Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX1 4XG
Tel: 01865 244088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 129 Reviews
                7/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 4BuL 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately no hook up which I needed for medical reasons.

Fortunately we could stay next day on a late arrive pitch.

It seems that Oxford camp side is always fully booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahh56 53 reviews from this member

 Within walking distance to the city either along the river or road and the park and ride bus is opposite the site.

The roads around the site are very uneven, so be careful.

The facilities were OK but very dated. We tried to use them the first morning but they are closed from 10. 30am for cleaning! Surely 1 or 2pm would be better when most people are out.

We would return if we wanted to visit the city again as the location is good, just a shame the club hasn't invested in the facility block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nobbygezza 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived late around 8pm no problem we had phoned ahead, warden was waiting for us to show us to our pitch.

On setting up our new van everything clearly different from my last I couldnít get my head around why I had alarms keep going off for the fridge and heating etc, it wasnít until a lady in a adjacent caravan came over asking if I had any electricity? that it dawned on me that we had no continuous power as it kept tripping out, I didnít realise because I had lights and radio not realising the power had gone off and everything was auto switching to gas.

It turned out the whole site was out and had been tripping out for a couple of hours prior to my arrival. It was a pity the warden didnít advise me of this it would have saved a lot of head scratching and confusion, I was fortunate enough to have 12 volt lights and gas where as some had nothing, the next day we were all given a letter reminding us that the site only has 10 amp supply.

The road and some pitches are very uneven, there is a bit of noise from the roads railway and delivery yard adjacent to site so no good if you want peace and quiet.

The site was clean but very dated would definitely benefit from having a refurbishment, surprised really it is in the state it is.

The location is good for Oxford city centre and would recommend walking to the park and ride opposite the site and catching the bus rather than getting it from the bus stop around corner as the fare is £2 cheaper,

Not sure I would rush back Iím pretty sure I could find a site just outside Oxford with better facilities and quieter, but still use the park and ride to enter the city 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiznlil 41 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a few years ago in better weather and returned because of location so close to the Oxford park and ride.

Yes, it's noisy but didn't bother us

Wardens very friendly and really doing their best to make sure no-one got stuck in the mud.

The pitches are really strange, we had to reverse onto grass but leave our front wheels on the roadway so we didn't sink, but meant that we were getting in and out on foot on muddy grass.

Cheap and cheerful, we'll go again in the summer! 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bikerider53 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown to our pitch. Our hearts sank as it was a well worn watery mud hole we were stunned I was told where to position the van and casually told it would soon (DRY UP?) so slip sliding our pride and joy into a soggy mud hole we set up camp. As the week progressed and avoiding as much water an mud we could it only got worse a tremendous downpour found us completely surrounded by 4Ē of water I mused (IT WILL SOON DRY UP ? )

I was thinking letís get out of here but in a flash of brilliance a warden came to our rescue. With a barrow load of plastic duckboards help yourself he said ( I was thinking a rowing boat would be more useful) no signs of it (DRYING UP) left to paddle through water and mud not being able to enjoy our stay and no forthcoming help like would I like to try another pitch, we decided to end our stay a decision we have never had to make. Finally we headed home - an experience we will never forget in short a total loss as you can assume this site is not for us 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Marber 7 reviews from this member

 We were directed to our pitch which we then discovered was alongside the train track and the dairy (now that was noisy in the night), However seemed to get sleep! Older site but clean.

Jury is out if we would use it again but it definitely served its purpose and staff seemed helpful enough.

Very noticeable that one lady was constantly cleaning which was reassuring.

Walked to Oxford City using 2 routes. Handy site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Discodavey 4 reviews from this member

 Did not like the facility's, outdated, Did not like the uneven ground spot, rear of caravan bottomed out on first try to pitch it, more hills and valleys than wales,

Was not given leaflet of dos and don'ts including pass code to barrier and facilities which should be given out on entry to site, No mention of acrid smoke issue which engulfed the whole site for a few hours, which happens now and then, Covid rules in place good thing,

Go outdoor shop which gives discount to people on site good thing,

Will we stay again no due to issues stated, No night entertainment at all, Oh and the trains go by up to about 11 pm as well. Phoned CACC and got a "thanks for letting us know" response. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Thomh4 1 review from this member

 On arrival member of staff met me and was very friendly and showed me to great spot.

It is a little noisy but fantastic location for getting into Oxford centre.

Will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jimalor 3 reviews from this member

 Campsite was very busy and although we had booked a full unit with awning the pitch offered was a tad tight and very undulating, making it difficult to site. However we persevered.

Sight is very well maintained and the wardens are very helpful and extremely friendly.

The amenities were clean and reasonably good. Plenty of continuous hot water in the showers. No button holding. The showers are relatively small and the usual wet clothes situations are the norm.

Couple of negs. No access to any toilet when being cleaned which I think could be rethought, itís why we use campsites for the use of such services, and I didnít see a disabled unit at all but might be wrong 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 63 reviews from this member

 We use this site quite frequently when visiting friends in Oxford.

It's very well situated with good transport links to the city centre.

We find it, like most C&CC sites, quite regimented but the pitches are well spaced out and flat.

The facilities are adequate and it was good to find a larger shower with a seat suitable for use by those with disabilities in the ladies although this is not designated exclusively for the disabled so I had to wait to use it.

On this occasion the reception was not quite as friendly as we would have hoped for but it was during a busy Bank Holiday week. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oxford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement