Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barford Top

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Barford Top Reviews

Barford Top
Mowsley Road
Saddington
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE8 0QP
Tel: 07971 304536
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 caravans and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StPirran 2 reviews from this member

A warm welcome, really lovely people,

Only a couple of nights to try out new caravan, all went well, electric tripped once, but was sorted immediately.

Noise from next pitch also sorted immediately.

Good access, level site, well kept, facilities top notch, clean and well maintained.

Didn't get to see the sunset, so were going back again in a few weeks.

Views amazing, definitely well worth a visit, we would recommend, thumbs up, all is good : )

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lori-angelbear 8 reviews from this member

We wanted a site close to home to try out our new caravan, and wanted somewhere quiet too. Adults only, dog friendly, and a lovely warm welcome, we couldn't have asked for more.

Good, clean facilities. We are almost self sufficient in van, but they would be great for anyone in a tent. The Barn is a great idea! Would like to see more sites adopt that idea.

We did see the sunset, although not spectacular at this time of year, but still worth watching.

Would like to visit again in summer and spend longer there.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angieandpaul 1 review from this member

Lovely site, facilities were good, the welcome was very warm but not intrusive. The barn was an interesting feature, would have been invaluable for tenters if the weather was poor. The addition that we appreciated was the free computer access as we could not get signal for our wifi. Visited Foxton locks, fab BUT we were treated to the most amazing sunset simply siting in the van. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freddiandrosie 4 reviews from this member

Barford Top CL, what a gem of a site! Beautiful views to be had over the rural valley and great sunsets, the proprietor took great care to ensure this was available to everyone, whether in a tent or caravan. Their charges are very reasonable, though we were disappointed to discover, many people who booked, actually never turned up- a sad indictment of some caravanners today.

Our first time here was at August Bank Holiday weekend, we received a friendly welcome from the owners.

There are two toilets and a shower, one with a wash basin and shower together, the other situated in the 'barn', which also houses a washing up area, a table and chairs, a kettle, a pc with free wifi and a charging place for mobile phones. These extra facilities are for the use of the campers with tents, of which there were several.

A great area for seeing local attractions, the canal, historic villages and plenty of pubs offering meals.

All in all a relaxing weekend, a place we certainly intend to return to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hedge5hog 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 4nights, it is a small

Tidy well kept site from the moment we arrived and met the owners we knew we had chosen well, they made you feel very welcome. Each morning they would ask if everything was ok they are very friendly helpful and caring people. The site facilities were clean and adequate, the scenery was peaceful and good on the eye wherever you looked was lovely countryside, and beautiful sunsets. Yes we will definitely visit this site again and would recommend it.

The Hegs Felixstowe.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NGriffiths 1 review from this member

I was bit nervous as I hadn't taken my caravan out for 2 years, and was instantly put at ease when arrived on site. What a warm welcome we received, what a lovely couple, they met and greeted us, helped with unhitching our van, showed us round the site facilities, and are just such a lovely couple.

There is a lot of room for individual pitches so you have your own space, there is one bathroom which has a shower, sink, and toilet, which felt like being at home as some sites have everything separate. The campsite is quite small so using any of the facilities wasn't ever a problem.

There is washing up facilities, computer with internet, small cooker for campers with tents, radio/ CD to listen to all in a large converted barn, there are also picnic tables outside, and information leaflets about places to visit.

We visited the queens head which is less than a mile away and a fantastic meal, there is also a beer garden at the back of the pub and a car park.

We visited Foxton locks twice and rode a canal boat, we had a few drinks at bar 61 alongside the canal, on another occasion we visited we took our dogs and walked along the canal. It's a definite must visit, dogs are welcome at both pubs, both pubs serve food, the short stay car park is 2 for 4 hours or between 5pm - 9pm it's free parking, the long stay car park is 1. 50 for all day. Very pretty place and lovely walk.

The couple that run the campsite are really friendly, approachable, and helpful, the facilities are always kept nice and clean, the views are lovely especially the sunsets, would definitely visit again. The site is quiet and calming which left us feeling relaxed that we were sad to leave as we enjoyed it so much.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rogerduffy 6 reviews from this member

Lovely clean quite site, nice flat field and very friendly owners who made us most welcome.

If you stay try to get plot 1-3 as then you get to watch a fantastic sunset from the front of your own van. (barn in the way of the other pitches).

I Didn't see a wash basin for pots so don't know how campers would go on.

This site has 1 free shower and 1 toilet this was ok and fairly clean but as we self sufficient in that department anyway we didn't use it very much anyway.

I know it was a Bank holiday weekend so I suppose they charged more for it but it was 40 with electric for the 2 nights we stayed for 2 adults and our 3 children. I found this just a bit too much for a CL site.

Went to The beautiful Foxly locks canal on the first day and the Melton Mowbury cheese and pie show. Then next day, had a nice walk down the river trough the fields to the massive Saddington car boot sale on Sunday.

All in all a really nice stay at this site so would recommend it if you can afford it.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MERE LANE 1 review from this member

We have visited this site three times this year with Duke of Edinburgh Groups and our riding school students. Our horses were well catered for and the owners went to a lot of trouble to ensure everyone had a good time. Even drying the riders kit. The weather has not been kind yet but we are after the challenge. We intend to visit again this year and we are planning trips for 2013. Great views from the site and lots to see nearby.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019