Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Idle Hours Owlsbury Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Idle Hours Owlsbury Park
Hadlow Down Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 3SA
Tel: 07787945667
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20+
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 9 reviews from this member

Had a fantastic time at this site again over the bank holiday weekend. A lovely welcome as always from owners Julie and Paul. They have done so much work and made such a huge improvement to this site since our last visit. It was so warming to see how busy this site was, really pleased for them. Love the fact there is no electricity on this site, had to sit, chill, read, chat to the neighbours (even our dogs got on nicely), enjoy the scenery, watch the distant storm, listen to the birds. Left here feeling like we had had a proper break rather than just a few days. Look forward to returning soon

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cliff B 1 review from this member

Back home after my second visit to this site. Arrived at noon on Bank Holiday Monday after the crowds had gone and the site was spotless, as it was on my previous visit. I was told to pitch where I wanted to, (again as before)and set up on the grass under some Oak Trees backing onto the road. What I didn't work out was that it was Autumn and the acorns were falling from the trees on to the 'van roof. My fault entirely, but after the first 100 or so, I no longer noticed them. There were plenty of Tractors on the road outside, but it's also harvest time and the crops have to come in while the weather is fine. Again, no problem for me with road noise. As for train noise mentioned by other reviewers, the railway is down in the valley surrounded by trees, so the noise is negligible and you can't see the trains.

Yes, I suppose to some the facilities are a bit 'lacking' with no electric, only Two Male and Two Female loos and one shower, but if you're camping, what do you expect for the prices charged? Get up a bit earlier or hang on until the morning rush is over and you'll get a great, hot shower with no problems. Go when everybody else does and you gotta wait mate.

Shops etc are a car ride away in Crowborough, or there is a Tesco Shed and a Sainsbury's local in Jarvis Brook.

The facilities and grounds on site are kept in excellent condition by Julie and Paul, and nothing is too much trouble for either of them.

I would, (and I HAVE) recommend this site to others. If you want peace and quiet, no Computer, no TV, etc. And above all, no KIDS, this could be the site for you.

Thanks Julie and Paul. I will be back, September maybe.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torrington 4 reviews from this member

This site has a severe shortage of toilets. There is only one single lavatory for men - there are no urinals. Women have two individual lavatories - this is for the entire site. On summer weekends this site gets very busy. The pitches are large and some of them have two or more tents/ campervans. Friday and Saturday evenings, when people are all drinking and chilling-out, men were having to find bushes to relieve themselves. In the mornings there are people uncomfortably awaiting their turn to get into the lavatory cubicle. There is only one solitary shower for the site but it does work well. This site is high up on the downs and is wide open to the South and West. There is no natural shelter to lessen the impact of incoming wind and rain; tents can get quite a battering. The grass was kept decently short and the place is clean, tidy and well maintained. The washing-up shed was adequate with 2 sinks and plenty of hot water. The owners also sell this site as a fishing venue. However the pond is quite small and the water is very murky and grey. It is surrounded by a gravel path but there is nowhere for anglers to situate themselves. During the week I was there I did not see a single angler. One evening I sat down beside the pond and saw no signs of life in the water at all. In view of the lack of toilets and vulnerability to bad weather I would not return here.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoJarvis 2 reviews from this member

We had a warm welcome from Julie and could choose our own pitch but I am pleased we took her advice and camped near the large oak tree which gave us much needed shade, evening sun and a lovely view. The new ladies toilets were always pristine and I understand the mens are about to be 'done' The shower does not look the most attractive but looks can be deceiving and it's probably the most powerful shower I have experienced on a camp site. I understand that there are plans for this to be updated too. There was a lovely atmosphere and Julie and her family take great pride in their site but at the same time seemed very relaxed. The fishing was great and my husband caught a number of fish over 3 lbs.

The site runs on solar power and gas so no facilities to refreeze ice blocks but we coped.

The pitches were large and had super views, we left just before the bank holiday weekend and more toilets had been bought in to cope with a full site.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise of trains, planes and automobiles but it wasn't an issue for us and you rarely heard them all at once!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fran1000 12 reviews from this member

The site is in a fabulous location, with lovely views across fields and woods. It is a short car drive from shops etc, and is truly rural, surrounded by farmland.

It's a small site, L-shaped, with a few hard-standing pitches as you enter and the remainder grass. One side is pretty level, the foot of the L slopes gently downhill. It's beautifully maintained, grass immaculately cut, very tidy and clean. The toilets were also immaculate, and far, far better than the (accurate) description of them being in a shed would lead one to expect. They had good quality soap and towels, and the ladies had a big wicker basket full of spare loo rolls, so no danger of running out. We didn't use the shower or washing-up area, but overheard nothing but positive comments from other campers.

There were quite a few dogs allowed to roam free, no-one (including us) seemed to mind. We kept ours tethered as we didn't trust her not to get into the adjoining field of sheep the minute our backs were turned.

They have the nicest fire pits I've ever seen, free to use. Logs were 5 for a big bag and a good sized bag of kindling was 3. They even have a couple of wheelbarrows to use to trundle it all back to your pitch, which was really thoughtful.

As the site has no EHU, we thought we'd be free from music etc. Sadly not. The people on the next pitch repeatedly played a selection of hits from the 60s throughout the evening! There was also a large party at the far end of the site playing dance music that carried straight across the field. This, coupled with the constant gate clanging and cars to-ing and fro-ing as takeaways were delivered and people drove into town and back to get shopping, beers etc meant the evening seemed very hectic, not the tranquil chill-out we were hoping for. It's unavoidable noise though, no reflection on the campers or the owners.

In fairness, the noise stopped early and by 10. 30 it was blissfully quiet. There was no traffic noise at all at night, and we could hear owls in the woods. It was also very quiet in the morning, great for campers who like to lie in.

The owners are lovely people, it seemed like nothing would be too much trouble for them and they are very friendly. It felt like being in a sort of outdoor social club, with constant gatherings of people laughing, chatting etc. We'd thought it would be quiet, being adults only. However, it seemed we'd hit on a night when there were a few biggish groups there, and of course that very sociable atmosphere would suit many people.

We'll go back, but will ask to pitch on the grass at the furthest end from the gate, well away from all the comings and goings.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suewarm 1 review from this member

What a great find this little site turned out to be - I'm almost reluctant to provide a review, so we don't ever have any problems booking this site! We only live about 3 miles away, and did not know it existed until this month. We booked for a long weekend on short notice, with some of our family for a birthday celebration. Lovely views, a couple of fishing ponds on site, and Julie and her husband were very welcoming. We loved this adult-only site for it's relaxed atmosphere. It's quite small with a field and hard standings. 1 shower, 1 toilet (for ladies) can't tell you what the men had in their block), and 1 sink for washing up. I never had to queue for any of these facilities, even though there was probably between 20-30 people on site. Julie is so relaxed (we hate jobsworths for rules) that we had a very chilled weekend. We will definitely be coming here again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 9 reviews from this member

Had a wonderful weekend here, it was our third visit and the owners were as welcoming as always. Love this site! Love the tranquillity, love the peace, love the big pitches, love the setting, love the location, love the relaxed atmosphere, love not having TV, love the friendliness, love being able to take the dog (who is as happy here as we are) and love planning our next visit! Can't wait to come back and see you soon. Thanks guys! It was lovely to see the site so busy, well deserved after all your hard work, the improvements you have made are worth every moment spent.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winningblue3 2 reviews from this member

We booked a one night stay in advance online and arrived at the site at around 5pm on the day. This was a test of concept trip for my girlfriend and my new tent.

The road which leads to the site is a national speed limit lane and you don't see the sign for the site until you are pretty much on top of it. On pulling up at the site gate we were met by a very warm welcome from one of the owners.

We bought supplies from Sainsburys Local, a short drive away in Crowborough and also enjoyed a takeaway from one of the many restaurants there.

Due to our unusual day/time of arrival the site was fairly full and we were advised the tent field had very little room. We were offered a large grass patch next to a vacant caravan plot instead which was great. It was very near to the toilet and shower and we were able to park right next to our tent whilst not being packed in with other campers.

Logs and kindling were available for around 8 which included the use of a fire pit. The owners were also happy to supply paper to help get things going and one of the site regulars offered up some firelighters to really get things started.

Our pitch offered a view out over an open field which was home to a few sheep. Most of the site looks out onto this and there are some really nice views as the sun sets. The site slopes slightly down towards this field but is nothing drastic by any stretch of the imagination.

The owners advised us that the facilities currently in place are only temporary and that updates were in the pipeline. There was one male and one female toilet for the site, both housed in a small block. The light switches are on top of the bulbs and this was explained on arrival but it still took me a while to find them. There are also sinks in each toilet and a hand towel was provided.

A small open shed was home to the washing up facilities. A normal sink with hot water and a draining board can be found in here.

The single shower for the site is housed in a portaloo type structure. There is a shower curtain splitting it in two leaving somewhere to hang your clothes and towel. The shower was powerful and warm. Flip flops are the way forward as the floor was wet throughout.

We had read somewhere that departure time was 10am and so set an alarm for the morning. We really wanted to sleep in a bit and just before 10 the heavens opened. I wandered over to the owners caravan offering to pay half the day rate for a late departure. My money was refused and I was told we could stay as long as we liked.

The owners were really welcoming and I felt they had a genuine desire to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I really can't fault them. This is a basic campsite with basic facilities. If you are like me then you will see that as a plus point. An extra toilet for each sex and some more showers would be a good upgrade. The facilities are currently being developed and I'm interested to see how things have progressed when we return in the future for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vauxhall 1 review from this member

Long weekend camping at this adults-only site in July. A great, if basic site. The site is a way down Hadlow Down Road and a little hard to spot from the road, marked out only by a small white sign (saying Owlsbury Park, when we visited). I'd say it is probably only accessible by car. Greeted on arrival by hosts (Jenny and Paul?)who could not be more welcoming. Apparently they have taken over the site recently, and have great plans for upgrading facilities (although the basic facilities functioned perfectly well for us).

Most of the camping field is slopped to some degree, with our three-tent set up and other visitors well spread out around the perimeter. Site drained well even after a massive storm. Felt like even when busier than our visit there would be plenty of space. The incline means those at the back - where we were - get a great view over the Downs too.

The toilets are housed in an old and rickety Portacabin-style block. A bit hard to spot at first, but like the sign says, the light switch is above the light bulb - just at the top of the fitting.

Confusingly at first, the shower is housed in what looks like an old Portaloo. While there's little or no mains power on the site, the shower by the look of it, is powered by propane and belts out hot water. If fact it can start out a little too hot. The wash-up is in the garden shed(!) and has everything you need along with a few leaflets about local attractions and activities.

Campers get to the facilities by walking back towards the gate and the proprietors' caravan and the other caravan stands.

Location-wise, your not too far by car from the local Tesco shed store on the industrial estate. Crowborough is not far away and has a few decent shops and and places to eat, and a large Morrisons.

Good selection of local pubs. The Wheatsheaf and other pubs (closest about 3/4 mile away) friendly, and most accepting of dogs - at least in beer gardens.

Lots of great walking in the area - through woods and forest, alongside and through fields of wheat, orchards and the like. We headed off for a 8 mile walk but went off course somewhere about half way through and ended up tied and dehydrated after about 10 miles up hill and down dale in hot weather! Be more prepared than we were!

Wasn't sure about how well a trip to this area would turn out, but the area is well worth exploring.

If you're looking for a chilled-out place to pitch your tent then I'm more than happy to recommend Idle Hours.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K3nda11 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a wonderful weekend at Idle Hours ( former name, 'Owlsbury' campsite ) with our two border collies. We thought the site was absolutely stunning and the facilities perfectly fine for our needs. The site itself is quite large and it was easy to find a secluded pitch and benefits from being adults only so its very peaceful indeed. The local pub and shops are a short drive away and there are plenty of nice walks off site and in the surrounding area. The new owners were extremely friendly and informative and we will definitely be returning for a another weekend of bliss.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1377 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!