Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barford Top

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Barford Top Reviews

Barford Top
Mowsley Road
Saddington
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE8 0QP
Tel: 07971 304536
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 caravans and 10 tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TobyandJo 4 reviews from this member

 Our first night out and we stayed at Barford Top, just 5 miles from home so a great opportunity to try everything out for the first time this year.

We had a spacious pitch with a great view across the valley and although it was windy (being on top of a hill!) we had a most enjoyable time and look forward to returning soon.

It proved that you don't have to drive for hours to feel like you have been away.

We know the local pubs anyway and when they are open they are both worth a visit for good ales and food.

The site is clean and tidy, spacious and well cared for.

The facilities were closed due to Covid restrictions, but I'm sure they will be up to the standard of the rest of the site. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Boatie 1 review from this member

 I was booked into another site for the weekend but they cancelled at the last minute due to the floods. I desperately searched round for another site and after calling a couple of others who were also struggling because of the biblical weather we were having I spoke to Wendy. What a lovely lady! She had me booked in within minutes.

On arrival, I had the full tour and even though I missed the sunsets and stars that you will hopefully get when you stay here because of the clouds I was very impressed.

Both Wendy and Maurice are proud of their site and so they should be. They allowed my fourteen year old daughter to stay on the Saturday night even though itís an adults only site ( which I didnít realise on booking).

To be fair I imagine people book adults only because they donít want kids making noise and kicking footballs against their cars, neither of which my daughter does! In fact sheís probably more like an adult than me!

Thanks for letting us stay and we will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Janlou 5 reviews from this member

 A well run campsite with fabulous views. As a group with a mixture of tents, caravan and campervan we were made very welcome by Maurice and Wendy.

This site has everything you need, is very clean and tidy and even has a sitting area in the barn should the weather be inclement.

There is a pub/restaurant within walking distance serving good food and Market Harborough and Foxton Locks are within a short driving distance.

Definitely a good place to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sally Hutchinson 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and very helpful owners Wendy and Maurice.

There is everything you need on this site. Washing area, showers, toilets and a barn where if you wanted to you could go and sit and read or just relax.

Everyone was so friendly on the site. The only critisism there could have been some more showers. Otherwise a great time here. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judy Norton 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with level pitch & excellent dog walking around.

Very nice barn with seating area to make yourself at home if the weather is unkind. Two toilets & showers available for each sex.

Foxton locks well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 The warm friendly greeting from Wendy and Maurice set the tone for the stay at Barford Top. A very handy booklet provided useful numbers, eateries and places to go explore in the area, however as the dog and I were down for the agility festival at Rockingham we will have to return another time to explore the area properly.

We got a tour of the facilities and the pitches before being left in peace to pitch the tent and get ourselves organised. Everything was always spotlessly clean whenever we went to wash up or use the toilets or showers with plenty of hot water throughout, the only note of caution is that the sinks are a little slow to drain so if you are not careful you end up with a sink full of water that you have to wait to drain.

The pitches are spacious and, in the field we were in, level. I am not sure if it was the months of hot dry weather making the ground very hard or stones but the pegs took some hammering in, but once they were in they were in and even when the wind picked up everything stayed put.

I highly recommend Foxton Locks as somewhere to go and walk or just sit and watch the boats go up and down, if you go to the Bridge 61 pub they do good lunches and there are cooked sausages available for your 4-legged friends, just ask at the bar!

Also highly recommended is the fish and chips from the Fleckney Fish Bar, just make sure you walk up and appetite as the portions are very generous.

We didn't try the cooked breakfast as we were up and departed at 7am each day so felt it a little unfair to make Maurice wake up to cook at 6am, maybe next time. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 15 reviews from this member

 What a find! This is a gorgeous site. Well laid out with plenty of space between pitches, all facing the fabulous sunsets. Owners very friendly and helpful.

My husband ordered the full english breakfast and said it was delicious and the best sausages he'd had for a long time. Toilets and showers are spotless and an indoor seating area which would be great if you are camping and it rains.

Will definitely be going back to explore the area more. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WHeaps 7 reviews from this member

 Made an emergency call after dark on a Friday night when our plans suddenly changed. Owner could not have been more friendly or welcoming, and even turned lights on so we could find entrance in the dark.

Great welcome on arrival, with lots of useful local information and a tour of site facilities before we set up in a quiet field wit great views. Facilities all clean and well maintained. And all we needed with plenty of hot water.

We would definitely recommend and visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alienbabe 5 reviews from this member

 This is the second year we have stayed here but unfortunately for us it will be the last. Whilst the site is genuinely lovely - the views are stunning and both the sunset and sunrise are amazing! - and the facilities are superior to some sites it isn't cheap and the electric charge is a bit of a joke - we can get sites with EHU included for the same price or less.

Our main issue is the grass - we have folding camper so long grass under our awning, or cut grass being left lying on the ground is a real issue.

We also found it a bit rich to charge for visitors and expect all staying on the site to follow rules but we had two very disturbed nights due to large groups yet nothing was done!

The campsite is no longer a CS site with the C&CC and it shows in this case. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sueper 13 reviews from this member

 I cannot praise this little site too much. We used one of the hard standing pitches with hook-up. Fabulous views, very friendly and knowledgeable owner and the facilities were superb. Clean, spacious, warm and excellent adjustable showers. Plenty of walks from the site. The Bell Inn at Gumley was only about an hour slow amble and the food looked very nice, but we had already had our sandwiches at the little reservoir. We stayed here because it is very close to the tank driving range called 'Armourgeddon'. Ideal base for this. The site is very reasonably priced and electricity is paid for separately at the end of the stay, but we had only used £1. 76 after 4 days so it is still an excellent price.

Thank you Wendy for a superb site. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barford Top child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barford Top?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Barford Top dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2664 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement