Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barford Top

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Barford Top Reviews

Barford Top
Mowsley Road
Saddington
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE8 0QP
Tel: 07971 304536
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 caravans and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ANNnRICK41 9 reviews from this member

Yet another wonderfully relaxing weekend at Barford Top, Wendy and Maurice are lovely hosts, and keep the site looking lovely. The sunsets we were privy to over the weekend along with the thunderstorm were spectacular.

Plenty to do nearby, Foxton Locks is a must, and some very nice eateries nearby too.

Love this little gem so much we have booked again for next weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillkt2 1 review from this member

We stayed for a weekend in order to go to a family wedding nearby. Unfortunately on the journey we had damaged the jockey wheel lever. We couldn't detach the caravan from the car! Maurice was extremely helpful and sorted us out very quickly.

What service!

The site has everything necessary for a comfortable holiday break. I endorse all that the previous reviewers have said.

Alan and Jill

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alphaharps 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite with good, clean facilities. Unfortunately we arrived at the site a lot later than we had intended due to various travel issues but Wendy was very patience and really made us feel welcome when we finally arrived. The local pub, the Queens Head, is very nice and serves great food. There are lots of walks and cycle routes in the area which we intend to make the most of next time we come. I would really recommend this site for a quite break.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kellysbow 12 reviews from this member

This campsite/CS has wonderful west facing views over green rolling farm land, inhabited by sheep & cattle. Providing the weather is sunny you will see a sun set from your pitch. We have no complaints about our stay there, but as motorhomers feel that the lay out of the land is not correctly described.

There is a 5 van Camping & Caravan Club CS which is level & has EHU. These pitches face west towards the view & back onto the road, which is not overly busy.

The camp site is in front of the CS pitches and is a gently sloping field, the grass of which is well kept. To one side of the field EHU is provided on the outside of the livery barn. Our pitches were at the bottom of this area and with a motorhome it was slightly difficult to get the van level owing to the undulating & sloping nature of the ground. Leveling blocks are definitely required. During our stay the CS pitches were all occupied by caravans & all the motor homes were in the camp field.

There are 2 toilets & one shower all kept nice & clean. The camper’s barn has seating inside, sink for washing up (hot water provided by a kettle), one of the toilets and shower. Being on a high ridge the ground is well drained, but the site is exposed and can be very windy.

The owners are very friendly & welcoming. An information leaflet was provided when we checked in. Work is continuing to improve the site, which will hopefully include the leveling or terracing of the camping field.

All in all we had a very peaceful relaxing weekend, walking, cycling and enjoying just watching the wild life, farm animals & sunsets.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne wilson 4 reviews from this member

As per a previous review this really is a little Gem. A really warm and friendly welcome from Wendy and Maurice who gave us a little booklet of things to see and do and showed us around the facilities of the site. We had a perfect view across the valley to watch the sunset every evening.

We actively seek out small campsites and if they are adult only even better. This site was just the ticket, dog friendly, good washing up area. They have 2 toilets and 1 shower, but they were adequate for the site and kept clean. In the barn they had sofa's and tables for evening socials should you wish, what a good idea!

The field had good drainage and another field for those under canvas.

Lovely surrounding countryside and villages. Foxton Locks is nearby and well worth a visit.

A site to return to.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon+liz 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site beautiful sunsets lots of nice walks the owners very friendly and helpful we will be going back just the sort of place we like. Nice level pitches clean shower and use of the barn if you require, can walk either way to a village about 1. 5 miles by road or you can enjoy a walk through the fields on the public footpaths and not to far into fleckney in the car if you need a bit of shopping

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kissy1908dog 4 reviews from this member

Lovely location. Level pitch. Hook up. This was our first trip in a caravan, so slightly nervous, The site owners couldn't have been more helpful. You can only get your caravan onto site from one direction. We tried from the wrong one. The owner came out and directed my husband until we were able to get on site and then very kindly helped us to park and employ all of the services required as we didn't have a clue. Foxton Locks are a must see and Market Harborough is a lovely town. A lovely first experience. Highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roben2 2 reviews from this member

A wonderful welcome from the moment of booking to arrival. We were worried about arriving late and were advised that Wendy and Maurice would watch out for us. In the end we weren’t too late and we were welcomed with a useful pack of information telling us about local places of interest, good pubs etc. All these ‘top tips’ proved to be right on the money with excellent drinks and service at the local pub and fish and chips from an award winning fish and chip shop. (Once tasted you knew why!)

The facilities we felt were excellent, especially for a small site. Two very clean toilets, one with a shower. There was also a barn with facilities for washing up, charging a phone, pc for looking up places of interest, kettle, and masses of space for relaxing in; if life in your tent or caravan was making you stir crazy. There were also places to sit and eat, both inside and out. I like small sites, quiet and secluded but with the basic facilities. This site is quiet and secluded with charming facilities beyond its size. What’s more you just knew if you hit trouble Wendy and Maurice would be there to support.

The local area is enchanting and we will be back. The narrow roads between Gumley, Laughton and Mowsley were charming. We loved that at one point we had to stop until a local cricket match played an over before we crossed the pitch! Market Harborough was well worth a visit as were Foxton locks.

If you love waking up to a wonderful view, with the full countryside symphony of cockerels, ducks, sheep, cows and birds you will be spoilt. As a last point if you need to stay in contact with the outside world, the phone signals for Vodaphone and O2 were excellent! A Genuine 10/10

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SF23 6 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. The best certified site we have stayed on. Wendy & Maurice were so welcoming and so friendly. The site was so pretty, the views were stunning and the sunset was the best we have seen. The facilities were great for a CL site. Great area for walking (either direction you will find a great pub). We will be back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stig99 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this excellent site after a three night stay. We were greeted by Wendy and Maurice on arrival and made to feel very welcome. The facilities are excellent and the location is stunning. During our stay we encountered brilliant sunshine and several bouts of heavy rain. This did not cause any problems at all as the grass pitches have excellent drainage, and I was pleased to learn that the site is open all year round as we like to go away during the winter months. We will be returning shortly with our daughter and her husband who will be using the equally impressive tent field.

Keep up the good work Wendy and Maurice

Jeremy and Linda

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019