Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX1 4XG
Tel: 01865 244088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rebecca Perrin 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Thursday afternoon and was meet by the site manager, she was fab full of info regarding walking our dog.

Also talked us throught the site and explained that all the facilities except the washing up area was closed (due to covid).

The site was clean and the bins were regualy cleaned and enptied.

We had a long and very enjoyable walk a long the Themes.

Draw backs: the road noise was realy bad also the freight train ran through right next to the site and to top it off the local Dairy was just across the rail way line so not a lot of sleep was had. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming site. Tony was most helpful. Pitch was level.

Facilities were closed due to Covid. Great location from which to explore oxford & surrounding areas.

Recommend visit to Blenheim palace and Woodstock. Low scores on facilities as they were closed and not because adequate.

Low score for child friendly couldn’t comment as didn’t have any with us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jon-quirk 1 review from this member

 Great site with park and ride to city centre on the doorstep.

Tesco express and Go Outdoors shop very near by too.

No drive over motor home service point though.

Shower blocks closed due to Covid.

Really friendly welcome 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 14 reviews from this member

 The site is in a great location to visit Oxford - easy access from the A34 and busses into the city go from the park and ride opposite. It's our first choice for a city break.

Very friendly welcome from the wardens, in the winter they park the motorhomes along the access roads to avoid them sinking into the grass which is a great idea.

The toilet block is a bit dated, but we tend to use our own facilities so we're not too bothered about that. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 37 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover on the way down to Portsmouth. We are not club members so pulled in about 1. 45pm and found reception was closed from 1 to 2pm.

The warden gave us a very warm welcome and came round to see if we needed help to pitch up. We have a very nervous collie and she was absolutely brilliant with him.

We were a bit concerned about the electricity supply which appeared to be live cables lying on the ground to plug into. I am not sure this is a good idea, particularly in wet weather and also thinking about children and dogs running around.

The toilet facilities were perfectly adequate, although dated. There was some train and traffic site which did not bother us, and it is a city centre site.

We walked into Oxford in the afternoon, which was a pleasant walk and took us about 45mins. As we only used the site for one night this is a snapshot view only.

Very convenient for Oxford and we hope to return in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gu53bee 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome, giving us lots of info.

Glad we knew it was ‘behind Go Outdoors’ before arrival as it helped to find it and gave us more confidence to drive up alongside the store.

From the site, we walked into Oxford, with paper directions from the warden. Make sure you take note of where you start along the river, I nearly missed it on the way back.

We’re slow walkers so it took nearly an hour, but it’s really interesting so totally worth it.

Next day we used the park and ride opposite the site. Buy your tickets on the bus, not from the machines, or you’ll be paying for parking as well.

You can’t see this from the site so feel like you’re in the countryside.

The day after, we walked down to the Open Air swimming pool. Great fun.

Half way back, we sat at the pavement Turkish cafe and watched the world go by. I’d recommend their hot sandwiches.

Toilet block in need of refurbishment but were sufficient. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John&lynn 8 reviews from this member

 Went to this site as wanted to visit the Oxford area, just out side site is the redbridge park and ride with buses going into Oxford every 10 mins, also Blenheim palace is well worth a visit only a few miles away,

The site is ok grass only pitches, and very friendly staff who seem on top of everything,

There is a lot of train noise on site at all hours plus a busy main road, but it is a city centre site so you cant expect peace and quiet, and it is the wrong site for you if that is what you are after,

The main downside to this site for me is the facilities are very old and not fit for purpose in the 21st century, the wastewater empty point is at once side of the dishwashing facilities, and the toilet chemical waste at the other side, and all these are in the outside of the building with little separating them, not very hygienic as very worn and old, also the showers are definitely not for the faint hearted, water does not run away and you are paddling in it after few mins and the whole block looks tired and grubby, saying this it is not the wardens fault as you cant polish years of neglect out, they need pulling down and rebuilding, but I understand it is a problem with lease that stops this,

Overall a good site to visit oxford, if you except its problems. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave A34 (Oxford Southern/Western Bypass) onto the A4142 signed for London. At the top of the slip road take turning to left following campsite and Park and Ride signs into Abingdon Road. Once over railway bridge look out for a blue building which is Go Outdoors. Turn down the side of the shop at the C&CC sign. Continue to the campsite at the end of the car park.

This campsite is set in an urban environment less than two miles from Oxford City Centre with easy access from the Oxford bypass. The site is open all year and accepts non-members.

There are 90 grass pitches which do undulate a little so some levelling may be required. Over winter when weather conditions are bad the wardens may decide to position units on the tarmac site roads to avoid problems with getting stuck on the grass.

Not all pitches have electrics so this must be specified when booking. Electric points are rated at 10 amps and use CEE 17 blue connectors. Water points are dotted around the campsite but grey waste can only be disposed of at the toilet block. The same is the case with chemical toilet emptying. Rather surprisingly, given the number of motorhomes that use the site there is no dedicated grey waste emptying point for motorhomes.

You are required to decant waste water into a container to dispose of it. There is one central toilet block which is utilitarian rather than luxurious. In the same block is a laundry and a small information room. At the other end of the block are four washing up sinks which have overhead weather protection but are not fully enclosed. Rather strangely the four washing up sinks are separated by the (enclosed) chemical emptying point!

Reception sells a few essentials. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. Not the fastest but it seem reasonably reliable. I managed to get good 4G coverage on my phone. There are no on site facilities for children but there is a public playground nearby. During our weekend visit we found the site quite peaceful but given its location there will be some rail and road noise.

The beauty of this site is its proximity the City of Oxford. The site also has excellent bus links into the City either from outside of the site or the Park and Ride which is a few minutes’ walk away. The site is right next door to a branch of Go Outdoors so very handy if you need any camping essentials.

About five minutes’ walk along Abingdon Road is a Tesco Express for any basic food shopping. As to be expected there are many choices of restaurants for all tastes in the centre of Oxford. The refurbished Westgate shopping centre now contains a John Lewis store.

The centre also has a roof terrace with lovely views over the city. The Tourist Information Centre is in Broad Street where you can find lots of information about Oxford and guides and maps are on sale.

If you are a fan of Colin Dexter’s Morse books reception will sell you a 50P guide to the locations used in the TV series. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 107 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we've stayed at this campsite. The standard C&CC site rules apply. We braved sub zero temperatures overnight although thankfully there was a heater left on in the wash rooms. The toilet block, as clean as ever, but is still long overdue refurbishment.

We were directed to the tent area at top of the field alongside a hedge. The hedge had been recently cut and all the blackthorn clippings left across the pitches. Not helpful when on an air bed, so much time was spent clearing the site of these thorns before putting up the tent. Usual road and rail noise through the night.

Helpful staff, clean facilities, hot water, close to Park and ride (£4. 80 for 2 adults return), buses every few minutes, mini Tesco nearby, Duke of Monmouth pub nearby or a lovely walk beside the River Thames at Iffley Lock.

Still the best campsite for visiting Oxford. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smelljeffshand 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights here.

PROS.

1. Staff friendly

2. Site well kept and in order

3. Next to 'go outdoors' (bonus) get discount if you are staying on site.

4. Pitches are quite spacious.

5. Easy access into Oxford and iffley village. Good walking along the Thames.

6. On site shop is ok.

CONS.

1. Its not a quite site positioned between marshalling yard and the roadway ( ear plugs recommended )

2. The ground is very uneven and lumpy.

3. The toilet block is very dated but it is functional. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oxford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement