Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Idle Hours Owlsbury Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Idle Hours Owlsbury Park
Hadlow Down Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 3SA
Tel: 07787945667
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20+
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CravenA 1 review from this member

Braving the wet and windy weather we visited Idle Hours for a 3 night stay in early May.

Probably due to the weather we were the only tent there! The owners have a caravan on site and there were two other caravans at the time we stayed so we pretty much had the place to ourselves.

There is a little duck pond where the resident duck family live. You wake up to the country sounds of sheep and cows and within a couple of hundred meters there is a very pretty fishing lake (we didn't fish) but were encouraged to take a look around.

The new owners are fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming and let us know they are going to up date the toilet facilities which were a little basic but spotlessly clean. They also have plans to expand the size of the top field.

They have a pot wash shed and a shower in a portacabin which have hot water heated from solar panels. It was a little tricky to get the balance of flow and temperature right but we managed.

There is a good sized Tesco about a couple of miles away and the pub in Jarvis Brook does a decent roast on a Sunday. Ashdown Forest is just down the road for lovely walks and there is plenty to do in the area - Lewes and Brighton are not too far away.

Due to the site being on top of a hill it does get windy but that is off set by the lovely views.

Would recommend for anyone who likes camping how it used to be - without club houses or on site shops. A great place to stay.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

We always try and stay here once a year - usually our last camp of the year in September. Its always totally brilliant, peaceful and relaxing.

The owner is very friendly. The facilities are basic with just a temporary toilet block lit by solar lighting - the site has no electricity - but we would rather have that than some site with a club house etc.

Really can't recommend this site more highly if you want a back to nature site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lady c 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a wonderful extended stay at this lovely site. We had booked for a week but just didn't want to return home so extended our holiday for another 3 days.

The location of the site is just heavenly, with views of the Sussex Downs and rolling fields. To wake each morning to the sound of Bird song and the Cows grazing peacefully in the nearby field was such bliss.

The site has basic facilities but all are kept spotlessly clean. The Owners and staff arrive each morning to clean and replenish all the necessaries and then re-check early evenings on busy days.

The nearby area had all the requirements for us. Tesco is a short drive from the site as well as a camping/caravan supplier for gas etc.

The village has a great Fish and Chip shop and Chinese take away.

But what really added pleasure to our holiday was the friendliness, kindness and generosity of soul shown to us from the Owner(s), Family and Staff.

They helped us on a daily basis with our needs and when our car had a glitch they were there within minutes to get us started again.

Thank you Owlsbury for such a special time. We have brought home wonderful memories of our time spent with you and hope that we will see you again sometime really soon.

Terry, Mike and the boys (Tibetan's Sam & Harry) xxx

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wigwam-Clive 2 reviews from this member

We really liked this campsite. It is really peaceful and has very relaxing views.

Every now and again you can hear a lorry go past or an electric train in the distance, however, during the night it is very quiet and I am a very light sleeper and I had two out of two nights of really good sleep.

Big field to exercise dogs in was very handy. The toilets were very clean and you can recycle all your rubbish. The owner was very friendly and helpful too.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue+roly 2 reviews from this member

We spent nine wonderful days at this lovely site excellent views and the best sunsets. The site is peaceful scenic, quiet and dog friendly. The two small fishing lakes are pleasant and well stocked we spent pleasant afternoons.

Good local shops a short drive away we found the bakers shop to be very good and about four miles away we found a traditional butcher in Mayfield.

From the site there are good walks to be found and the surrounding area is has many places of interest there is lots to see and do although we spent a lot of time relaxing at the site most days we had the place to our selves. The site is grassy with picnic tables dotted about and the use of bar-b-ques which we thought was very nice. The site owner and her little team made very welcome, the solar hook up was sufficient and worked well, toilet, shower and wash up facilities were kept clean and in good order. We have been camping and caravanning now for twelve years and this was one of the times we have had. Just perfect surroundings for a relaxing break we look forward to our return

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy+Mitch 3 reviews from this member

We were attracted to this site as we prefer small/quiet sites. Although near the road you barely hear a car. The railway line down in the valley in the trees was noticeable but didn't spoil our stay (just a shame as we like to feel in the middle of nowhere)

The site really a long narrow strip, so although small, pitches are pretty close to each other and most are on a gradient other than those backing onto the road. We like a bit more space.

The view/sunsets are as promised.

The toilet/shower facilities are only just adequate. Everything works ok, lots of water pressure and hot water and is kept clean, but one WC and one shower between 40-50 people isn't really sufficient. Really needs one male and one female unit as per the existing portacabin.

The solar panels provided work well, just as well as generators are not permitted.

Site management is friendly and professional with good instructions.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Party Bus 1 review from this member

One of the nicest sites we've stayed at, lots of wildlife, great walks and lovely sunsets. We arrived on a Thursday and had the site to ourselves which was pretty special. Apart from one longish walk we pretty much stayed on site for 3 days as we wanted to spend time in our vw camper chillin out listening to music and watching the clouds. We just loved the facilities all very eco and the picnic tables and benches dotted around is a lovely idea. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and sent some useful info over on booking.

Hope to get back this weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Yonderhug 1 review from this member

Stayed two nights and would have liked to stay longer. Toilets are basic but adequate, the peace and quiet heavenly. The picnic tables are a nice touch and the ponds area is lovely to contemplate or sit and read a book.

We were extremely fortunate with the weather which made the views and wildlife spotting very enjoyable. Although owner is not resident clear instructions were forwarded beforehand to make for a hassle free arrival. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herbie P 1 review from this member

We had a lovely nights stay at the Owlsbury.

It was a last minute urge to go camping, so we had a quick search then contacted Owlsbury.

My wife knows little about camping, so she found it such a relief that the lady she spoke to over the phone was so accommodating, even offering tips and loads of local information.

That's it, our minds now made up. We set off from London for a 2 hour adventure drive. We arrived after midnight and set up tent.

We awoke to a beautiful peaceful setting.

Didn't even realise we were so close to the road, it was so quiet.

Nice clean setting with picnic tables.

Thank you ever so much Owlsbury

We look forward to visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew schofield 5 reviews from this member

This site really is in a beautiful location and no matter where you pitch you will have great views across the valley and nearby countryside. Lots of birds and wildlife to watch.

Great the way Geraldine provides a number of picnic benches, encourages lots of outdoor eating and socialising if you want to.

A day out to nearby Tunbridge Wells ( approx 7 miles) is well worth it.

We would definitely return and recommend the site.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


29 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019