Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Little Wood Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Chipping Sodbury > Little Wood Park Reviews

Little Wood Park
Mapleridge Lane
Chipping Sodbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
BS37 6PB
Tel: 01454 294256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 39 Reviews
                7/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roots1957 1 review from this member

Delighted with this park, could find no fault with anything at all. We had a fabulous three days we played golf, boules (our own), swam, played darts, table tennis, and walked to the nearby nature reserve. The showers and toilets were immaculately kept as were the grounds. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michaelk 3 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights at short notice, the site used to be a private members club and has now decided to open to general public over the last couple of years. The site is immaculate! very charming and the owners are very proud of the standard. There is a mini golf course, indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool amongst the best small garden areas we have seen incorporating a small woodland walk for dogs.

You are greeted by Hillary and Allen and briefed regarding rules and site facilities. They are just getting used to welcoming dogs and campers and seem a little worried you may not respect the site and therfore reiterate the rules! don't blame them. I think this is because they are so proud of what they have achieved. If you decide to visit Woodlands ensure you are respectful.

Once we were given a choice of available pitches we were not disturbed at any time and were grateful for other site users being so friendly. There is a club house with beautiful outdoor area and bingo/social scene for guests who take own drink. Bingo etc and all meet to socialise. We had our dog with us and the night time was cold so could not join in. I used the indoor pool and it was fantastic, if the weather was warmer the outdoor pool would be great. There are secure gates and the site is very safe. You are given a code to enter etc.

I have to say the shower block and toilets / washing and laundry area were immaculate and the best we have seen. There are washing / drying facilities on site for laundry.

You cannot walk to town or shops, but Chipping Sodbuery very nice. We went to Bath for afternoon it only took 30 mins and was worth seeing the historical city. Loads of supermarkets close by. The site is private, quiet and ideal for adults looking for tranquill setting for weekend.

We never had a chance to say thank you! when leaving so left note on door for owners.

There were some long standing residents and staff who were delightful.

21 a night bargain! The place makes you discuss what is was like before as private club! There is no naturism what so ever. Nice site and people, but remember you are a guest and they are so proud.

Thanks

Mick

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnny Smith 2 reviews from this member

What a surprise! peaceful, beautiful, and friendly site hidden away from view. Not big, but still manages to provide ample amenities and well groomed fully serviced pitches. Good freeview reception (provided your arial is high enough but we did find a problem with our phones. Some road noise but not enough to disturb us. Good security on site. Owners Alan and Hilary very friendly and helpful as is all the staff. Adult only site which now accepts dogs on leads and has a good dog walk on site.

Heated indoor pool, unheated outdoor pool. Various games available at no extra cost BBQ area, pavilion.

Site within easy reach of M4 & M5 and well placed for touring/visiting Bristol, Bath and the Cotswolds.

Shopping within a 2 mile drive with a large Waitrose store in the lovely market town on Chipping Sodbury or an even larger Tesco within a large modern shopping centre with Esso fuel station at Yates within 2 miles of campsite.

3 Minor quibbles, the lack of a changing facility near the pools, no facility to pay by credit/debit cards and not enough rubbish disposal bins for what is fast becoming a busy site.

We will certainly be returning to this site in future.

Advance booking is essential

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicksue 3 reviews from this member

After reading a few reviews we loved what was written and the photos of the site was lovely too. When we arrived we were met with a lovely welcome from the site owners who were very helpful with everything, the site is very well layed out very clean. And it is lovely and quiet for toatal relaxation. Really it is one of the best sites we have stayed at, there is so much to do and see around the site with lots to do and see just outside the site. So we would say that what ever you would want out of a caravan park you wouldnt be dissapointed. We can also recomend that you should pay a little visit and love it as much as we did, looking forward to our next visit

Thank you so much nick and sue

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Don7 1 review from this member

Great campsite, cannot understand anyone who would complain lovely polite owners and excellent all round facilities will definitely be returning soon. Each pitch is well kept and laid out well with most separated by small bushes the owners are working hard to ensure you receive the best for your money. Well done Dave and Hilary and thank-you for a great stay.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldbri 2 reviews from this member

Please don't take any notice of the few who moan and groan about anything that isn't quite right.

This adults only site is great, but lets get a few bits out of the way first - Yes there is a certain amount of background noise, guns, dogs, road noise but none is unacceptable and what do you expect in the countryside (not many sites are perfectly quiet after all). Yes there are a few little bits that can be improved but the owners are working hard to turn this from a naturist site to textile and lets be honest it's not an overnight job.

The owners are the friendliest people you could wish to meet, likewise for their staff. The new pitches are more than big enough for your caravan etc. Yes the roadway looks narrow but believe me there is more than enough room, looks can be deceiving and with the electronic gates, what could be more secure.

Someone moaned about the 'rules' what site doesn't have site rules for goodness sake, nothing out of the ordinary there (possibly the 'no clothes airers' could be relaxed) but there are airers available.

The cost is near the top end of the scale, but I have paid more and considering the 2 pools, mini tennis, chip and putt, boules and clubhouse (no bar) the price is more than reasonable. The toilets showers are spotless and I loved every minute of my stay.

Now this is not a gripe but the changing area in the showers could be a bit bigger, but if you don't like it use your caravan shower and I managed no problem.

The site is well looked after and with the amount of greenery it amazed me how it was kept so nice.

Chipping Sodbury is 5 mins in the car and worth a visit, large supermarkets are another 5 mins further. I am not a drinker so I can't comment on the pubs but I saw several in or near Chipping Sodbury.

Just don't make the same mistake as me, I booked a service pitch (water waste) but a service pitch is EHU only, this was no problem as I upgraded when I found out and got what I wanted.

All in all this site is excellent, would I go again, definitely but in a few years (I like to try different areas).

Well done to Hillary and Dave the site is a credit to you and your staff.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Agjb 5 reviews from this member

Wow, what a find this lovely caravan park is! The friendliest welcome, beautiful grounds- idyllic even- peaceful, the cleanest facilities I've ever come across and just generally a lovely place to be. We only stayed two nights, but we'll be back for sure. Can't recommend it enough.

Also, Chipping Sodbury is a very lovely town, full of character and interesting corners to explore.

On arrival, don't be put off by the fact you see a caravan storage area before you enter the electric gates. Once you're in, its fabulous. Mentioning electric gates, the whole site is very secure too.

All round, a great find and a big thank you to the owners.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Westy20 4 reviews from this member

You cannot please some people after reading some reviews. Yes its true there is room for improvement, but this site is in transition from a former Naturist to what is now a very good adult only site. Its different in its layout because of its former use, but this makes it unique. The owners are very friendly, and can take a joke. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit this last week and intend to do it again, As for 'complaints' about guns being fired and being noisy, it's a park in the country, what would you expect? Go with an open mind. It's very pleasant. Colin West, Swindon

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wgstewartross 3 reviews from this member

It was interesting to read the previous reviews which are so mixed. We also found good and bad points and will not be returning any time soon. There are too many rules and regulations with notices all over the place to do this and not to do that. Although the owners are very pleasant on the outside they can be very unpleasant if the rules are broken. One inch off your pitch or on the grass can result in a heated telling off. It is important to know exactly how long you expect to stay as you have to pay up front before you can get to a pitch, and if like us you have to leave early there is no way you can expect any refund. The toilet block is reasonable but not up to modern standards and you can only get WiFi in

A rather tatty recreation hut. The Wardens were helpful and friendly in contrast to the owners.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cdenham 4 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Toilets spotless, a pity the showers weren't a bit larger, not really enough room to get dressed afterwards. Improving the site is ongoing, enlarging pitches and planting flowers and shrubs. Will be great when finished. Indoor and the outdoor pool. Were not open when we were there so cannot comment on them. Chipping Sodbury, a couple of miles away is a lovely market town. Will definitely return in the future for the piece and quiet.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chipping Sodbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019