Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Woodbridge Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Woodbridge Inn Reviews

The Woodbridge Inn
North Newnton
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 6JZ
Tel: 01980 630266
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnson558 1 review from this member

 Just come back from weekend at woodbridge. Had been before but found landlord to be very grumpy.

There is a new landlord here now and could not do enough for you, very friendly pub doing lovely meals at sensible prices.

Field is flat at top, slops in middle and flat at bottom with river running through. Good facilities perfectly adequate for size of field, gents with 2 showers. 1 toilet and 2 urinals.

Will def be going back 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tickleoria 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely setting and is conveniently placed right next to the pub.

We had a meal with friends in the pub which was good value for money, but was nothing that special. Pretty typical deep fried pub fare.

I have to say I agree with the previous review in as much as the landlord is not the most cheerful person I have ever met! However, he also wasn't in and out of the campsite being jobsworthy which made a refreshing change from some other campsites.

I did think it was pricey for a CC though- 17 a night for a caravan with no hook up or 8. 50 per person in a tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thesabs 2 reviews from this member

 I see all the reviews are for 2012 which is why they are all good. My husband & and a party of friends stayed here in 2012, it was brilliant! very laid back atmosphere.

Quite adequate clean facilities plus a great pub serving good food and ales including breakfasts!

This year we all wanted to stay there again, and realising the landlord and landlady had changed I rang in good time to book our pitches and that was no problem, I asked about using the firepit as per 2012 and was told that was fine. We arrive to find the pub closed all day on a Monday! and a very surly landlord (I later found out) who seemed a bit fed up we'd even arrived??? We all smiled at him as we booked in, but I don't think he cracked a smile the whole time we were there!

We all (17 of us)sat down together one evening for a meal in the pub (I had pre arranged this with the landlady) but unfortunately the food didn't live up to 2012 standards, I have to say my meal was OK, but some of the others weren't that happy, but didn't complain for some reason (I would have!)

We must have spent well over 200 there altogether, so he should have been very pleased, but no! firstly he banned us from having the firepit, then tried to accuse us of stealing the toilet rolls when I had to tell him neither the gents or ladies had any in! I am also pretty sure the shower block wasn't cleaned the whole week we were there.

A good site but with poor and very grumpy management, so sadly we wont be going there next year I'm afraid. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SlowTravels 5 reviews from this member

 Simply outstanding site, electric hook up at the top of the field behind the pub, river running through the field at the bottom.

The showers/toilets are in a prefab unit, very clean, good showers, may not look the greatest thing from the outside but they certainly are more than ideal for the job.

Can't rate this place highly enough, landlord of the pub is very friendly and food in the pub was very very good.

We will be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Francis 2 reviews from this member

 Nice relaxed campsite, lovely setting, toilet facilities although a portable cabin type were clean and the showers had good pressure. Small play area for Children in the pub garden and ponies in the paddock to provide extra entertainment. Stream for fishing if that's your thing.

Nice pub with good quality food and friendly service.

Highly recommended and we will be regulars here for weekend breaks! :-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lunny71 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the weekend of the 21st/22nd arriving on the Friday afternoon in a tent with my two daughters. Cracking weather (summer has arrived at last!) and no problem booking an extra night on the Sunday.

Really nice campsite behind the pub with a small river curving its way round at the edge. Shower block is more than adequate and there is a mini adventure playground for the kids.

We used it as a base to visit Stonehenge and Avebury. Didn't eat in the pub as there are plenty of options in the area but the food looked good. My kids loved the site and we will be back soon.

Warmly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marehoot 1 review from this member

 A lovely little spot and pub with pretty gently sloping camping area. Flat area next to the hedge row which is for elec hook up and basically pitch tents anywhere you like after that. Clean tidy toilet/shower block. 2 showers and 2 toilets for the ladies. Cant tell you about the mens!

Hot water constantly. I visited the toilet block at 6. 15am and it had already been cleaned.

Good food in the pub along with good beer. Very helpful and friendly staff. Although the steaks served on skillets could have settled a little longer in the kitchen, rather than smoke the whole pub out.

Not much for children to do though. No shops on the doorstep but they are not far away. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fernman 19 reviews from this member

 Selected this site because of all the good reviews, but have to admit I was a mite disappointed.

Basically it is a long narrowish field stretching away from the pub. It is level along the left side, which is for EHUs and this backs onto a B road that is used as a cut through by many vehicles early mornings. The middle of the field slopes so it is unusable, and then it is level again along the side where the little river is. This is where non-EHU tents can go, though you need to avoid trees that will drip on you after rain.

The new facilities that previous reviewers have praised are something like a portable cabin with a code to get in. New, yes, but each sex only has one WC, two showers and one miniscule hand basin (plus two urinals for the gents), and that is why I was disappointed, though admittedly the back door of the pub was always open early in the morning, so you could use the toilets in there if you needed to.

The pub has decent beer and nice food, similarly the Antelope down the road at Pewsey though there we found the service a bit slow. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fireball68 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 3 days camping here.

Found that the camp site was ideal as a base if you wanted to visit surrounding areas, but if you wanted to chill out around your tent there was nothing to do for the kids.

Facilities were spotless and had an electrical socket for hair dryers, but if the campsite was full we would of been fighting over 1 toilet and 2 showers (ladies).

Considering that it was a field attached to the pub with limited amenities found it a little bit on the pricey side.

Food in pub was excellent, but again a little bit pricey.  


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie and Ade 1 review from this member

 This camp-site although small, is in a beautiful location with the river Avon meandering along its lower boundary. It is ideally situated for anyone who wants to explore the beauty that Wiltshire offers. The Landlord of the Woodbridge Inn, (who's grounds the Camp-site are in) is extremely approachable, friendly & helpful.

The facilities are immaculate & in good working order, plenty of hot water on tap & superb showers.

There are no dish washing facilities on site, perhaps this could be something worth considering in the future.

There appears to be a playground within the grounds for Children to enjoy & pony's in the paddock for petting. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Woodbridge Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Woodbridge Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Woodbridge Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement