Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Forge

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Gicq > Camping La Forge Reviews

Camping La Forge
10b Rue De La Forge
Le Gicq
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17160
Tel: 00 44 01778 571390  or  00 44 07896218839
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: June To Mid September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 11/06/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 11/06/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve and Sharron 2 reviews from this member

 Another great fortnight spent at this marvellous site (we came here in 2012 as well). You donít have to drive for miles and miles to see something good; there is plenty of delightful sights to see within a 40 mile radius, much more than you would think.

We had a blast and met new friends and caught up with old ones as well.

I really enjoyed having to speak French when out and about. It is very rural and peaceful and you are, to my delight, in the middle of the countryside well away from the cities so English is not spoken very much at all. Great!

There is not any Wi-Fi on the site and I am pleased this is so. Too many sites have people clicking away on their laptops when they should be relaxing. If you want wifi and are in Matha anytime, simply sit outside the Italian restaurant called Le Pinocchio during opening hours and log on there. Or, go in for a meal, very good.

There is a Cognac distillery not far away, itís on the road to Thors, Colin or Anne will tell you where. Give it a go! Also, in the same village is a fantastic old Chateau that is well worth a visit.

All in all, a great place to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EmmandBee 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Hard to think of anything to add to all the good comments from previous reviewers. The pool is fab and beautifully maintained, I don't use pools that leave you stinking of chlorine and this one doesn't. We just spent two weeks charging around France visiting some lovely sites, but next year we are spending two weeks at La Forge. You know how most washing/toilet facilities in French sites are clearly designed by people who are never going to use them, if they were using them they would be better! OK often beautifully clean, but so poorly thought out(for instance the waste point right in the centre of the whole complex instead of outside and showers where you are standing in a basin that floods the cubicles on either side! etc etc). At La Forge its so clear Colin has thought out exactly what was needed before he built it and it shows.

Well done , only small, but beautifully formed! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Achy 14 reviews from this member

 I do agree with all the other reviews:

The site is very clean

The pool is lovely

Colin & Ann are very helpful

BUT

It just wasn't for us. And to be fair non of our reasons are the site owners fault but I feel to provide a balanced review to help others I must put these points down:

It was too rural for us (we live in a very rural area in the UK), if the village had just had it's own shop or bar, just one, then that would have made a difference-I guess it was having to drive for everything that put us off.

Everyone stopping was English-at the site we had visited previously there had been such a mixture, which again suited us.

Having said all that, if you want absolute piece and quiet, don't mind driving for even your morning bread and are happy to be surrounded by entirely English people during your stay, then this site is very clean, with helpful owners and has a lovely pool. It was also very accessible to the motorways back up the the ferries. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meps 7 reviews from this member

 What a gorgeous site, small, beautiful, friendly very well maintained. We were welcomed personally by Colin and Anne and given a list of local events and things to do (not done anywhere else!). Out of all the sites in France we stayed at, this was by far the best. If its nightly disco's and entertainment you want, this is not the site for you, but for tranquility its perfect. Kids made their own fun either in pool or wandering around the quiet site. Because it's small everyone was very friendly. Very clean shower facilities (although showers could have been warmer but I think Colin is addressing this!). Close to Cognac and beautiful countryside full of sunflower fields, a trip to Park in Cognac with kids a must (Colin told us about that). Close to hypermarket and Boulangerie about 2 miles away. If we come back, we could definitely come here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coroner1 7 reviews from this member

 On our arrival we received a warm welcome from Colin, who gave us all the relevant information about the site and the area. He then went out of his way to help us repair a damaged jockey wheel, first by borrowing some tools and when that did not work he gave us written directions to the hardware store and a translation to enable us to ask for the parts required. Using these we were able to buy the parts and save our holiday.

The site is quiet but well maintained with very clean facilities and an excellent swimming pool.

We were booked in for three days but returned on our second week for three more, as we enjoyed the first stay so much.

If you want good friendly hosts, well kept, peaceful site in beautiful surroundings, then this is for you. We will return soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TwoJs 9 reviews from this member

 This is a small but perfectly formed site! It was peaceful and quiet whilst we were there (although this may be less so when things are running at full capacity in the summer). Colin, the English owner is friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas.

The sanitary block is modern and clean although we would personally have liked the showers to be a little hotter.

We stayed for 9 nights and were sorry to leave. We would definitely stay again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandy+Chris 2 reviews from this member

 We are just back from an eight night stay at this lovely site, run by the very friendly Anne and Colin. It's a small site but well laid out with flowering bushes clearly marking the boundary of each pitch, gives a nice feeling of privacy.

The loos and showers were spotless, cleaned every morning, although we were only one of two couples on this site when we stayed so don't know how it is when very busy, suspect still just as clean. Free use of washing machine a real plus and the swimming pool was also clean and warm. Our stay coincided with heavy rain storms -unusual for that time of year and we don't hold Colin responsible for the weather- but our pitch remained well drained. When the sun did shine we had a great time exploring the local towns and sitting by the pool. It's a shame that there isn't a bar or cafe within walking distance but seems to be the trend nowadays in some villages in rural France. If ever our journey takes us back near the area we will def stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JandSL 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved this site! We were originally going to stay for 3 days but had to leave after 10 because they were closing for the end of the season.

Although it was coming to the end of the season in France it was very hot in this part of the country so we made full use of the swimming pool every evening.

The showers & toilets were immaculate & the washing machine made life much easier.

Colin was very knowledgeable about the local area & offered suggestions about places to visit as well as introducing us to the delights of the brocante. Angouleme & Saintes were some of our favourites.

Matha is only a few km away & has a market & Super U.

Le Gicq is in a lovely part of France & so easy to get to from the UK. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DKLT 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem! This was our first camping trip in France and after an easy drive down (via Peterbrough as my wife forgot her passport had expired!) we arrived at the campsite. Colin and Ann made us feel extremely welcome and this continued for the whole sun drenched week.

All the facilities were well maintained, clean and had everything you need. As most people have said the pool is wonderful and the kids were in there every day. The 7pm curfew in the pool only forced them to continue the fun with new found friends.

We certainly intend to return and having found some lovely villages, patisseries and great beaches we will take our bikes as there are plenty of quiet lanes we would like to explore. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craig02 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, the owners made us feel very welcome from the off. The wife loved the peace and quiet and the daughter loved the pool which was fantastic. Left feeling relaxed and recharged and cannot wait to go back next year which we have already booked!

The site is within an hours drive of a lot of attractions, we were there for a fortnight and have only just scratched the surface so plenty of places to explore next year, Highly recommended. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Forge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping La Forge have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Forge?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping La Forge dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Gicq      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement