Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clippenham Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Clippenham Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Clippenham Camping
Clippenham Farm
Foul Mile
Cowbeech Road
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sherwoodcamping 1 review from this member

 Camping as it should be - back to basics, natural, tons of space. Designated spaces for 20 or so tents with fire pits. Massive field and woodland and fields to explore. Portaloo toilet and cold water shower is all part of the experience and the children loved it. Lots of space, peace and quiet and friendly owner. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glen H 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a three night stay at Clippenham with my six year old son.

When we arrived we had a very warm welcome from Naimh. It turned out we had a nine acre field to ourselves as a number of people had cancelled on her at short notice due to the weather forecast.

My son had a whale of a time running round the field and woods. He's not used to having so much space! As we were the only ones there it was very safe for him. He was happy to see rabbits, pheasants, crows etc.

Despite no facilities for him (apart from some football goals we found in the neighbouring field on the last day of our stay), he was quite content to entertain himself or help with the camp fire cooking.

The fire pits were a big plus for us. The site is very clean with plenty of space. Very nice countryside around.

Only a short drive to Hailsham or Eastbourne.

My only gripes. In the ideal world would like to see plumbed in toilets and hot water for showers/washing up.

One small thing, would be handy to have plugs for the washing up sinks/wash block.

Apart from that a big thumbs up to Naimh and her husband.

Would definitely go back again but without the hot water would not stay longer than 2/3 nights like we did this time. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Royc111 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights in early August. What a gem! It wasn't too busy, but the camping field is so big, you can't even see people at the other end! There is plenty of room here - lots of space between pitches. There were several portaloo's, and a cold portashower, as well as a sink/washing up area at one end of the field. Bags of wood are available too.

The owner was extremely helpful and friendly, and was happy to tell us about the local area. Even provided discount vouchers for the local pub - the Merrie Harriers - food is great.

The campsite is lovely - and you can walk through the woods and other fields where there are some stunning views!

We had clear skies and the stars were amazing. We also had thunder/lightning one night, which was an experience!

We have already booked our next trip! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NickC2 1 review from this member

 My 10yr old son and I stayed at Clippenham for a weekend this summer and our only regret was that we didn't have time to stay longer - but we'll certainly be going back. The campsite and facilities are low-key - facilities are basic - but this is all to its benefit - it's back to nature as camping should be.

The campsite is part of and surrounded by beautiful countryside. It includes a small, unspoilt woodland - great for exploring at dusk.

We were left to choose where we wanted to pitch in the huge camping field which was also a bonus. Our closest neighbour was about 200m away!

To cap it all, the owner is super friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended if back to basics camping is your forte.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjcaracas 2 reviews from this member

 Have just had a fantastic weekend at Clippenham with a group of friends. Beautiful rural site with campfires, loads of space and woods for the kids to play in. Basic, but very clean facilities. The owner was extremely hospitable and couldn't do enough for us. Thanks very much for a great chilled out weekend.

In detail:

The site is arranged in two fields with a reception tent in the third field, all close to the owners' farmhouse. (Our car is long and low, but had no problems getting in and out of the field. ) One field has two bell tents which are available for hire, a cooking shelter and gazebo, a portable loo and sink. In the other field there are three sinks, two portaloos a washing shelter with butlers sink and a cold portable shower (refreshing on a warm morning!). There are several adjoining fields and woods surrounding also owned by the farm which are good for exploring.

We didn't venture further afield but understand the Merrie Harriers (a good pub) is a short walk away. The owner often has eggs available, but the nearest big supermarket is probably between 5 and 10 minutes drive. Beautiful countryside all around (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) and loads of things to do with or without kids within a 30 min drive, even on wet days. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rshiels 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic bank holiday weekend camping here. The ability to have a camp fire was a real bonus and made the weekend. There was also a beer and music festival on at the local pub (The Merrie Ferrier).

The pub was about a 15 minute walk away. The owner was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The facilities are basic, but the countryside, walking and campfire more than make up for it.

Would recommend the camp site as the pitches are far apart and you don't feel you are on top of each other. It was a perfect escape from London and only and hour and half’s drive.

Will be returning again next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campinglover1974 1 review from this member

 Spent an amazing weekend at Clippenham, lots of free space in the middle for children to play.

Beautiful fields and amazing woods, which our kids loved exploring.

Being able to sit around a real camp fire melting marshmallows was a lovely added extra as many sites don't allow this. Spacious, quiet and a pub 10 minutes down the road!

Owner is lovely willing to help in anyway, toilet facilities were always clean, non smelly and always had more then enough toilet rolls Overall amazing stay will definitely be going back next year and recommending! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baden Powell 2 reviews from this member

 Another fantastic weekend with our small group of Dads and kids ranging from 8 to 15. Very rarely saw them, unless they were hungry, as there are acres of woods and fields to have adventures.

One 'softie' hired a bell tent and decided it was money well spent as he watched us packing all our gear away.

Weather pretty dire but there were good shelter areas this year and a roaring fire kept us warm in the evening.

The lovely owner was always on hand to deal with any problem but there were none. See you next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TRT1968 12 reviews from this member

 Facilities were rudimentary - simply sinks and porta-loos in the field, along with a cold shower unit, but this is a site for camping, not glamping. The site caters only for tents and small camper-vans which is fine; the track to the farm is unsuitable for any vehicle with a low ground clearance by the way. I felt that at £10 per head per night, the site was in the middle ground on the value for money side.

What this site does have, though, is space. This is one of the few sites that can cater for a large group, and the owner allows camp fires (in the designated pits, but there are no shortage of these, one to each pitch).

The pitches are clean and stone free, the ground was exceptionally soft when we were there, and only long continental V-pegs seemed to stay firm, but in drier weather standard pegs would do fine. There is a power line running above a couple of the fields, so no kites, but it is far enough away from the pitches to be no bother.

There is a reception tent with a few board games, maps and a supply of toilet roll and other essential non-perishables. There are also discount vouchers available for food at a local public house.

We got there at possibly the wettest time of the year, so there were no other campers, only a wedding party in the bell tents. The campsite owner is truly amazing; she is the most accommodating camp owner I've ever met - happy to lend a hand with anything, nothing seemed too much trouble from taking photos to carrying luggage to providing kindling, firewood and newspaper. She even brought back milk for us, but I think this was because we were the only people idiotic/brave enough to risk the weather.

The woodland areas of the farm are currently under development as an additional feature/activity possibly. The owner is naturally concerned that excessive use of the woodland would drive the wildlife away, but is keen to allow visitors to experience the rich diversity of nature. This dilemma will be resolved, I'm sure, through careful selection of a partner to run the woodland activity.There is no way that she would allow the area to be exploited commercially to the detriment of the woodland inhabitants. This is a big plus point in my book as so many sites are developed to maximise return for the business and thus destroy the very thing many people go camping for.

The ban on cars in the tent field for all but pitching and breaking camp means that the site is relatively safe for children. There are danger areas, like the woods, the field gate isn't closed and there are fire pits around, but by simply keeping an eye on them, the children will love the site.

We mainly stayed on the site, but did manage to wind up in Hastings, which is a lovely town with enough activities for a day out easily. I would not suggest this as a site for people who are in and out all the time, as the longish, winding track to the farm could easily get congested.

On the plus side, this means that there is no/little traffic noise - I have stayed at sites very handy for getting in and out as a base for day trips, but I've been in fear of my life pitching only ten feet and a hawthorn hedge away from a twisty road with cars and lorries doing 60+ along it - Clippenham has no such worries - the site is the most secure I've been on. Didn't feel in the slightest bit apprehensive. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2731 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement