Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bleatarn Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Bleatarn Farm Campsite Reviews

Bleatarn Farm Campsite
Irthington
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4ND
Tel: 07795490579  or  07884332657
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan + Tents (electric hook-up optional)
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 62 Reviews
                10/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Afortunado 12 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a 2 night stay here. I will definitely come back as I really enjoyed my time here. The site is quiet and toilet /shower is spotless.

Plenty hot water in the dishwashing area. Midway between Brampton and Carlisle, Site is level with hardstandings and grass pitches, some with electric hook up. Stag Inn is about 3 miles away which is very nice in the village of Low Crosby 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Uppers 1 review from this member

 I'm a bit lazy when it comes to bothering with feedback and it has taken me 9 months to do so! The site is small but well laid out within an area adjacent to the farm.

The owners are most welcoming & friendly and the facilities although basic within portacabins well equiped and clean. The site if pretty much in the middle of nowhere so uninterupted views of the night sky and peace & quiet! Highly recommend, I'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham424 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place to unwind and chill

Great views, great location, fantastic welcome,

Fabulous pitch and fantastic amenities

Great shops bars and restaurants all close by in Carlyle city centre and surrounding villages the airport is busy but not noisy but a great distraction all round great place to be.

We will be back Graham & Jacqui Carlin 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin 343 1 review from this member

 We have just had a lovely week the toilets an shower were kept spotless, Andrew the farmer is very welcoming we thoroughly recommend this campsite. The only fault we found were people with dogs just letting them run, one done its business right next to our awning but apart from that we had a great week.

It is close to Carlisle and Brampton but far enough away from busy roads so nice and peaceful. There is also a motorbike museum a couple of miles along the road that is worth a visit.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilholm 2 reviews from this member

 A fine five van site that has all the facilities that we (two pensioners) required. Everything justified the high ratings that others have left. We particularly liked the fact that when the grass was cut the mowings were collected and did not get into the van. Easy gentle walks on Hadrian's Wall path (no wall but plenty to see) and it was good to see 'back-packing' wall walkers enjoying the site.

The owners made us feel very welcome at all times.

Many pubs nearby have closed recently but it is very quick to Carlisle one way and Brampton the other for shopping. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter and Jennifer 9 reviews from this member

 A great little farm site situated right on the remains of Hadrians Wall.

We had a most enjoyable stopover there on our way to Scotland this year.

It's CCC certified but would imagine might accept non members if not busy - and they weren't when we stayed - so worth a call to check. Am quite certain they wouldn't be looking down their noses at self build van conversions either.

Was a flat price of 16 inc ehu (Summer 2016) for two adults, 1 x dog and our 5. 9m motorhome.

Owner is a friendly and helpful working farmer. His retired farmer father also meets and greets.

Good walks from the doorstep. Ask about route through the farm to an excellent linear or circular walk.

It's a small site, just five or so spacious level pitches in a field w open views across farmland, set just by the farm - and the bungalow the farmer's father lives in.

Hardstanding pitches for campers/motorhomes w access to some over surrounding closely mown, firm, grassed areas and informal grass spaces for tents also available.

Portacabin facilities are simple but everything is there, works efficiently and all is kept spotless.

Also has water and waste facilities; with rubbish and recycling bins all neatly stored in a covered area by washing up facility.

Lovely touch is that there's even a little information room with maps, leaflets and local info :-).

We took a photo of part of the wall map to guide our circular morning walk which included a section of the remains of Hadrians Wall. Not much actual wall to see but definite dykes, ditches and venerable plantings to be remarked upon and great views. We had a great couple of hours walking, prior to driving on northwards.

Another plus, if you are an aviation buff, is that Solway Aviation Museum, with a Vulcan you can climb into, is not many minutes drive away.

Yes, a thoroughly recommended cared for simple site - just the type we like. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: T6NYY 10 reviews from this member

 What a cracking little site this is. Only very few pitches and in August it wasn't full either! The pitches are flat with a few hard standing areas for vans. There is a little 'Unisex' shower \ wash up block. You might need to queue to use the single shower if the site is full. The welcome we received was fantastic and Andrew, the farmer, came round a couple of times to see how we were getting on.

Hadrian's Wall runs at the back of the farm, but there's not much of it left to see, you don't need to travel far to see a part of the wall that is more intact.

We did a great walk through Gelt Woods, and near the end of it, we were greeted with almost a hundred 'twitchers' trying to spot nesting Bee-Eaters in the quarry.

Nearby there a great gastro pub called the Golden Fleece, a little pricey but the food was just amazing, never had such a good meal & service for a long time. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

 Small pleasant site. Showers clean and warm. We stopped here on way to Scotland so cant really comment on what to do in area. I couldn't see anything on the leaflets that looked nearby though. No leaflets about Scotland at all, and its just over the border!

The only complaint I have is that I was expecting to find Hadrians Wall on site. I mean they mention it don't they! Well you will be disappointed if you are expecting a bit of wall. It is more like Hadrians Mound. A length of raised land where the wall use to be. A few stones on the ground at one end, which I suppose could be part of the wall. I was disappointed anyway.

Otherwise not a bad little place. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site; the owners have gone to great lengths to make it welcoming and appealing; The facilities are spotless and very well appointed; however if the site was full they may prove a little inadequate as there is only one shower and two toilets (one of which is disabled friendly)

Very handy for Hadrians Wall LDP as it runs across the back of the farm yard- don't expect a stone wall like at Housteads though- its just really a raised ridge.

To be recommended. Excellent ! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pinkfloyd 19 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this lovely, quiet CL near Brampton. Read all the reviews before booking, and found all the previous comments to be very accurate. This really is a fabulous CL which is very well managed by owners Andrew and his wife, Leigh. Given a very friendly welcome and visited later on site by owners to check all was well. Nothing at all to complain about here, toilet and shower room was always warm and kept very clean, hair dryer and straighteners are a nice touch for anyone wishing to use them. Pitches are of good size, flat & well spaced out. Any one of the pitches would have been more than adequate for our large twin axle caravan. Site is very well situated just off A689 Carlisle to Brampton and only 10 minutes or so from M6. Highly recommended CL and certainly would consider this site for another visit. Well done to the owners for their friendliness and superb efforts in keeping this CL to such high standards. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bleatarn Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bleatarn Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bleatarn Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement