Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clippenham Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Clippenham Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Clippenham Camping
Clippenham Farm
Foul Mile
Cowbeech Road
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Matski_98 3 reviews from this member

 If you like back to basics, laid back camping and camp fires you're going to love this place. We took the van to Clippenham for the weekend and had a fantastic time. The facilities are basic (a few chemical toilets, shower and a standpipe) but its a really, nice quiet site and ideal for a weekend break. The kids especially liked the choice of outdoor games you could borrow! I'll be back next year! (Despite what it says on the site you can book for one night over the weekend if there is room, you just need to phone and ask) 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hope4291 1 review from this member

 We just had a very enjoyable weekend camping at Clippenham Farm. Very friendly owners, lovely quiet surroundings with a wood and some meadows/fields adjacent to the camping area. Being able to have camp fires in the supplied pit was a real bonus, and the kids loved it.

There is also a lovely pub in the local village.

The facilities are basic (4 portable loos, 2 portable showers, and 2 washing up sinks with no hot water), but that is part of its appeal.

The owners were also very relaxed about leaving time on the Sunday, they were happy for us to stay later and enjoy the weather but not charge for an extra day which lots of sites would have.

I also liked the policy of keeping cars outside the camping area, but this policy wasn't followed by all the campers, and wasn't enforced.

It did seem quite expensive taking into account the basic facilities, as they charge per person not per pitch.

There are also big electricity pylons right over the camping are which prevent kite flying, but you didn't really notice them in general.

In summary, I enjoyed the stay and would camp here again, but would be much more inclined to if the pricing reflected the facilities 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baden Powell 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weekend at this site with a small group. The weather was disgusting but we had a fantastic time.

All the facilities seemed to be brand spanking new and were spotless. There are flushing portable loos, showers, three washing up areas and fresh drinking water.

Some people mention lack of facilities and if you want a club bar, karaoke nights and T. V. You are going to be disappointed. However, if you can make your own entertainment, sing round the camp fire, walk through endless woods and fields, let your kids run around in complete safety then you are going to have enormous fun. Check out how many sites in the South East let you have a fire!

The Merrie Harriers is not far away and the camp site supply discount vouchers if you wish to sample their excellent food and wine.

Finally, the farm/site owner, Niamh, is kindness personified and nothing was too much trouble for her. She even baked a cake and laid on a tea party out of the blue for us Dad's on fathers day. We will be back for more! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kennardbowen 1 review from this member

 We received a very warm and friendly welcome at Clippenham Farm when we arrived on probably the wettest day of the year so far!

Our pitch was a very nice size and the campsite itself is extremely spacious in very beautiful and peaceful settings. The toilet and shower facilities are fairly basic, however they remained clean and tidy throughout our stay.

The owners were very informative about the surrounding area and pointed us in the direction of a really nice local pub, The Merrie Harriers, which served great locally sourced food.

On our last day, the owners treated us to Fathers’ Day morning tea and cakes which was a lovely touch - thank you! We will be recommending Clippenham Farm to our friends for sure! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thedobbies 5 reviews from this member

 Small 'back to basics' camp site but that's part of its attraction. Nice secluded location & very friendly owners. Facilities are very limited but just about adequate and clean & tidy and fellow campers seemed pleasant enough.

It's a bit pricey for the facilities provided but it hasn't been open that long & hopefully they will invest a bit as the site develops.

It was nice to be able to have a camp fire & the owners can provide logs & kindling etc.

The site is nicely placed to explore the downs & coast and you can get supplies from nearby villages. Hailsham isn't too far for a better selection of shops.

We enjoyed our stay & would recommend it 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lez259 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a very wet and windy night at Clippenham Camping. We arrived around 11:30 am Friday 1st October, having already booked in advance. As we were visiting friends in Eastbourne we had decided this would be a perfect chance to checkout this new campsite for future reference.

We were given a very warm welcome by Neagh and shown around the campsite; we opted to pitch our tent in the woods where there are a few clearings and a covered seating area under a large tarpaulin.

Niamh kindly offered to bring our equipment over for using her 4X4 as the ground was very wet anyway we declined and drove our car across the field to the opening of the woods and proceeded to unload our equipment using 1 of the wheelbarrows provided, Niamh came to check everything was ok and bought us a flask of tea and of coffee also some homemade coffee cake, this went down a treat as the weather was foul and we were wet and windswept.

Having erected our tent and getting all the other bits sorted we headed off to see our friends in Eastbourne which is about a 10 mile drive, the drive itself is through little villages with pubs which would make ideal stopping places in the summer but not on a wet autumn day in October and also you go through Hailsham where you can find a couple of large supermarkets to get your supplies.

This part of East Sussex is a wonderful place, you are not far from the sea and you are also in the middle of what seems to be a lot of farms. We returned from our friends house, where we had been offered a warm bed and a pork chop dinner, which we declined and stopped off in Hailsham to get a fish & chip dinner which we eat in our car in an undercover car park near Co-op.

We got some supplies in Tesco’s across the road and returned to our tent in total darkness there are some solar powered lights around the site so you can find your way around and amazingly these were all working considering all the rain we had. The tent was dry inside which was comforting and the airbed was still up bonus.

We got a fire going using the kindling we had taken with us and the logs that Niamh had provided for us, this kept us cosy while we drank 2 bottles of red wine whilst sitting under our shelter, we let the fire die out and went to bed around 10:30 about the same time as the rain stopped and had an uninterrupted night’s sleep.

The next morning the sun was out and the whole place looked different somehow. We used the shower which was lovely and hot and clean. To sum up … this appears to be a very new venture with a simple message- back to basics and some.

If you like basic camping with basic amenities then you will love this site especially if you get the weather. I think Niamh is very enthusiastic about her venture and I wonder if she will see it through to fruition.

How does it compare with prices elsewhere? Only time will tell. Please don’t let this site become too crowded and spoilt, we were the only ones there when we stayed and had a great time and we shall be returning again in the near future. This site is definitely worth a visit but check the weather first. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rainbowfamily 11 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here just for one night midweek in September and were the only people staying at that time.

The site is in a lovely peaceful location set in rolling green Sussex fields. The site itself consists of two fields - one reserved for touring tents while the other has a pair of pre-erected bell tents with a shared kitchen area - we peeked inside and these looked very cute and well equipped. There is also an area of woodland which is where we choose to pitch our small tent in total seclusion.

Facilities are currently pretty limited - 2010 has been the first year of operation as a campsite - but it seems that the owners are full of enthusiasm and plans for the site. Currently there are a couple of portaloos, three open air sinks (cold water only) and a single porta-shower which although supposedly warm is not particularly so. Everything was very clean and stocked with paper, biodegradable toiletries etc. There are no mirrors or electric points or anything like that so it really is back to nature camping – this would not appeal to everyone. BUT, there are lovely walks, a stream to play in and the chance to roam freely, not to mention the freedom to light fires - which is a facility in itself… There is also a covered gazebo area with games, toys books, maps, pens and paper etc.

As there was no-one else there when we visited, it is hard to get a feeling for how the facilities would hold up under greater visitor numbers – but the owners are apparently very careful not to overcrowd the site.

The £10 per adult charge struck me as a little expensive given the lack of proper washing facilities. But the owner / farmer's wife could not have been more welcoming and friendly - we left the following morning with homemade chocolate crispy cakes and a basket of mushrooms she had foraged for us – so we didn’t resent the cost. I believe there is a reduction for families.

Good luck with your venture – we’ll hope to return with our children in the future and look forward to seeing Clippenham Camping evolve. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon74 1 review from this member

 Booked for two nights but due to the great British Summer stayed only one. Absolutely nothing to do with the campsite I hasten to add which has been open for just over a month. We paid £20 a night for 2 adults, 1x 10yr old & 1x 20 month.

The site was great, plenty of loos, washing up facilities(cold water only), fire pits, woodland walks and large safe open spaces for the kids to run around,there are even toys available for the kids.

A friendly welcome was received and marshmallows offered once the fire was up and running.

Would we go back, certainly. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cuttingmustard 1 review from this member

 We came across this hidden gem, Clippenham, after we looked at the reviews of another local campsite that we were booked into, which described the place as being a rave under the moonlight, rather than a place for families. Clippenham's website promised back to basics camping and that was exactly what we were looking for. As novice campers, we and our virgin other family camper mates were keen to enjoy the serenity of the countryside, set fire to some of it and toast some marshmallows in peace and quiet whilst we readied our kids for bed after an exciting days' play, whilst salivating opening the Shiraz. Thankfully that is what we got. Only we got more!

We met the owner, manager and fellow parent whose welcoming warmth assured us that we had come to the right place. She took us on a tour pointing out the fire alarm, first aid kit and child play tent complete with toys, pencils and paper. The washing facilities, toilets and shower were all very clean and came with washing liquid, hand soap, shower gel and plenty of spare loo roll, with the facilities illuminated by solar lights at night. The place had an order about it that meant we weren't going to go entirely feral!

Of the three available fields, one was solely for pre-erected and furnished bell tents that came complete with futons, café tiers and a sizeable coal bbq. Two other fields, which seemed huge, were for campers, with no vehicles allowed. However, by the car park you help yourself to a wheelbarrow to cart your stuff and cop a squat where you fancy. The men look macho barrowing the equipment and nappies whilst bizarrely the women make the fire pit. We were lucky as there were so few people around, that an exception was made and we were allowed to drive in and drop off the kit. It would have been mildly inconvenient using the barrows, but as a parent I understand that this is an unnecessary hazard to any child, save for a fire or a tent peg and so visually makes the camp look more serene.

6pm prompt our wood supply for the evening arrived, although it was incinerated with in half an hour. We got more. As a treat we were kindly given a bag of Marshmallows from the owner and at the age of 37 I had not seen one since I was 10 at Cub-Scouts. It wasn't long before my 3 year old daughter and friends were filling their boots prior to bedtime. Another new experience for the little ones.

The next day we awoke with excitable little-uns and the distant tones of a cock reminding us we were firmly not in the City of London. Our camp looked ashamedly like a communal doss as the Shiraz bottles reminded us of conversations of Cassiopeia constellation, Mars and Venus and the complexities of school catchment areas. I could go on. I won't!

Overnight our virgin camping family friends were converts, abandoning the tea's-made, Egyptian cotton sheets and ensuites. We had made great memories in the wilds and relaxed beyond belief. Seeking out the nearby stream and playing football with the nets in our field, it was comforting to be around other likeminded, polite families, who greeted us with 'Good Morning', 'How's your day?” A reviving shower and some bacon sarnies whilst marveling at the great outdoors set us up for a good day. Could do with more shower facilities

The reason why I have elaborated on our enjoyment in this review is purely because with such simplicity in camping there is little to specifically congratulate or criticize about a site as 'back to basics' as this is in camping. This is a working farm diversifying into camping. It is new and exciting. And I am doubtless the business won't thrive as it is held together by it's cleanliness, beautiful surroundings and simple rules, all governed by the warmth of an enthusiastic Manager, who is keen to see every family enjoy themselves.

We can't wait to come back. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5369 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement