Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX1 4XG
Tel: 01865 244088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
                8/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here a number of times and the site is ideal for a base to visit one of England's most handsome historic cities. For this visit I was here mid-week for two nights as I had work related meetings in Oxford.

As a Camping and Caravanning Club site you can expect the usual efficient organisation of the campsite. I found the staff extremely helpful and friendly especially as I arrived late and left later than planned. The pitches are mainly if not all grass and spaced with standard sizing with easy access to water points and reliable electricity supply. The toilet block is of an older style but is kept in perfect order. The site does lack a play or dog walking area and is located in a residential area with road and rail noise being constantly in the background. The office sells basic essentials and there is a shop, chippy and pub a ten minute stroll around the corner. The site entrance has a Go Outdoors store to pass by which is a normal visit for me for any re-equipping.

As stated though, whatever the site lacks it is really the location. Park and Ride buses are over the road with the alternative choices of designated cycle paths or pleasant riverside walk into the City centre.

In short a good campsite that will meet your needs for exploring Oxford. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnienix 1 review from this member

 The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The bathroom facilities are fine, they're clean and the showers do what they should. Get you clean.

As for the noise? The site is in the middle of Oxford, what else should people expect? It has to be said, the noise wasn't to any degree that it caused me to lose any sleep (staying in a tent).

I'll certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nanook3890 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night at last minute (booked the same day). We bought just a pitch and when we arrived we waited for 30 minutes while the people behind the desk were serving another customer - we were backpacking and had extremely heaving bags, combined with the fact that it was raining.

After waiting all this time we were shown to our tent pitch which was small and underneath a tree with lots of other tents around which wasn't ideal.

We later discovered that there was a railway line very close to the campsite and a building site that worked during night hours.

The toilets were OK as were the showers, nothing special but had loo roll and were clean enough. We went to the toilets at night and were stunned tp find them locked. A sign said speak to reception to get to know the code for the door - they were closed at this time, but luckily enough another person came and opened it for us - we were not told of the code for the door at all which was very disappointing.

The campsite was very average - too cramped, average facilities and average/poor customer service. The only up side was that is is only a 25 minute walk from the city centre. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights in early August and had a nice time. We arrived a few mins before 8pm, this is the cut off that the site managers allow you to come on to the site.

The site is located behind go outdoors and you drive through their carpark. The site has a barrier which you need a card for. I donít think we needed a deposit for the card. It was raining but we had no problems with traction on the grass pitch we were allocated and no sign of waterlogging. Water point was at the side of the road and easily accessible. Electric point was well within reach of the van.

The site roads whilst all tarmaced and smooth on the surface are very hilly. The site manager advised me of not going over the bumps on the internal roads and to take the main outside road to avoid any damage on the overhangs/steps.

As mentioned by others the toilet block is quite old but it was fully functional, you need a code from reception to access the block. We walked down to Oxford along the river which takes about 30mins and was pleasant.

There is a park and ride over the road from the site which we used on the way back. The park and ride has a higher vehicles/motorhome section to it if you visit Oxford on your last day after checkout of the site. There were a good mix of nationalities on site and units. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dennisnicoll 8 reviews from this member

 I cannot really understand why people have complained about this site. Yes it is a bit noisy with the railway, road & dairy nearby but it didn't spoil our sleep.

I also cannot understand complaints about the staff. It was raining when we arrived & some of the pitches were waterlogged but they found one for us that was not too bad & even helped to lay out my tent footprint. Thereafter they were really friendly and helpful.

The toilet/shower block is a bit dated but it was always clean & warm.

I joined the C&CC so that we could benefit from the discounts offered and, for the price we paid, I think I got a bargain.

As others have said, there is a nice walk along the Thames into Oxford or, if you are not up to walking, the park & ride is very close to the site.

There is a nice pub, about a half mile on the road into Oxford, which has very good food & drink, all at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit.

We would definitely use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lippyboy 4 reviews from this member

 Just had a couple of nights on this busy site.

Its in a very good location for Oxford and the surrounding area and although near main roads and railway not a problem.

Good park and ride into Oxford City and huge Sainsburys nearby.

Staff very good and work hard to keep the site up. One of the staff was found freshening up the mens showerblock at 0645 on a Sunday morning.

The site does lack from investment which can be seen in the tired shower block and fencing on the site.

Considering this is such a popular site with foreign visitors its not the best type of welcome to a CCC site if its their first visit.

It certainly does not set a good example. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baddab27 7 reviews from this member

 A good site for a break in Oxford. The park and ride is across the road and GoOutdoors is next door which would be handy if you had forgotten anything.

The toilets are a bit dated but they were starting to do a limited update when I was there. But they need more than a minor make over. They are however spotless and credit to the wardens who were all friendly and helpful for keeping up the standards.

A nice level grassed area for the tent which was good.

The downside is the noise. The trains are not too bad but the dairy runs a chiller 24/7 giving a constant background hum and really gets busy with trucks being loaded from 9:00 at night to 3:00 in the norming.

Would I visit again probably not just too noisy for me.

In summary if you're looking for a site in Oxford and can put up with a fair bit of noise or have good earplugs then this site is ok for you. If you like peace and quiet for some relaxation then look elsewhere and drive to the park and ride to access Oxford. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fnaz 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent staff struggling against poor facilities. Electricity problems mean that we were refunded fees (which apparently happens often). Clean but very dated sanitary block. Clearly no updating since opening even though a brilliant position in a lovely city.

Esay walk to Oxford. No children's playround. Strange access through go outdoors car park. Right next to park and ride makes it excellent for visitors to city centre. Good little shop for basics when camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

 We loved our visit here! The staff were lovely, and the site was fine. OK, so the facilities are a little dated, but they were clean, and heated, which were much appreciated in early May.

Camping with young children meant that we made good use of the neighbouring play ground. Not part of the site but easily reached.

To be honest, we spent little time on the site, but used it as a base. The children loved the walk along the Thames into Oxford.

Great for a weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzamber 5 reviews from this member

 Campsite is ideal for those wishing to visit Oxford. The campsite staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there is a great pub about 10 minutes walk away that sold good food at a reasonable price.

I found the shower / toilet area to be adequate.

Being a touring cyclist, I was charged £6. 50, which I though was good value.

On a negative side, there is a fair bit of noise at night, the site being very close to a rail-line and what can be best described as a 'heavy cooling plant'.

Would I re-visit - yes. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oxford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement