonderfully kept.

Cannot fault this great place! Apologies for the delay in leaving a review! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geocachers 6 reviews from this member

 We weren't overly keen on this site. It was very cramped and crowded. The site itself is tiny with no room for the children to play on site, often had to park our car just outside the site also.

The facilities were good though and very clean. Shame there wasn't a communal fridge -there was plenty of room for one.

The pool was a godsend and was lovely (it was baking hot when we were there). Just a shame it was locked up at 7pm, which was always a rush to get a dip after going off site all day.

The village is almost a ghost town in August and very run down. No local shop either. Seemed a long drive to get to anywhere touristy. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve and Sharron 2 reviews from this member

 Our party of 4 stayed for 11 nights in July 2012. We camped in a tent. Our age range is 51-61.

We chose this site for its remoteness while still wanting to be within easy reach of all the tourist sights if we wanted to go out on a trip.

A perfect place to stay as it is away away from all the hubbub of daily life, no traffic, no light pollution (the stars are amazing at night).

The pool is perfect to cool off in as it does get nice and hot in the day. Even though we are old enough to know better we were the nosiest group in the pool playing our version of volley ball/water polo!

Nearest supermarkets are only 10K away in Aulnay along with an ATM and nice bar next door. Some very good places to eat within easy reach.

All the people we met in the villages were great, very friendly. With Le Gicq being off the beaten track so to speak you get a real taste of French life.

Plenty of safe places for walking and cycling surround the campsite. The village itself is a joy to walk around.

The owners can advise you of places to see, local history and traditions, places to eat etc.

All in all, the location, surrounding areas, the site and the hosts are in my opinion the perfect deal! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Naythan 6 reviews from this member

 I spent quite a lot of time researching properties before settling on this Gite from La Forge Holidays and it was time well spent, booking and payment was simple & straightforward with the owners kindly including a local English guidebook with our confirmation so we could suss out a few excursions in advance of arrival. We found them extremely helpful & friendly at all stages, even when our eldest child accidentally broke a lamp.

The location is easy to find and within easy reach of Calais in 7 hours via the toll roads. We found plenty to do, aided by the host of local tourist information provided by the owners & taking advantage of their local knowledge. Highlights were the Zoo Palmyres, the Plan d'eau at Cognac and riding our bikes between local poppy scattered fields & vineyards. We stayed a week and left a number of things we'd still like to do so will go back, I'd say you could easily fill a fortnight if you are the kind of holidaymaker that likes to do things every day.

I can't not mention the heated pool, the kids loved being able to swim in a pool a few feet from the front door, they were in it within half an hour of arriving & were often in it twice a day!

Although the Gite was compact we found it just right for the 4 of us, outdoor furniture and a BBQ were provided so we spent a lot of time outdoors enjoying the sunshine, the kitchen had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable plus fitted with mattress protectors, my only suggestion would have been to put the microwave on a wall bracket to make better use of the worktop space. We made good use of the undercover bike storage and washing line for our beach towels.

As we had a Gite we didn't use the shower block but did have a look, they are quite recently built & nicely kept, as was the laundry room. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davon64 2 reviews from this member

 La Forge is a lovely small site with swimming Pool and excellent toilet/shower facilities. It is situated in a very small village called Le Gicq, approx 60 miles in land from La Rochelle.

We have been for the last 3 years and love it. We can't describe in words what it feels like to drive along the country lanes knowing were getting nearer to what we now call 'Home'.

The site is quiet and relaxed and makes you escape the hustle and bustle of every day life, even our 18 year son loves coming along to chill.

The pool is lovely and clean along with the toilets and showers, cleaned regularly by Colin & Ann who own the site.

Colin & Ann make you so welcome and can't do enough for their guests, not only around the site but also booking meals and giving us places to visit.

Along with the small camp site their are 3 Gites so if you don't want to take the caravan, tent or camper then relax in one of these.

The only down side to this site, which we incidentally don't see as a problem but some may, is that you need a vehicle to go shopping as their are no shops in the village, although their is a bread delivery daily, however we have never used it.

We have booked again for next year and look forward to going back 'Home' 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyvon 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic small camp site if you want to have a totally relaxing holiday in this rural village in France. No shops, nearest boulangerie about 2 miles away but bread van calls in village every morning. And no public transport No pubs or restaurants, but all facilities are within 5 miles and tourist information and recommendations are all available on site. We want to keep it a secret but I think everybody should know about this little paradise in France

Colin and Ann are the perfect campsite owners and we were made to feel so welcome on our first visit in 2009 that we retuned in 2010 and 2011 and our 4th visit is already planned for 2012. Made friends with other campers in 2009 and we were very pleased to see them in 2010 and 2011,

Although the pitches are not too large there is a couple that will take a twin axle van or largeish motor home.

The showers and toilet facilities are one of the best I have come across on such a small site, The disabled shower, toilet room complies to all the disabled persons needs with grab rails seats etc and room for wheelchairs.

My wife tells me the washing machine and ironing facilities are brilliant.

The swimming pool which is fenced all round with a locked gate for children's safety is so welcome to cool off in.

Also on site are a couple of gites so that friends or family can holiday at the same location if they are not into camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lazzad 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, peaceful and extremely well cared-for site. Whilst quite a small and secluded site, each pitch is very well defined and nicely bordered with informal hedging. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas without being interfering.

The heated swimming pool is an excellent feature and the toilet and shower facilities are without doubt the best we have ever seen.

It does feel quite remote but there are loads of places within a reasonable distance to visit by car and the surrounding villages are an easy cycle on quiet roads through fields of sunflowers.

Well worth a visit - thoroughly recommended for those who want a bit of peace and quiet in nicely well kept surroundings. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rod G 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this great little site. The super modern clean loos & showers were a pleasure to use. The site boasts a wonderful heated swimming pool which is child friendly having a good fence and secure gate all around. We felt well looked after by the owners Colin & Ann who were very helpful and have a very good knowledge of the local area. No wifi or internet access if you need it, otherwise it's a smashing little site, more so perhaps if few others are there at the same time. Would stay again. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Forge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping La Forge have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Forge?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping La Forge dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Gicq      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement