Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Woodbridge Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Woodbridge Inn Reviews

The Woodbridge Inn
North Newnton
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 6JZ
Tel: 01980 630266
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daisy_Bumbleroot 6 reviews from this member

 Smashing place between Stonehenge (£7. 50 each and a lot of tourists) and Avebury (£5 for the car park and much more chilled out!).

We rang up on the morning (aug bank holiday) and got lucky, there was a free spot with hookup for 2 nights. It was £12 a night for our little campervan and 2 people. I only had enough money to pay for one night but the kind lady said we could pay the next day (when my pay landed in the bank).

Squared up the next day and later on asked if we could add another night to our stay, which was fine.

Showerblock is clean and has a lock on the door. The pub was a little pricey (£6. 60 ish for a pint of beer and cider) and we didn't try the food, but I overheard s group saying it is usually busy in there for the food.

There is a little stream at the bottom with a swan and ducks. All in all a very nice, peaceful site in the middle of the countryside and we would definitely like to go back  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rod_vw 3 reviews from this member

 We found The Woodbridge campsite purely by accident, just by a glance to the right as we travelled towards Devizes.

Perhaps a note to all sites, better signage, the continental 'Motor Home' symbol would please us as thatís what we are used to looking for in Europe.

Smashing site with 5 EHUs on the level grass top part but more level(ish) space nearer the river, good clean toilet & shower block with unlimited hot water.

Only minor downside is the road noise but that didn't worry us.

The pub food was excellent as was the welcome by the owner. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hedges 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Small and compact and not the flattest site I've visited but perfectly workable. The site only has about 5 EHU's so if you require one, book up.

We just turned up and were lucky, EHU and all for £14. The site is a sort of 'wedge' shape, wide at the entrance, narrowing towards the back and gently slopping from left to right.

The brand new toilet and shower block was spotless, and considering the site caters for about 20ish pitches is more than adequate.

The site is behind the picturesque pub, 'the Woodbridge Inn', and on arrival was greeted in a warm and friendly manner. It was a Sunday, so was offered food and the landlord explained the menu. One for lunch, one snack afternoon and an evening menu.

Real ales, ciders and good wine aplenty with various beer and cider festivals planned. Couple of beers and off to the pitch. Looking about there is a very small copse of trees not quite in the middle and a trout stream meandering along one edge of the site and a pay and fish trout fishery beyond that (fees apply).

Back in the pub for the evening meal which was spot on. The only negative I could possibly aim at the site in general is the pub is an eating pub with very little area for just relaxing with a beer, but hay hoe. If that's the worst.

Lots to do locally with lots of info in the pub. We will definitely return and I urge you to try it. Its wonderful. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sfk1964 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 days camping here, with the exception of the weather it was great.

PLUS POINTS. Price £10 a night is good value, good food served at the pub (including breakfasts at the weekend), ideal quiet location which is centrally placed for touring etc, friendly landlord and family, dog friendly etc etc etc

MINUS POINTS. Really can only think of one minor point and that is that there are no washing up facilities.

Very clean and well orginised loos and shower block with plenty of hot water and electrical sockets for hair dryers too.

Paul and the staff were so very heplful and friendly, even lending us some cutlery when we had left ours at home!Will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Delboya 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with another couple, both in caravans, over the Royal Wedding weekend. I agree with all the comments made by other reviewers in that it is lovely site, and will go there again.

Surrounding area very picturesque and plenty to see/do. Site is on a crossroads of two roads which got busy at times, but noise was not intrusive.

Landlord very friendly, and some good beer in the pub. Didn't eat there, but what we saw of the meals, they looked great.

The site was very busy - I don't think many more could have been catered for, and there was still no queues for the toilet/shower facilities. The facilities were immaculate at all times, even though there were quite a few young kids around. No dishwashing facilities, but not a serious problem.

Highly recommended, and at £14 for a large caravan with ehu, it's good value. Hot water in the showers is included. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladykat1980 1 review from this member

 We had no idea what to expect when we turned up at this campsite as the pictures on the Woodbridge Inn website didn't make it look that great but we were more than pleasantly surprised to turn up to this lovely, tranquil, picturesque campsite.

There is a lovely river running through the campsite which really added to its appeal especially as there were moorhens and fish around.

We loved the fact that the campsite was in the grounds of a country pub - we ate there on the Saturday night and had breakfast there in the morning. Great pub grub (although the sizzling steaks can smoke you out a bit. Haha)

There are loads of picnic tables in the pubs grounds and a playground and sandpit for the kids.

The owners are more than friendly and very helpful with any queries or recommendations on local attractions.

The toilet/Shower facilities are perfectly acceptable and are kept very clean. They are a little lacking in number when the campsite is full but not so that they would cause a huge delay.

I would thoroughly recommend this site and hope to return in the future 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joaquinfan 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic picturesque site, very friendly owners, reasonably priced (large tent, two people, no EHU £10 per night).

Very relaxed, with no hard and fast rules, or pitches for that matter! When we booked we expressed an interest in pitching down by the River. We were told that we could pretty much go where we liked, but if we wanted EHU that was only at the top of the field.

Most of the site is flat, but we noticed as it started getting busier that some tents had to pitch on slightly sloping ground.

The owners also run the pub that the campsite is behind. On weekends and bank holidays you can order breakfasts there, from a continental to a full English. We ate there twice, and while the food won't win any Michelin stars it was good quality, good portions and well priced.

The toilet block was fairly small; two showers and one toilet per sex. But even though the site was pretty full (bank holiday weekend) we never had to queue to use them and it seems for the most part people cleaned up after themselves with the mop provided. The owner goes in there to clean at 1am when the pub shuts.Bless him.

Worth pointing out there that are no dish washing facilities in here, I did see a couple of people carry their dishes up to the toilet block, but we just boiled a kettle and washed up in a trug tub!

Our pitch down by the river was exactly what we wanted; away from the humdrum of the rest of the site, private, peaceful with lots of wildlife to watch.

Would definitely come here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lin Eely 1 review from this member

 We went to this campsite for two nights, before going the owner rung to answers some questions I had sent in an email, he was very help.

When we got there they were just as helpful and pleasant, a good information sheet was given out, the choice of were to pitch was up to us, the pitch was really nice, very clean, lovely stream running at the bottom.

It felt very rural, calm setting. The shower block was very clean, the shower lovely. We had a lovely meal in the pub one evening, a good mixture of food, which was very hot and fresh, it was very friendly in the pub, very pleasant setting.

The only small negative is the sound from road, but that was only when very quiet in morning. There was a lot of wild life to see and hear. Will definitely use this site again before the winter sets in. 


Date of Visit: August 2010  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 250 reviews from this member

 I stayed here as two campervans with two adults and two kids. The site is dead easy to find and located near main roads, however I did not hear them at all and the site was overall very peaceful.

Check-in was in the pub and we were met by the friendly landlord who took the details and explained the facilities etc and told us to pitch where we fancied

The site is fairly flat and some pitches are on a slope, but the site is quite large so this is not a problem at all. If you want ehu, you need to pitch along the top fence, however if you want a riverside or woodland side pitch, these are available too to non ehu users.

The river is not raging, and was very mellow, and there was a few pitches hidden away in sheltered areas next to the river, they looked stunning, but were taken when we were there

The toilets and showers were modern, clean and very effective. Entry is by keycode and a mop and bucket were provided for after your shower.

The pub provided the usual range of beers, wines and spirits and they do food too. The menu was not the most expansive I have seen, but there was something for everyone. I ordered the Surf and Turf and the steak came as they provided it, without asking, and it was extremely pink and bloody, I like my steak like this, but it is something to be aware of if ordered steak and you like it cooked. Good value meals though and reasonably priced drinks too.

Site close to Devizes for all your bits and pieces and shopping etc and close to all the attractions Wiltshire has to offer

I would come back, a good site with plenty of space, quiet and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiftrixibelle 1 review from this member

 Couldn't agree more with all the other comments.

We visited with another family, all in all there were 10 of us in 2 tents, 4 adults and 6 children. We had a wonderful time. The toilets and showers were spotless and the staff were on the case with cleaning and refilling the loo rolls. We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night. The adults in our party had delicious sirloin steaks and I had the warm beetroot and goats cheese salad. The children were well catered for as all the food was lovingly homemade. No shop bought fish fingers here! It was a shame that the children's play area was closed due to breakages but they were most apologetic and had called out people to fix it the very same day. We took toys for the children that were not required as they just played on the field and down by the lovely trout stream!

The only downside was that we couldn't stay longer as we could only manage 2 nights over a weekend.

I was thrilled that this site was so lovely as it was our friends first introduction to camping.

A lovely memorable weekend and we will definitely return! I cannot recommend this site more highly! 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Woodbridge Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Woodbridge Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Woodbridge Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement