Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Idle Hours Owlsbury Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Idle Hours Owlsbury Park
Hadlow Down Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 3SA
Tel: 07787945667
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20+
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights on this lovely site in rural Sussex. It was quiet with only a few others on site. Beautiful views with sheep in the next field. We slept really soundly and didn't notice any traffic from the road, aeroplanes or the animals. The only downside was the first morning I had a cold shower as the switch had been turned off and the owner could not explain this. Toilets could be updated but basically clean, powerful shower and very hot when it worked but controllable. Small shed containing the washing up area, the wooden shed door could do with sanding to erode the splinters, I got one from the edge of the door. Will definitely use this site again, the owner is lovely and very helpful with dealing with problems.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Strangebrew 1 review from this member

A very pleasant site remotely situated down a country lane. Very quiet and peaceful except for the sound of the occasional train going by in the distance. Approx 1. 5 miles to nearest pub and 2 miles to take-a-ways and Tescos.

Facilities are basic (no luxury here) but the location more than makes up for the lack of creature comforts. There are male and female loos but sinks only have cold water. One shower (with hot water) is adequate and there is a small shed with a sink within for washing up.

Main gate and toilets are normally locked with combination locks (codes supplied). Recycling area and chemical waste drain also available.

The adjacent fields have cows, sheep and next door is a vineyard. Two small ponds in the wood are available for fishing but are more suited to (accompanied) children than the serious angler.

A very nice feature though that is a pleasant, quiet place to sit and relax in the shade.

Wonderful sunsets! We spent a very enjoyable weekend here and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisbex 1 review from this member

Just returned from a two night stay at a very wet but peaceful visit to Owlsbury park,

Geraldine was wonderful with her e mails and text messages, keeping us up to date with the dryer areas to pitch the tent and then we finally caught up with each other on Sunday to pay, not hassled at all.

A lovely area and natural site. We will return to look for the deer and when the weather forecasts show no rain !

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geritwo 1 review from this member

Arrived in the rain, left in the rain. Nevertheless had a good few days stay here at reasonable cost. Easy access for all inc large units.

Lovely views and quiet, with just an occasional train down in the valley (unseen), and a few cars going down the road outside but masked by a double hedge.

Very relaxing watching the cows and sheep grazing, walked to the ponds and watched the fish feeding. Benches and tables around which is very useful esp. For tent campers.

Everything you want or need on a campsite, but without the bells and whistles some people can't do without. Added bonus of no children. Good base for sightseeing the Kent and Sussex area.

Toilets and shower etc not luxury but clean and adequate. No electric hook up as such, but solar lighting in the loos, and solar panel hook up available soon we believe.

Several hardstandings available but if you want to go further in to a grass pitch be careful where you park when it's wet (like now), as parts at the far end of the site are boggy. The owner will advise if necessary.

Lots of info sent by owner by email after original enquiry. Will definitely visit again as there's so much to do and see around here.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crooko 4 reviews from this member

This camp-site is in a beautiful spot, with lovely views. We booked a couple of bikes for the weekend and were expecting them on arrival. After pitching the tent we needed the bikes to cycle into town, but they were never delivered so we had a long walk into Jarvis Brook and the nearest pub. The Wheatsheaf is a lovely Harveys pub, with one problem it doesn't serve food on a Friday night!

The solar showers and lights are a brilliant idea except that they weren't working, so we had to have a cold shower.

If you want a basic site with basic facilities and good views then choose this one.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hildah 1 review from this member

Brilliant little site, with good basic facilities. Nice hot shower. Stayed 2 nights. Had a lovely evening enjoying a bbq, the sunset and views.

Very peaceful and cool sitting down by the ponds during a hot day. Shops a short drive away and a good pub at the end of the road plus great fish and chips a bit further on.

The calves and lambs were galloping about full of the joys of spring (in the next door field, not actually in the site).

Owner very helpful about where to go etc. Good circular walks from the site.

Will definitely come again especially during school holidays!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KIRSTYJOANNE83 1 review from this member

Best thing about this camp - Adults only which meant no balls flying into your tent, no parents screaming at children and no early wake up calls. We are a young couple but we like to relax and this was the perfect choice and a lucky find.

This is a small quaint campsite with scenic views. The area is surrounded by all types of wildlife and there are 2 fishing lakes.

The campsite has basic facilities including newly installed washing up shed to clean cutlery as well as a shower cubical with hot water. Toilets are female and male and all were cleaned to a high standard.

The campsite owners came down daily and even supplied a free ice cream on a particularly hot day which we felt gave it a very extremely friendly atmosphere.

Having never fished before we were able to go fishing with a regular and could higher equipment complete with bait from the owners for only 5.00 each (bargain). This was a new experience and I even caught a 10lb which decided to fling itself back into the lake but I was impressed that I caught a fish :)

Overall our stay I would a 10 out of 10 best campsite we have stayed and felt most comfortable and welcome.

Thank you so much and we will be coming back again in September

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stars10555 5 reviews from this member

We loved this small site, right out in the country, all trees and fields. Our staffy dog loved it too.

Loos clean and adequate, cold water only and no showers - but fine for what we wanted. (Chemical disposal point if wanted).

A very peaceful place - surrounded by cows with calves, and a flock of sheep visiting to be fed in the morning (behind the fence!). Good walks in the adjacent fields and footpaths.

Owner checking up each morning that everything was all right.

Pubs with restaurants and village shop within 15 minute drive.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Huw2705 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site, peace and quiet.The site is set in beautiful countryside setting. There are 5 member hardstanding sites, and on special occasions the field is open for non members, the owner is especially helpful in supplying a hook up generator for a nominal fee. Lovely views very friendly people.

Basic amenities ie toilet, chemical disposal and fresh running water. Unfortunately no showers. You should bear in mind this site is in the countryside so a method of transport would be favourable to access the sites around and local shops, if you would like to get away and just not worry about anything this would be an ideal site for gathering your thoughts,

there is a railway line at the bottom of the the field which can be heard but its not too loud,and you cannot see them, apart from that the only thing you hear are noises from the country ie the sheep and cows especially when its feeding time between 0930-1000, and if your really lucky the odd motorist using the road outside.

Will be using the site again, set in idyllic countryside with Crowborough approx 20min drive.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

This is an absolute gem of a site. Overlooking a shallow wooded valley, the silence (except for the occasional munch from a cow or baaa from a sheep) is wonderful.

The toilets are basic but clean and as others have said there are no showers or EHU. Personally Id rather have the quiet and the brilliant location (it took me just an hour to drive from London and it was 35 mins to Brighton).

The owner a real pleasure to talk to and told me she has run sites before - and it shows - also she reduced the nightly price because it was just me and the campervan. Another review mentioned the hardstandings were under trees - I think they must have now been pruned as there were no issues with the hardstandings.

Very highly recommended, I will be back.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019