Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clippenham Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Clippenham Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Clippenham Camping
Clippenham Farm
Foul Mile
Cowbeech Road
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clare Buchanan 2 reviews from this member

 We are just back from a 2 night weekend stay at Clippenham Farm. We were with a fairly large group, with 5 tents in total, and it was great to be able to all pitch up together round a fire pit. We were able to unload our cars at our pitches, and drove them to the car park later. Not all campers followed this policy though, and I was startled when I went to the loo at 7 in the morning when one family from the other end of the field drove up to the loos across the middle of the field! As it was very misty and you couldn't see very far, I thought this was rather unsafe! The atmosphere of the site is great - really back to basics, with pitches quite far apart so you can relax and not feel crowded in with other campers.

The opportunity to have a real campfire was fantastic, as many sites don't allow it. We restrained out toddler in her buggy by the fire, and both nights she chilled out there until she decided she wanted to go to bed. A much easier option than trying to enforce her normal bedtime! Marshmallows were toasted, songs were sung, stars were gazed at, hot chocolate/wine was consumed, altogether wonderful!

I would say that my only gripe was that the facilities are not reflected in the pricing structure. We stayed at another campsite with toilet and shower block, electricity etc for less money earlier in the week. However, they wouldn't let us have a campfire, so I guess it all evens out! I am not personally a fan of portaloos, and the shower didn't seem to get warm enough for me (I'm a wuss and like it hot), so I didn't attempt a shower. I think this is ok for a couple of nights, but I wouldn't want to stay for longer, purely due to the showering facilities. I know - I'm picky! With better washing/toilet facilities I would be happy to stay for a week or longer.

Overall, we had a great weekend, and the site is fantastic for groups who want the round the campfire experience. We probably wouldn't come back if it was just our family, at least until the kids are a bit older, as there are other sites fairly locally that offer more facilities for similar or less money. I'd definitely be up for coming again as a group though, as it's just right for that.

Oh, and the Merrie Harriers (15 mins walk) has a brilliant beer garden, and serves jugs of Pimms. Marvellous. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hayzelbunkle 1 review from this member

 Me and my family stayed at Clippenham farm last night and it was absolutely brilliant! We had a woodland pitch which we set three 4-man tents up in and would have been space for more. The ground was level and clear so was easy to set up. The pitch gave you the sense of privacy but with the convenience of portaloos, showers and sinks to wash up in just a short walk away.

From our pitch there was a pathway going further into the woods, which led on to a nice walk down through fields and to a river, we accidentally walked to far and ended up in a fishery!

Will definitely be returning to this site in the future! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jam_Man 10 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 2 days from this 'Eco camping experience' which is something new to us.

We never camp without electric normally but due to late notice and lack of other options settled for this site, and we were very surprised.

Arrived at site expecting a basic affair and that's what we got. On arrival the gate has a small sign and no mention of a campsite (although a paper one was put up when we were there). There is just a mud road into site which during rain could be a struggle to navigate, I had a problem pulling my trailer through the site with wheelspinning etc.

Site was pretty much empty and told we could pitch anywhere, there were about 10 mowed pitches, the rest overgrown with wild grass etc for the natural look. Pitched up on a flat pitch. Campsite got busy the next day but the big field (a long field rather than square)never felt too busy despite this.

So facilities! Well there's the Eco part. Two none flushing toilets (ie the waste goes into a hole beneath the loo and you cover it with sawdust). Now we were camping with none campers and we found these extremely funny and also frightening, but when you use them they actually weren't bad. Not nice, but not smelly and fine as long as you don't look down. It smells like a having a poo in a rabbit hutch if anything.

There is one shower which is essentially outdoors and a cubicle surrounded by a tarp. Our party said they would never use it, yet all did and said it was actually fine.

The campfires were really nice and really made the campsite in the evening. Despite what is said earlier there are no firepits, you just build your fire where you like and the owners come round with wood at the end of the day and sell it for 5 a bucket (two were needed for a full evening we found). Very enjoyable way to enjoy the evening and kids loved it.

Nothing there for kids, ours enjoyed a little walk but other than that there's nothing to entertain them.

Noise wasn't policed and there were some noisy people on the site although generally quiet after 10pm. However we had a guy and two teenagers chatting loudly at nearly 2am and nothing was done. I wonder if you had someone playing loud music whether the owners would intervene?

The site seems to be fairly new ? Signs went up and recyling area was developed when we were there.

Positives :

Picturesque

Camp fires

Eco loos/showers certainly an experience!

Negatives :

Only two loos were not enough

Same with only one shower.

Toilets were blocked one one occasion and full on another. Owners need to keep on top

'Road' needs to be developed.

No kids area.

Overall a great experience and really enjoyed it and expect this site to develop over time to become even better. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juniacroode 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

Stayed there with my 5 year-old for four days and had a lovely time.

We were warmly welcomed by Niamh, who was a genuinely warm and lovely lady. The reception area is a giant tent that has daily papers, maps, and a few games, etc. Very cool and I could see it as a fun place to hang out if you were in a group and the weather wasn't fantastic.

When we went to our field there was not a single other tent in it, and it was huge! Amazing for the middle of August, but very welcomed. We had use of a lovely fire pit, a big hole in the ground. Was perfect. Wood was a normal 5 per bag which is a standard rate.

Facilities were basic, but clean. Outdoor sinks for washing up, etc and portaloos and portaloo showers.

We took some lovely walks through the woods surrounding the fields, which are all part of the site. We even saw a fox peeping out of a hole! Had we had more time at the site I think we would have built a den in the woods as some people had obviously done, very cool.

Nearby you are spoilt for choice for what to do. We visited Battle Abbey, Pevensey Castle and the beach. There are plenty of nearby villages and larger ones like Hailsham which has a Tesco, etc.

The pricing was fine for us as it was just one adult and one child. I can imagine with each adult paying 10 it would be expensive with a larger family given the basic-ness of the site. However, for us, it was really great value.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to go back again in the future! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kittyg23 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Clippenham for a couple of nights as a group of 4 adults and 4 kids and had a wonderful time. It is very peaceful and secluded which is just what we were looking for. Each pitch has its own firepit dug into the ground so we had a great evening cooking, chatting, laughing etc. We, and our children, loved it. A true camping experience in a well run site. The toilet/shower facilities are basic but if that isnt a bother to you then this site is perfect as it is spacious and friendly. Good local pub, supermarkets in Hailsham, terrific scenery, castles, cathedrals, beaches. Loved it and will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcdoodyone2 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a lovely relaxing break away back to basics, literally a field with a few loos and a shower, all clean and working. Washing up facilities too.

Most importantly all pitches have a fire pit which for us is a must, we were able to sit out by the fire until late both nights just chilling out. Great.

No noise, complete relaxation.

There is lots of space between pitches so no worries about being too close to your neighbours.

We wandered down to the local pub, a 15 minute walk away in the village and found a nice friendly atmosphere and staff.

All in all a great little campsite being run by the owner Niamh, who has great ideas and enthusiasm for the future. We would recommend this site if you want back to basics and an open fire, if you are looking for toilet blocks etc stay away! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M Clarke 1 review from this member

 I visited Clippenham Camping for a weekend with friends and our kids aged 8-12 and we all had a grand time, enjoyed the lovely setting and the opportunity to get together round a campfire.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the site was spacious and safe, and facilities were good (although quite dependent on the weather as the washing facilities were open to the elements).

One thing I would say is that we thought we had booked a woodland pitch but in fact we were in a field, and although the woods were close by it wasn't what we expected.

An organised kids activity on the Saturday was a big hit, as were walks through the surrounding fields and woods. Would definitely recommend to anyone 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sylviahowieson 1 review from this member

 Great campsite. Not too busy yet. Facilities clean and just right for a simple weekend away from London. Poured with rain but we managed to find the science museum 10 mins drive away. Kids aged between 3-15 would love it!

Merry Harriers - perfect pub grub - lambs liver, red mackeral, pork belly and great kids menu too - proper meatballs and spaghetti!

We'll be back, owners just lovely!

Despite the rain we had a brilliant time. The bell tent and facilities would be perfect for non camping mates to join us. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dewarma 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a great weekend at Clippenham. I would highly recommend this campsite for families who just want to get away.

All sites have fire pits and there is a large spacing between sites so you don't feel like you're on top of each other.

Nieve was a great hostess and goes out of her way to ensure you have a great stay. Although the website states that you have to wheel barrow your equipment to the site, we were able to drive in and drop our stuff off and then park in the car park.

Although the facilities are basic, they are very clean and certainly sufficient.

We also walked to the local pub Merrier Mariners which has a large play area in the back for kids. There were 3 families on this trip and we're definitely looking to go back in Sept. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ROYSTONP 1 review from this member

 A lovely time in a great little place. We went with 15 friends and many small children. It is absolutely perfect and a great adventure.

There are proper fire pits and little wood and the bell tent field is set up perfectly, with a sheltered dining/ cooking area and good although basic showers and toilets.

Away from it all in a lovely part of the world and not too expensive. Daily papers in the entrance tent too!

The bell tents are already erected and very comfy - they have futons and little beds in them and we got a great night's sleep. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement