Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bleatarn Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Bleatarn Farm Campsite
Irthington
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4ND
Tel: 07795490579  or  07884332657
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan + Tents (electric hook-up optional)
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 52 Reviews
                10/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 17 reviews from this member

We have visited this site 3 times and it is our favourite site in this area, it is a small site but everything is kept very clean and tidy with Andrew calling around every night to make sure that you have no problems.

It is very handy for exploring the Solway coast and a visit to the Devils Porridge museum is well worthwhile, and several supermarkets close by in Carlisle.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bennettrm85 1 review from this member

What a lovely little campsite! We really enjoyed our stay here and were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Andrew, who spoke to us daily. There is a small toilet block with a shower and washing up facilities which were clean and warm and we had plenty of space n our pitch.

Great basic campsite and a very reasonable price - we would stay again!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markyb69 1 review from this member

Excellent quiet site ideal for the perfect peaceful relaxing break we were after. Andrew who runs the site could not do enough to make sure your stay was perfect. Taking time out to ensure everything was ok for you. Although the shower and toilet facilities are small they are perfect for this site. Will be heading back again soon

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JLOx1 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site with everything you could need, friendly owner ideally placed for our one night stop walking the wall. Would also be a good site for longer stays. Site well maintained and even a picnic bench.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: T103 2 reviews from this member

Very friendly owner, quality facilities, and great location, especially for those walking Hadrian's Wall. Really easy and low-stress arrange: booked in advance, and just turned up and pitched; owner then came round to check we were OK, and generally have a pleasant chat.

Couldn't recommend this enough for those walking the Wall.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigelwendyemma 1 review from this member

We stopped off at this site on the way back from Scotland, what a lovely site, not far from Carlisle airport. It's only small but it gave us a good base to visit Hadrian's Wall and Carlisle castle. The facilities are kept clean and tidy, but a sign (if there isn't one already) indicating where the waste water should be deposited would be helpful as it is at the top of the field away from the main area. Would definitely use this site again and the management were friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LittleGayley 1 review from this member

I'm not normally a one for writing reviews, however I feel this site more than deserves one!

Small but beautiful, peaceful site. Electric hook-ups are available if required. Owner Andrew was very pleasant and welcoming and made time to come talk to all his visitors. Site area is kept immaculate as are the toilet and shower facilities. We only stayed one night as we booked last minute, however we would have loved to have stayed longer and will definitely be returning, hopefully in the near future.

Not a lot to do in the area if you are on foot, although the walk along the Hadrians Wall foot path is very pleasant. If you are travelling by car the site would be a perfect base as there is plenty to do in the surrounding areas. If you want a chilled relaxing time this site is ideal, its a little hidden gem and glad I found it!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 17 reviews from this member

In my opinion this is the best small quiet site in Cumbria, it has 5 generous sized hardstandings plus room for a few tents, the facilities are very good, and the owner comes around in the evening to make sure that you are all ok and to find out if there is anything that you need.

Good site to visit Cumbria from, Lambley Viaduct is worth a visit also the RSPB at Geltside if you are up for a walk.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindaloow 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights from 31/8/17. Lovely little site with hard standing for 5/6 campervans/mitirhomes in a semi circle with a grassed area opposite that would fit probably 4/5 biggish tents on it. Just enough spaces /pitches without overcrowding. Small, neat purpose built block with 2 unisex toilets and one large shower. Would highly recommend this quiet peaceful site fir anyone on the way to or from Scotland. Nearby is a little town called Brampton, approx 12 each way in a taxi. 20 min drive to Carlisle. Paul the owner and his father were very welcoming and friendly

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SuzJ 1 review from this member

This is the friendliest and most helpful campsite we've ever spent time on after 20+ years of camping. For a certified site, it's well resourced (hair straighteners & hair drier in the toilet/shower portacabin) and thoughtfully laid out so that vehicles don't need to go (& get stuck) on the grass.

The site itself is positioned 15 minutes (ish) from Carlisle and nearby is an aviation museum where they have a Vulcan that you can go inside the cockpit of (open weekends & bank holidays).

The owners are wonderful and go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is happy. Andrew (one of the owners) comes around every day to say hello, see how your day has gone and check everything's okay. Nothing seems too much trouble for them and their knowledge about the local area is informative and interesting. Hadrian's wall runs behind the owners property and although there's no stone left at that point, the shape of the landscape (& Andrews explanation) made it easy to see. It's a good stop off if you're walking the wall. Whilst we were there, some campers were loaned mats to cover the soggy ground (after a torrential downpour), a toddler was taken to see the tractors and cows, and we were offered a lift. This is a fantastic family run site, by such a thoughtful and kind family.

As a tip for anyone going in a motorhome, I'd take a long hose to reach the drinking water tap to fill up. I'd also ensure that you go fully stocked up with provisions as there isn't a shop within walking distance. However, that's a small price to pay for the welcome you receive and peacefulness of the site.

Facilities wise, there's two toilets and one shower, but as the site is so small this didn't cause any difficulties. The shower is an excellent size so there's plenty of room to get changed. They could possibly have squeezed two showers in there, but personally I think it was lovely having the space to get dressed afterwards without everything getting wet as often happens when the cubicles are too small. There was plenty of hot water in the shower, the washing up area and bathroom sinks. There's also a small room with maps, brochures and local information.

We had such a lovely time that we're very likely to head back that way to stay, and would take a detour to stay there. A small but perfectly formed peaceful family run site, where you can get away from everything to relax.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3834 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!