Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barford Top

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Barford Top Reviews

Barford Top
Mowsley Road
Saddington
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE8 0QP
Tel: 07971 304536
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 caravans and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

The warm friendly greeting from Wendy and Maurice set the tone for the stay at Barford Top. A very handy booklet provided useful numbers, eateries and places to go explore in the area, however as the dog and I were down for the agility festival at Rockingham we will have to return another time to explore the area properly.

We got a tour of the facilities and the pitches before being left in peace to pitch the tent and get ourselves organised. Everything was always spotlessly clean whenever we went to wash up or use the toilets or showers with plenty of hot water throughout, the only note of caution is that the sinks are a little slow to drain so if you are not careful you end up with a sink full of water that you have to wait to drain.

The pitches are spacious and, in the field we were in, level. I am not sure if it was the months of hot dry weather making the ground very hard or stones but the pegs took some hammering in, but once they were in they were in and even when the wind picked up everything stayed put.

I highly recommend Foxton Locks as somewhere to go and walk or just sit and watch the boats go up and down, if you go to the Bridge 61 pub they do good lunches and there are cooked sausages available for your 4-legged friends, just ask at the bar!

Also highly recommended is the fish and chips from the Fleckney Fish Bar, just make sure you walk up and appetite as the portions are very generous.

We didn't try the cooked breakfast as we were up and departed at 7am each day so felt it a little unfair to make Maurice wake up to cook at 6am, maybe next time.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 14 reviews from this member

What a find! This is a gorgeous site. Well laid out with plenty of space between pitches, all facing the fabulous sunsets. Owners very friendly and helpful. My husband ordered the full english breakfast and said it was delicious and the best sausages he'd had for a long time. Toilets and showers are spotless and an indoor seating area which would be great if you are camping and it rains.

Will definitely be going back to explore the area more.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WHeaps 7 reviews from this member

Made an emergency call after dark on a Friday night when our plans suddenly changed. Owner could not have been more friendly or welcoming, and even turned lights on so we could find entrance in the dark.

Great welcome on arrival, with lots of useful local information and a tour of site facilities before we set up in a quiet field wit great views. Facilities all clean and well maintained. And all we needed with plenty of hot water.

We would definitely recommend and visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alienbabe 4 reviews from this member

This is the second year we have stayed here but unfortunately for us it will be the last. Whilst the site is genuinely lovely - the views are stunning and both the sunset and sunrise are amazing! - and the facilities are superior to some sites it isn't cheap and the electric charge is a bit of a joke - we can get sites with EHU included for the same price or less. Our main issue is the grass - we have folding camper so long grass under our awning, or cut grass being left lying on the ground is a real issue. We also found it a bit rich to charge for visitors and expect all staying on the site to follow rules but we had two very disturbed nights due to large groups yet nothing was done! The campsite is no longer a CS site with the C&CC and it shows in this case.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sueper 11 reviews from this member

I cannot praise this little site too much. We used one of the hard standing pitches with hook-up. Fabulous views, very friendly and knowledgeable owner and the facilities were superb. Clean, spacious, warm and excellent adjustable showers. Plenty of walks from the site. The Bell Inn at Gumley was only about an hour slow amble and the food looked very nice, but we had already had our sandwiches at the little reservoir. We stayed here because it is very close to the tank driving range called 'Armourgeddon'. Ideal base for this. The site is very reasonably priced and electricity is paid for separately at the end of the stay, but we had only used £1. 76 after 4 days so it is still an excellent price.

Thank you Wendy for a superb site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

I really enjoyed my 2 nights here. A great little site. Great views of the countryside. Basic but adequate and clean facilities. Very friendly and helpful owners. Adults only.

Location wise was perfect. Leicestershire was more beautiful than I could imagine. Quiet and rural - yet easy to venture to Leicester, Foxton Locks and Market Harborough. I will undoubtedly return in future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stugill 3 reviews from this member

My wife and I (and 1 dog) stayed at the site in our Motor Home the weekend just gone on Saturday, Sunday and Monday night.

We were met by Wendy and Morris who gave us local literature etc and we were shown to our pitch with Ehu. They are very polite, pleasant, helpful people who in general keep the site clean etc.

We agree that the views are great from the site and it is ideally situated to go on some wonderful walks.

We were not so impressed with the site itself, I would guess that on Saturday there were over 30 people and only one shower / Wc in the gents, so these were quite busy.

The washing up area was fairly clean, but a bit smelly, there might have been a drain issue.

The Chemical Disposal Point was disgusting, after removing the wooden cover you were greeted by the previous users’ faeces. I battled on and emptied our toilet and the concrete sides soon filled up, to about an inch from the top, and drained away very slowly.

I was very disappointed on the morning we left when a decision was made to cut the grass in the field we were in! It started at about 0930 when we were trying to have a pleasant breakfast; tea, toast and petrol fumes – nice. I don’t exaggerate when I say that the mower was 20ft away from our Motor Home – the pictures I have, prove it.

A saying ‘you get what you pay for’ is often used by many and I use it myself and therefore in my opinion, I would suggest that £15 pn is more like it, as opposed to £22 pn. This is not very scientific, simply comparing against other sites we have visited very recently. I wasn’t the only person there who was intrigued at the value for money. If the cost pn was £15 then the overall review would be average, with the high cost it is not.

The cost pn in now irrelevant to us as we will not be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Strettonboy 1 review from this member

A great little site. Undoubtedly one of our favourites. We like everything about it. Maurice and Wendy are really friendly hosts. There is a mix of grass and hard standing pitches, mostly with EHU and 'The Barn' is a modern building with toilets, showers, a lounge area with sofas and tables and chairs for eating. Fabulous facilities for a small site. There are lovely views over the surrounding countryside and the sunrises and sunsets are something to behold. The site is quiet and for adults only, which suits us very well. Lots to see and do in the area including walking, birdwatching and the famous Foxton Locks. The Bruntingthorpe airfield with its Cold War Jets collection is only 10 minutes away by car. Several really nice

Pubs in the area with good food and some which allow dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stretto Boy 1 review from this member

We have just stayed for three nights over Easter. We would probably not usually have have come to a site so close to home (it is only 7 miles from where we live) but we were keen to try out our new motorhome which only arrived a few days ago. I am so glad that we did, for this is a truly lovely site. Maurice and Wendy both made us feel very welcome. The pitches are level, with a mix of grass and hard standing, and EHU. For a CS the facilities are absolutely outstanding! 'The Barn' - a modern building - houses spotlessly clean toilet, shower and washing up facilities. There is also a sitting area, tables and chairs for eating and even a washing machine. The views are lovely. It is a shame that the cloudy weather prevented us from seeing the legendary sunrise and sunset, however this will merely be a pleasure deferred as we are already planning further visits to this great site. After one visit it has gone straight to the top of our list of favourite CS sites.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browny549 8 reviews from this member

As other reviews have said Barford Top is a fantastic site. When we visited they had just extended the site onto an adjoining field which had electric hook ups and water taps. It still enjoyed that same marvellous views. On arrival we were greeted by Wendy who gave us a great introduction to the site and packed us full of information with regards to the surrounding area. As this was the first bookings on the new area we did have some issues with the electric hook ups but to give Wendy and Maurice credit there was an electrician on site within 20 minutes to sort out the issue with no further problems on our stay. Wendy even came round with easter eggs for our inconvenience which was nice.

The site is close to some nice pubs and Foxton Locks is a great place to visit. There are dog walks nearby though access is via the road

Our only disappointment was not catching one of the wonderful sunsets enjoyed by the site, but I am sure that will happen on our next visit.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019