Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Forge

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Gicq > Camping La Forge Reviews

Camping La Forge
10b Rue De La Forge
Le Gicq
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17160
Tel: 00 44 01778 571390  or  00 44 07896218839
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: June To Mid September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 11/06/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 11/06/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 18 reviews from this member

 We only stayed for one night as a stop over to the Vezere Valley but it was a lovely little site and on arrival there was a blackboard with our names on and a note saying to pick whichever pitch we wanted as it was empty and he would see us later.

Colin appeared later in the afternoon and was very informative and polite. The showers were lovely and clean and the pool was a very welcome site to cool off in the hot weather.

We were the only people staying on the site but a family was staying in one of his Gites. Would like to return and stay for longer to explore the area a little more next time.

If you like a quiet small and friendly feel then this is a must. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dodgeroger 2 reviews from this member

 Camping La Forge is one of the best campsites we've found in France. The sanitaires are excellent, the grass pitches level and a good size with trees for shade if required.

The heated pool is lovely and was most welcome during our extremely hot stay. Colin, our host was very friendly and a great source of useful information about the local area, things to do and places to visit.

The site is within easy reach of Cognac, Saintes, La Rochelle and the beaches of Royan, Chatelaillon Plage and Fouras. The area is a superb base for cycling with very quiet roads, gently rolling countryside and idyllic villages.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheNig 3 reviews from this member

 A beautiful pleasure, Thank you Colin.

Only stayed for one night when travelling down to Bordeaux but so peaceful and relaxing. Everything that you could need is provided and Colin was a great source of local knowledge. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane and Bruce 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site, Colin and Ann could not be more helpful. Everything available you didn't know you needed e. G. Green sachets for cpd! Only thing missing was a trouser press but could be new for 2017!

Thanks for a great stay we'll be back in 2017 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LisanMichael 1 review from this member

 A little treasure!

We arrived at the end of the season and so we were the only ones on site. The facilities are more than you could want, very clean and thoughtfully provided to make your holiday comfortable and trouble free.

Colin & Ann were very friendly but very discreet. They were there if ever we needed them with advice on where to visit in the region.

The weather was fantastic and very warm so the swimming pool was a welcome distraction.

The site, was well maintained, even after the extremely hot and dry summer we had experienced this year.

This is a perfect “CL” type site with top facilities and hosts. In a rural location it is central to many of the country's tourist attractions.

We had a lovely holiday and look forward to returning one day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Canonhawes 1 review from this member

 We have been camping across Europe since 1978 and have never enjoyed such fantastic facilities as at La Forge. The showers and toilets were better than home! Lovely pool and a great locations as well as thoughtful and good natured hosts. We pity anyone who has been here first and then moves on to savour the dubious delights of a good many sites in France and elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Guy.pennington 2 reviews from this member

 Highly recommend this site if you like rural settings, peace and quiet, but still within easy access of fabulous old French villages, towns, cities, sea and Chateaux, a fabulous area of France. Very large supermarket less than 10Km away in Matha.

Colin, the owner, was great, giving lots of help and pointers, including a weekly newsletter of local events which was great.

The site facilities are excellent and the swimming pool was an essential delight given the beautiful weather.

We were a group of 3 families and had a fabulous holiday at La Forge :) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DKLT 2 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to La Forge with friends. As other reviewers say the site is peaceful and kept so well. As always Colin and Ann are fantastic hosts looking after us so well and providing a wealth of knowledge about the local area. This year Colin branched out into a fantastic two minute Olympic update!

Kids large and small enjoy the pool and the surrounding area. Recommend the boulangeriein in next village, the brocante and the wine from siecq.

Even after four years we discovered new things in the area. This year, great beaches, a fantastic inland lake with beach ideal for infants and young children and restaurants.

We certainly would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TABITHA123 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this rural site not knowing what to expect.

The site is brilliant if you want peace and quiet lovely area not to far from some lovely places around.

Due to the heat we spent a day visiting and a day of rest at the lovely pool side and chilling.

Would suggest a visit if you are in this area.

We traveled all the way from Scotland and would do it again.

Excellent toilet facilities and the owner very helpful.

Cant ask for anymore. Thanks for my time there just not long enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aliandyjames 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 weeks at this site. Lovely site, very relaxed and everyone was friendly. Pool is lovely just the right size and temperature, always clean and tidy. When we arrived (during a thunderstorm) pitches were smaller than we are used to but we had a twin axle caravan, an awning and a large table which all fitted on fine.

Colin and Ann keep the site lovely and clean. They know everything about the area and kept us well informed about what was happening during our stay. Toilets, showers and washing area kept nice and clean. Washing machine available with honesty box.

We found a lovely beach at Fouras (thank you Colin!) Takes just over an hour to get there. Saintes is a lovely city and the cathedral is worth a visit, about 40 minutes from site. Cognac was nice but pouring with rain when we visited!

Travelled to zoo at Royan, lots of different animals and very close interraction with them, feeding elephants, zebra and giraffe. Big cats all looked well but needed much bigger enclosures. Gets very busy so need to get there early. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Forge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping La Forge have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Forge?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping La Forge dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Gicq      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement