Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bleatarn Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Bleatarn Farm Campsite Reviews

Bleatarn Farm Campsite
Irthington
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4ND
Tel: 07795490579  or  07884332657
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan + Tents (electric hook-up optional)
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 62 Reviews
                10/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Colin Keenan 2 reviews from this member

 We have become regular users simply because we find this an impeccably organised and managed site. We have used it about 4 times now, mostly for overnights [midway between home, in North Aberdeenshire, and South of England] but came to like it so much that we have done one one [and plan more] rather longer breaks. The Solway Coast is a beautiful and uncrowded part of UK and we are appreciating it more and more.

Owners are friendly without being in anyway intrusive - a difficult balance achieved apparently effortlessly. Facilities cover everything you would expect on a big site and are scrupulously maintained. Pitches are hard standing and bang on level. Appearance of the whole is neat, tidy and cared for. Users feel cared for too. A wee treasure! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ravenshead 2 reviews from this member

 Great little site - fantastic if you're not a fan of huge sites with caravans & tents as far as the eye can see.

Facilities also great - very clean, warm & really good condition.

Lots of information about things to do locally, and Andrew is the most friendly & chatty campsite owner I've ever met - how he manages to chat so much & still keep the farm running I'll never know!

Will definitely return.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Herald insignia 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this super little site for 2 nights whilst walking the Hadrians Wall path. It was the best by far of the several other sites we used in the area including two C and CC sites which were really quite poor. Ideally situated for touring and the long distance path, immaculately clean and very well organised with lots of thought having gone into providing everything one could possibly need, even hair straighteners as well as hair dryer in the toilet block. Quiet and with lovely views and a very friendly welcome plus good value. We cannot recommend this site more highly! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnson13 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem we found with this fantastic CL site, high standard from the facilities to the pitches. Warm friendly welcome was received from owners, welcome letter given with lots of useful and local information. Facilities (unisex) are of a high standard and are spotlessly clean, with good shower and hairdryer. Well spaced, reasonable level, pitches, EHU positioned nicely. Peaceful site the most noise was the farm animals, lovely walks from the site over Hadrianís wall.

Ideal site situated, 5miles from M6 (10Mins). Local pub just re-opened no food, just 3 miles away is The Stag in Crosby which serves tasty homemade food and great local real ale. Most definitely the best site Iíve visited in the last few years. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wylamwanderers 1 review from this member

 Stayed Easter weekend, freezing cold but a warm welcome from the site owner. Excellent site and facilities. First time on a CL if they are all like this will stay at more. Site level well drained gravel hard standing - bring steel pegs.

Toilet block/shower exceptionally clean. Beautiful setting and views of snow covered mountains. Golden Fleece at Ruleholme worth a visit, great food and great service, following dinner one evening we then booked for Sunday lunch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RS199 14 reviews from this member

 This site is as close to perfection as you are likely to find anywhere.

An immaculate, warm and spotlessly clean toilet block. Complete with information leaflets. The washing up facilities are outside in a covered area. Secure perimeter, so great for children.

Dog walking up a quiet lane. Not on the site (Which is as it should be)

The nicely laid out hard standings are dead level with plenty of room for all five units. A couple of picnic benches finish the place off!

Part of Hadrians Wall runs right behind the farm.

We were on our way to Northumbria via Carlisle/ Hadrians Wall, so it was a great place to stop after travelling up the M6!

I can't speak too highly of this little gem.

Yep, spot on! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Basilbear 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this small site a couple of times in october & november 2012. It is set in a lovely location next to a farm & is run by the owner who is a farmer too, a very obliging, friendly man. We were in a campervan & had electric hook up on a hard standing pitch. The toilet/shower block is spotlessly clean, modern & fairly new. There are some great walks around here & along the Hadrians Wall route. It is very quiet, and wouldn't suit someone looking for plenty going on, but that was great for us because we were looking for peace & quiet, in a country location. Great value for money, great location, friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Senator v 1 review from this member

 This site is an absolute dream. Five hard standings, snooker table level! The facilities excellent. Superb views with Brampton, Carlisle and the Roman Forts, Hadrians wall all close by. The owners and family went out of their way to make sure everybody on site were okay, in what was appalling weather (torrential rain and and severe gales). We will definitely return! Hopefully in better weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kst79 1 review from this member

 We spend 3 nights camping at Bleatarn farm from Friday 10th August - Sunday 12th. The campsite was of a great size, not too big and not too small, plenty of space and excellent location for our visit to hadrians wall and Carlisle. Andrew met us upon arrival and was extremely helpful and friendly.

The facilities on the site were excellent, lovely and clean, 2 toilets and 1 shower. Although the campsite was full on Friday and saturday I never had to queue for the shower or toilet. The 2 unisex toilets were in the same block and although this was not a big issue, I feel it would maybe be beneficial to have separate male/female toilet blocks. Another shower could be beneficial but again, this was not an issue for queuing etc.

There were electrical hook ups available although we did not require this in our tent. Information area on the campsite provided us with local information and maps for reference to plan our days out.

Andrew provided us with an information sheet with recommended pubs to eat, places to visit, emergency numbers etc, excellent for people like us who did not know the local area as had come from out of town. Nearby pubs we visited for food included the stag inn at high Crosby- excellent food.

Howard's arms in nearby Brampton was excellent as was the Indian takeaway in Brampton also ( Brampton tandoori on front street). Plenty to do in the surrounding area with Carlisle just a short way down the road in car.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the aa and on the campsite, we will return to Bleatarn farm as we had an excellent experience here and a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mulligrubs 1 review from this member

 Brilliant three nights spent here in the warm weather. Echo all the other positive comments made by others. The the hard working owner-farmer is happy to chat, the lambs are very friendly, the Wall is 100 metres away. Pitches are flat and level, 7 hookup points for a mix of tents and caravans, toilets/shower spotless, good access for 'vans. Brampton 5 mins, Carlisle 10 mins, M6-J43 5 mins.

Absolutely nothing to say by way of criticism. We liked it so much that my wife has decided to stay on, while I have to return to do some work. Bah humbug.

We've booked to come back in July, to do some of the things which we planned for this visit, but which we didn't get around to because we stayed on and around the site soaking up the ambience.

First class site, and deserves to do really well. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bleatarn Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bleatarn Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bleatarn Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4547 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement