Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft Campsite Just For Adults

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton Le Spring > The Croft Campsite Just For Adults > Reviews

CLOSED: The Croft Campsite Just For Adults
The Croft
Warden Law
Houghton Le Spring
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for quick weekend away with friends (three touring vans). This is now an adult only site which can take five tourers and ten tents. The whole site is immaculate gardens and ponds beautiful, shower block one toilet basin and shower for both men and women spotless.

Beverley and the whole family very welcoming and helpful gave us directions to local walks.

Cannot praise this site or owners enough. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mealsonwheels 1 review from this member

 We booked into the site at short notice after spotting it on this website. We wanted a short break and somewhere local as my husband has just started towing, this site is approximately forty miles from our home. The roads (we went via the A19 onto the A1018) and entry to the site were excellent no tight bends or steep hills. There is very little noise to be heard from the road outside the site, we did not notice it at all.

The owner met us on arrival and took us on a tour of the facilities before ensuring we were happy with our pitch. This is a small but beautiful site, I imagine it will become very popular as word gets out! The site used to be a garden nursery and Beverley's skills can be seen in the planting of trees, shrubs and other plants around the grounds and the two ponds.

The toilet and shower block comprise of one of each for women and the same for men. They are spotless at all times, with soap and hand towels provided near the handbasin. It is 50p for a shower (don't forget to take 50p coins), the water lasts for about 8 minutes so plenty of time to have a really good scrub! We didn't think this was unreasonable compared to some sites where the charge is twice that. The wash-up/preparation area was also very good and clean at all times, plenty of hot water.

About three miles to Seaham Harbour, plenty free parking and shops. Great scenery and walking. We will be returning very soon, providing it's not full! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lou258 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Lovely welcome, they took us around whole site and gave us a choice of places to pitch. We opted for the wooded area which our 3 yr old loved (although please note now in process of changing to an adult only site).

Immaculate facilities - 1 shower/loo each for men & women, under cover pot washing and food prep area. Everywhere was very clean and well looked after.

Slight road noise but didn't keep us awake. Close to the beach, and only 10 miles from Beamish which we visited - an excellent day out for all the family. Book online to skip the queues. Tesco express in Seaham only 5 mins drive away. All in all a really excellent site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 64 reviews from this member

 Super site, very cyclist-friendly, and, well, friendly! Lovely clean bathrooms (and plenty of hooks in the very spacious shower - I know this matters to some!) There's a really roomy dish-washing area with space for preparing food for cooking outside the tent, and as a small tent user it was particularly nice to have the indoor sitting area too.

The hens and ducks are very well-behaved and entertaining and the gardens round the site are lovely. There's a road next to the site but noise isn't a problem.

I cycled to the Durham heritage coast, which was fascinating and had changed such a lot since I was in the area in the '80s. There are now wildflower meadows on the tops of the cliffs, and the sea is cleaning up the beaches. There's a nice cycle ride into Durham city too, with a great view of the cathedral and castle. Make sure you have curd tart while you're in the area, and take a stottie or two home! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillasgirl 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to The Croft and, if anything, we enjoyed it even more than the first. We were warmly welcomed again by the owners and felt truly 'at home. '

The facilities were as immaculate as ever and remained so, no matter what time of the day - I don't know how Beverley does it!

The gardens and pond area are even more attractive now and the grass is always kept short.

The woodland area is lovely and cool in the warm weather and an adventure for young children!

We can't wait to return and will do so in the near future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DCN1 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic. A little gem with such welcoming hosts and a delightful shower unit. Even the rain did nothing to dampen our spirits. Would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.

The sheep were special; the ducks endearing, the washing up facilities great and the location just about right with views on all sides.

We stayed for five nights during the heavy rain that flooded the Metro centre and left trains cancelled. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timrodwell 1 review from this member

 There are not enough stars to give this site and the owners justice.

We had the biggest storm they have seen (it was on National news!) and, still, the whole site, including the loos and showers, were always immaculate. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

The location is great, being ten minutes from the sea and close to Newcastle, Gateshead, Durham and Beamish open air museum; and, the major roads in the area offer good access to them all without being too close to hear.

Itís a small site with one loo and shower for men and the same again for woman. The washing up facility was good and there was a dry area to sit if needed; and, once again, all of these were immaculately clean.

Although the weather was against us the site is situated in lovely countryside with great walking from the campsite.

There is only a small sign for the campsite when you get to the gate, but satnav takes you to the right place.

I was reluctant to write a review because we would like to get in next time we book!

This is a great hidden gem. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillasgirl 2 reviews from this member

 Having booked 5 nights, we stayed for 8 and would have stayed even longer had commitments allowed!

The Croft is a super new site, set in lovely countryside and yet just 10 minutes drive from the coast. Situated on a working smallholding, there are lovely views of the rare Zwartble sheep and lambs, hens and ducks (delicious eggs!)

The beautiful, secluded pond area is a great place to sit and enjoy the natural wildlife. The facilities are excellent -spotless, modern showers, toilets and vegetable preparation/washing-up area.

The lovely owners could not have been more welcoming and were generous with advice and information about the local area. Speaking of which, there is so much to see and do in the area (see website) but so relaxing just to sit and enjoy the surrounding countryside.

We have already booked our next visit and can't wait to return. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2820 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement