Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fourwinds Campsite And B & B

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > March > Fourwinds Campsite And B & B > Reviews

Fourwinds Campsite And B & B
113 Whittlesey Road
March
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE15 0AH
Tel: 01354 658737
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gwguthrie 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice level pitches. It has a lovely riverside walk into march which has plenty of supermarkets, pubs and restaurants. Loafs to do on site. We will definitely be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richard-Samantha 9 reviews from this member

 Our first trip of the season and as we needed to be in the area, we chose this little gem of a site! Booked up as a result of recent good reviews and wasn’t disappointed. A small and very informal site, just outside Marchon the river Nene. We received a lovely welcome from the owner John and their resident cat! We found the site very well presented/maintained with spacious pitches. Electric was pay as you go from a preloaded card. For the 3 nights we used up £4. 50 so this seemed reasonable? And had a refund for the difference when we returned the card. Showers were also token operated; 50p for 6 minutes so no lingering! Very clean but if a little on the small side and water pressure could be improved? Wash up area and showers were part of the main house so best behaviour only please But I suppose this is expected from such small sites like this. Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed a 2km walk into March along the river, admiring the old cottages of West End that fronted the river, of course stopping in at the Ship Inn to combine the afternoon sun with some local ale! Canoe hire is offered on site too so this is a nice touch if a little on the pricey side, so gave this a miss. We were very impressed with both the site and March so looking forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moocamp 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic week at four winds. Had the field to ourselves (group of 16, adults and kids aged 6-16) which was lucky as I don't think the facilities would have been much fun to use with more campers. 2 toilet, 2 showers and 2 washing up sinks. Maintainence of site and facilities good. Really enjoyed the canoeing and archery and the fishing was good. Again, if we had more neighbours everything would have felt overcrowded. Great having firepits. Bev and John are a lovely couple. Very friendly and helpful. Slight noise issue with nearby farm work through the night. Nothing too bad. We were only told to keep it down once so no stuffy killjoys. Nice walk into March. Pleasant little town. Wouldn't visit Hunstanton beach or Wisbech again. Neither had much personality or cultural identity. I think we got lucky with this one in terms of weather and site numbers but a relaxing little site worth a visit en-route maybe. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Piecm 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely little campsite. We were two families with tents and booked a pitch with firepit. The camping field is large and mainly flat as is the surrounding area. There is a potato storage facility next to the campsite which makes for an interesting but not unpleasant view. It is right next to the river where you can go fishing or canoeing. We spent a few enjoyable hours fishing. Next time - canoeing! There are two toilets with washbasins and two showers. This makes for a little queueing at busy times. It would be good if there were more washbasins outside the toilets. Showers require a token, costing 50p, for 6 mins. You are requested to clean the shower after use but there is no access to clean water to do so. There is a mop and bucket outside the showers for this but you have to use the water already in the bucket. However the showers were clean when we used them. There are two sinks under cover for washing up and a freezer for cool blocks etc. Everything was clean and easy to use. Beverley and John were very helpful and welcoming. We stayed two nights and walked into March along the river on our full day at the campsite. It was a pleasant walk past pretty riverside houses. I would definitely use this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazymaisie 2 reviews from this member

 As a group with 6 units, 11 children and 10 adults we had a fantastic time at this campsite. Bev and John were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the entire weekend. We camped around a firepit, and bought the logs from them, which were reasonably priced. The 2 toilets and 2 showers were part of the main house, and so were well kept and supplied. The only negative thing about this was the long walk in the night to get to the loo as we were at the far end of the field! The river at the far end of the field was fabulous, and we hired all their canoes and went into town for lunch and the pub, which was perfect. The site was great for us, with older children. Young children would need to be watched for the river however. We will be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Camping-gaz 1 review from this member

 I have to be honest and say that I don't usually like to visit highly rated camp sites - it does something to me and I have to find something wrong! This site is great. Visited with two other families for a bit of a meet up and had three pitches with a fire pit and electricity.

The site is immaculate - the facilities are clean and the pitches and surrounding areas kept well cut and maintained. I agree with other campers that the electricity system is really great.

Used the Tesco's which my sat nav clocked at 1. 2 miles away and some of our party went for a tow path run into March which didn't take too long. Lots to do in the area - the farm shop (advertised by the camp site office) is a great visit.

If I was to be pushed about finding a negative, on a number of occasions members of our party had to queue to use the toilet. This was probably due to the sinks etc being within the cubicles and thus everybody being held up at tooth brushing times etc. We did stay over the late May bank holiday week end so the site was probably at it's busiest.

Will visit again and this site more than lives up to its reputation. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Valgoody 2 reviews from this member

 Well run campsite close to river and walkable distance to town. Ideal as a base for surrounding areas and attractions. Plenty of dog walking areas and lots of wildlife. The campsite is set off the main road and is very quiet. It offers canoeing and archery but weather was not that good to pursue these. March has a station which makes this site good for getting about without a car. Facilities are very clean. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnie3118 16 reviews from this member

 Visited during early May BH. Bev & John only allow 15 units on a large flat, beautifully maintained field, so you never feel crowded. The site facilities were always clean & the showers were hot & warm with radiators & a 50p 6 min shower was perfect. Paying for electricity on a card was a fab system & we couldn't believe how little we used, as our halogen heater was on a lot! There are canoes to hire, which if the weather had been warmer, we may have used. It took us 30 mins to walk into March & found a tea room on the market place. There is a pub/restaurant The Cobblestones just up the road which served decent food & a large Tescos 5 mins away too.

All in all, a fab site where Bev & John are so helpful & friendly & run the site as they would want to camp themselves. You don't have to vacate your pitch until 11 & if no one is coming in after you, then no hurry to leave either. My favourite campsite & best of all, only 40 mins from home! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rovers808 1 review from this member

 Lovely big site, not too far from places like March, Peterborough, Nene Valley railway etc so lots to do. The field is large but with only 15 pitches allowed, and each with a fire pit there is loads of space. You can hire a canoe to travel down the river which is just at the end of the field, and get up to March and back which is very peaceful and pleasant, and archery was also on offer. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and were genuinely welcoming. 2 separate toilets, 2 showers and a couple of washers and driers next to 2 washing up sinks, plus outside fresh water and chemical toilet disposal. Evening meals and breakfasts also possible to book in the dining room. River close by and plenty of space for kids, but no 'park' area as such.

Having said all of that, we were disappointed when we stayed there in a near empty field that a large, rowdy group of around 8 were stuck right next to our young family while there. Nearly the whole field was empty, so it wouldn't have been a problem if they were over the other side, but after hearing all the swearing for a while and seeing they looked set to drink plenty that evening, we didn't actually feel comfortable staying, and ended up going home early. I'm sure there was a reason to pack everyone into one corner like that, but it was a shame when there was so much space they could have had to themselves. Apart from that, and you can never really be sure who you'll be camping next to, its a lovely site run by lovely people. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NancyAlways 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful 6 night stay at this delightful site. The owners, John and Bev, couldn't have been more helpful. We had breakfast a couple of mornings, and regret not eating in the evenings because the meals smelt absolutely gorgeous.

The facilities were the best we have ever come across, and although only two of each (toilet and showers), enough for the size of the site.

A site we will definitely go back to again, and recommend to friends.

Make sure you make friends with the camp's ginger cat, who sleeps his days away on top of the tumble dryers! 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fourwinds Campsite And B & B child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fourwinds Campsite And B & B?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fourwinds Campsite And B & B dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near March      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement