Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 135 Reviews
                7/10 from 135 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gelab 7 reviews from this member

 Very helpful and informative staff.

Good bus link into Oxford,

Unfortunately, the on site facilities were restricted due to a building problem with the toilet block - but we forewarned and, as we can be self-sufficient on that score, we were happy to continue with our booking.

We would have preferred better recycling options for rubbish. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueco9 1 review from this member

 This was our first experience of holidaying in a motor home. We absolutely loved it here. If you like peace and quiet with fantastic views this site fills the brief.

The facilities are basic but perfectly usable,

Peter, the host very friendly and really helpful. We have moved to a large purpose built site now and not 4 ud 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuee 29 reviews from this member

 It's easily accessible location, just off the ring road and Abingdon road, near the park and ride.

A lovely flat site within easy walking distance of central Oxford and it's marvelous bus service. Ideal for dog owners too as there are parks and riverside walks nearby.

There's even a multitude of scooters for hire for the brave.

The amenity block was well equipped and heated. The door lock code c&cc seem to insist on was actually visible without using ( forgotten) reading glasses and I managed to access it within time.

The staff were very obliging but methodical and insist on walking you too your pitch in all weather.

There were ample bins and recycling was available just outside. Similar with water and electricity points, although due to the extreme cold weather several of these were frozen solid.

For the same reason, winter pitches were, predominantly on hard-standing and therefore fewer in number to preserve the grass and avoid muddy sinkage.

It was our second visit and certainly not our last, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnr7 1 review from this member

 Very nice site friendly staff.

Handy for the park and ride that is just across the road.

Facilities good. Nice walk along the river Thames into Oxford. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jester132 13 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent little campsite which is ideally placed for visiting Oxford and the surrounding countryside situated almost adjacent to the Park and Ride.

One thing which lets the site down is the poor quality of the showers. They are adequate the water is hot, but because of the size of the individual cubicles everything gets wet and it is difficult to keep your clothing and the changing area dry.

The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 4BuL 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately no hook up which I needed for medical reasons.

Fortunately we could stay next day on a late arrive pitch.

It seems that Oxford camp side is always fully booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahh56 55 reviews from this member

 Within walking distance to the city either along the river or road and the park and ride bus is opposite the site.

The roads around the site are very uneven, so be careful.

The facilities were OK but very dated. We tried to use them the first morning but they are closed from 10. 30am for cleaning! Surely 1 or 2pm would be better when most people are out.

We would return if we wanted to visit the city again as the location is good, just a shame the club hasn't invested in the facility block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nobbygezza 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived late around 8pm no problem we had phoned ahead, warden was waiting for us to show us to our pitch.

On setting up our new van everything clearly different from my last I couldnít get my head around why I had alarms keep going off for the fridge and heating etc, it wasnít until a lady in a adjacent caravan came over asking if I had any electricity? that it dawned on me that we had no continuous power as it kept tripping out, I didnít realise because I had lights and radio not realising the power had gone off and everything was auto switching to gas.

It turned out the whole site was out and had been tripping out for a couple of hours prior to my arrival. It was a pity the warden didnít advise me of this it would have saved a lot of head scratching and confusion, I was fortunate enough to have 12 volt lights and gas where as some had nothing, the next day we were all given a letter reminding us that the site only has 10 amp supply.

The road and some pitches are very uneven, there is a bit of noise from the roads railway and delivery yard adjacent to site so no good if you want peace and quiet.

The site was clean but very dated would definitely benefit from having a refurbishment, surprised really it is in the state it is.

The location is good for Oxford city centre and would recommend walking to the park and ride opposite the site and catching the bus rather than getting it from the bus stop around corner as the fare is £2 cheaper,

Not sure I would rush back Iím pretty sure I could find a site just outside Oxford with better facilities and quieter, but still use the park and ride to enter the city 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiznlil 42 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a few years ago in better weather and returned because of location so close to the Oxford park and ride.

Yes, it's noisy but didn't bother us

Wardens very friendly and really doing their best to make sure no-one got stuck in the mud.

The pitches are really strange, we had to reverse onto grass but leave our front wheels on the roadway so we didn't sink, but meant that we were getting in and out on foot on muddy grass.

Cheap and cheerful, we'll go again in the summer! 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Great Caravan, Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/09 to 08/09

Held in Harrogate - a huge array of products on show. Industry leading manufacturers of holiday homes, caravans, motorhomes and tourers, with hundreds of different models on show. Win Two tickets and £500 to spend at the Show

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement