Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Site Reviews

Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX1 4XG   See Map
Tel: 01865 244088
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 13 to 18                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 77 reviews from this member

This is an ideal site to explore Oxford from. As previously explained, the facilities require updating (ongoing issues with the landlords are preventing further investment) but they are well maintained and kept clean and tidy. Both the railway line and main road run nearby so don't expect peace and quiet but you can't be this close to the city centre without some noise. There is a mini Tesco's and fast food outlet a short walk away. The Duke of Monmouth does an excellent pie and chips and good beer too. To get to town, walk by the road or river, or take the park n' ride bus. About 5. 00 for two adults return.

The wardens were attentive and helpful. They even put on a small Halloween party! We enjoyed a very comfortable stay for a couple of nights (17 / night for two plus tent). Come here to do the Oxford experience and soak up the university town atmosphere.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 6mantent 11 reviews from this member

Visited the site Sept 2015 for a single night. Booked via the usual very good C&CC site app.

Warm welcome - found the site easily with google maps - situated behind a Go Outdoors. Felt a bit 'urban' at first but wasn't that bad - I suppose we are next to a city ;)

Was shown to pitch by a friendly chap. We decided to go non-hook up so was pitched towards the back of the site. No real choice of pitches and felt slightly more cramped that we are used to.

I also believe from chatting to a chap on the Sunday morning this is used as a stop gap for students and lecturers without accommodation while they find digs (based on a conversation I had with a lecturer who rolled in at 1am !)

Bit of train noise which stopped at 11. 30pm and could hear the dairy 'hum' but I think previous reviews have made a bit of a meal of how bad it is. Not bad at all.

What sets this site apart from the rest of the C&CC club sites is the huge canyon between this site's facilities and the usual club site standard. For this reason I think it should be reclassified. This is no fault of the owners more of Go-Outdoors - especially as they seem ' a corporate partner' and no doubt they get their fair share of passing trade by patrons of the site ! To be fair it's stated upfront and previous reviews have highlighted.

Bathrooms are functional - but only so. I would shower, but only if I had to, but the experience wouldn't be anything but that. They did smell a bit despite the efforts of the owners - just the age of the building fabric I think. I think I`m going to go to world of camping and yeomans instead :)

On to what to do. Nice walk into Oxford besides the river, or you may want to ride a bicycle. 30-40 mins stroll and a very nice one too - you may even see a rowing competition. Similarly good bus link into oxford.

Would recommend the colleges. We grabbed a couple but would go back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

Very good welcome and expert help backing up our caravan to pitch. All flat, good sized, grass pitches. Facilities clean but a bit dated. Easy route when towing, all main roads. Some noise from trains but did not bother us. Good site to visit Oxford. Bus stops close and lots of buses to the city. When driving, Oxford has one way systems and road closures at present, so not good for strangers. Large Sainsbury about two miles away with cheap fuel. Small Tesco close to site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorenzo0011 1 review from this member

Just spent a fortnight on this site, all the facilities are more than adequate and are kept lovely and clean, nice to have showers that don't keep timing themselves out when you use them, the site staff work hard and are extremely helpful.

The site itself is easy to get to and is within easy walking distance of the city centre, or if you prefer there is a park and ride close by and the bus stop is just around the corner.

Will be visiting again in 2016.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fghughes 2 reviews from this member

Clean and comfortable site. Very easy to walk into Oxford City centre along the river. There is nothing wrong with the shower/toilet block. Staff were friendly and helped with our request for 2 pitches together. We had the front ones, opposite the reception and they were fine. There is some road noise, being so close to city, but didn't bother us at all. A Tesco express is within easy walking distance, along with a reasonable pub! Nice site, and would use again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mmcglynn 1 review from this member

We stayed here in june 2015 and found it good its a little run down as the land owners are being a little difficult with the club so as regards investment in the site its on hold, so

Dont expect usual top class facilities however they are functional. Just a few mins walk from the site is a supermarket and a bus stop to Oxford town centre and its many delights the site wardens were friendly and knowledgeable the site shares an entrance with Go Outdoors who own the land, at times we found the site a little noisy as the railway line borders the site and I think the line was being upgraded, try not to camp directly under the trees at the back of the site as there are many birds in the trees and I saw a few tents with large deposits on them, overall I would use this site again as I enjoyed my stay. Oxford is a most interesting place to visit I liked the Ashmolean Museum.

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 13 to 18      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Oxfordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0933