Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft Campsite Just For Adults

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton Le Spring > The Croft Campsite Just For Adults > Reviews

CLOSED: The Croft Campsite Just For Adults
The Croft
Warden Law
Houghton Le Spring
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

 3 of us spent an extended Easter break here exploring the area and going to evening concerts in Durham and Gateshead. All the facilities were immaculate and up to date. Big pitches. No crowding despite site being fully booked. Very peaceful except for birdsong and owls calling. Easy road and public transport links. Owner friendly and informative about local area. Great value for money. A gem of a site and one I'd happily revisit when next in this area. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gordyboy1 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent 5 nights at this fantastic certificated site. Beverley the owner was so helpful and friendly with a great sense of humour.

The facilities are first class and the pitches are spacious and level, absolutely fantastic site I recommend it to anybody if you like a quiet scenic environment will definitely return. It is also convenient to Durham or Seaham if you prefer the coast and not too far from Sunderland 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennydog 1 review from this member

 Outstanding campsite

I agree with all of the excellent comments about this site

It is immaculate. Toilet block always perfect

Large pitches

Really interesting bushes and trees. Chickens and duck wandering around the site. Perfect

Owner really nice and helpful

We were visiting our elderly parents in Sunderland and this campsite turned the trip into a delightful holiday

We will certainly be back to this site 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busy badger 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 13 nights

Facilities at sight always clean

Site owner friendly and helpful

Not far from A1 and A19 so accessing the area is easy with plenty to do and see. Durham, Newcastle, Gateshead, Metro Centre, Angel of the North, Beamish all within easy reach. Also went to Hadrians Wall and High Force Waterfall

Very good fish and chip shop on seafront at Seaham.

Lovely clean sandy beaches within easy reach, hardly anyone on them and parking was free. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ASharpy 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, very quiet and with very friendly campers and the owner was on hand both days we were there and very friendly and helpful, as we were visiting family we already had a bit of knowledge about the area but there was plenty of leaflets in the pot wash room

Facilities were excellent, very clean and well thought out, there was an old stable block that had been converted into different rooms, pot wash and drying rooms there was even a room in block for people to sit at night and have a chat in case it was raining

We were pitched down near the trees and the ground was well drained and flat and would recommend a trip into Seaham lovely little town/village, with lots of small and larger shops e. G. Asda

There's a pub a mile away that also serves good food and in the village of horton there's a variety of pubs and a co-op 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lazarus99 1 review from this member

 Just spent a wonderful weekend at this very well kept CS, the pitches were spacious and flat, the facilities were immaculate, the site owner was delightful, met us at the gate at arrival and gave us a tour of the site, she is obviously very proud of her site and rightly so, the care and attention to detail is outstanding. By far the best CS we have stayed in.

Location is great with pretty much all the major supermarkets within 20 minutes, a pub that serves great food about 1 mile down the road.

We hope to make this our regular site for weekend get-aways, but suspect we are going to have to book well in advance as a site this good is going to be busy. And so it should be. Cannot recommend this place enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NycTourist 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very peaceful site with wonderful views run by the most pleasant and helpful people imaginable. The pitch area is small, but well laid out, and the amenities blocks are immaculate and wonderfully quirky.

There's a good pub a short way down the hill, and nice, long views on clear days. I really wish we could have stayed longer to soak up this wonderful site.

We cycled to the site on a long tour, and we were at a loss for what our next stop would be heading north. We couldn't find anything on this website, or others, and the owners were nice enough to call around and find a place 40 miles away (our target) that would have us the next evening. They couldn't have been more helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a delightful 2 night stay at The Croft, which we used as a base when exploring the nearby city of Durham. In many ways we want to keep it secret, because we cannot rate this site highly enough.

Formerly a plant nursery, this smallholding now hosts an adult only Caravan & Camping Club site, which accepts 5 touring caravans and up to 10 tents.

The enthusiastic, friendly owners have made a fantastic job of laying out the site with spacious level pitches set amongst a variety of trees. There are plenty of electricity hook-up points available, which creates flexibility about where you can pitch.

The smart, clean toilet block consists of a toilet and a shower for each gender, and we never encountered any queueing. Elsewhere there is an elsan disposal point, waste recycling, an undercover dish washing area, and another utility building that campers would find useful in inclement weather.

Other than a CCC notice at the gate, the site isn't sing-posted. However, most people will approach from the direction of Houghton-Le-Spring, in which case it is located 1 mile after the Copt Hill public house, immediately after a field containing an impressive electricity pylon. If your SatNav accepts coordinates, then the entrance is located at. 54.84314, -1.42935

A friendly welcome is guaranteed, and the owners will do anything they can to assist you during your stay with them. We never managed to see all of the things we hoped to visit whilst in the area, and will definitely be staying at The Croft when we return. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Senor Pablo 10 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome at this site from the owners

Site immaculate and well cared for.

Pleasant location, bus service on doorstep to either Seaham or Houghton-le-Spring.

Toilet block and showers spotless clean (50p shower for 8 minutes use)

Utility room & rest area available

Electric hook-ups available for both caravans and tents

Dog walk available, but dogs must remain on lead due to amount of farm animals!

Please note that although there are a number of animals around, the site is not noisy and is kept in pristine condition.

Gardens beautifully landscaped and maintained, a gem of a site.

Highly recommended and will definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julib 7 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. I think it's the best certificated site we've ever been to. The location is lovely and the animals on the smallholding are delightful.

The toilets/showers are immaculate.

What really makes this site so special are the owners. They just couldn't do enough for us. They got us a gas cylinder when we couldn't find one in the local suppliers, they gave us chicken and duck eggs and refused payment and got us delicious bread from their bakers. The final night we were there it was really windy and they shielded our awning with their vehicles.

I think this site is going to be very, very popular and rightly so. I can't recommend it enough 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement