Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
426 Abingdon Road
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX1 4XG
Tel: 01865 244088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 124 Reviews
                8/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Marber 7 reviews from this member

 We were directed to our pitch which we then discovered was alongside the train track and the dairy (now that was noisy in the night), However seemed to get sleep! Older site but clean.

Jury is out if we would use it again but it definitely served its purpose and staff seemed helpful enough.

Very noticeable that one lady was constantly cleaning which was reassuring.

Walked to Oxford City using 2 routes. Handy site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Discodavey 4 reviews from this member

 Did not like the facility's, outdated, Did not like the uneven ground spot, rear of caravan bottomed out on first try to pitch it, more hills and valleys than wales,

Was not given leaflet of dos and don'ts including pass code to barrier and facilities which should be given out on entry to site, No mention of acrid smoke issue which engulfed the whole site for a few hours, which happens now and then, Covid rules in place good thing,

Go outdoor shop which gives discount to people on site good thing,

Will we stay again no due to issues stated, No night entertainment at all, Oh and the trains go by up to about 11 pm as well. Phoned CACC and got a "thanks for letting us know" response. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Thomh4 1 review from this member

 On arrival member of staff met me and was very friendly and showed me to great spot.

It is a little noisy but fantastic location for getting into Oxford centre.

Will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jimalor 3 reviews from this member

 Campsite was very busy and although we had booked a full unit with awning the pitch offered was a tad tight and very undulating, making it difficult to site. However we persevered.

Sight is very well maintained and the wardens are very helpful and extremely friendly.

The amenities were clean and reasonably good. Plenty of continuous hot water in the showers. No button holding. The showers are relatively small and the usual wet clothes situations are the norm.

Couple of negs. No access to any toilet when being cleaned which I think could be rethought, itís why we use campsites for the use of such services, and I didnít see a disabled unit at all but might be wrong 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 45 reviews from this member

 We use this site quite frequently when visiting friends in Oxford.

It's very well situated with good transport links to the city centre.

We find it, like most C&CC sites, quite regimented but the pitches are well spaced out and flat.

The facilities are adequate and it was good to find a larger shower with a seat suitable for use by those with disabilities in the ladies although this is not designated exclusively for the disabled so I had to wait to use it.

On this occasion the reception was not quite as friendly as we would have hoped for but it was during a busy Bank Holiday week. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rebecca Perrin 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Thursday afternoon and was meet by the site manager, she was fab full of info regarding walking our dog.

Also talked us throught the site and explained that all the facilities except the washing up area was closed (due to covid).

The site was clean and the bins were regualy cleaned and enptied.

We had a long and very enjoyable walk a long the Themes.

Draw backs: the road noise was realy bad also the freight train ran through right next to the site and to top it off the local Dairy was just across the rail way line so not a lot of sleep was had. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming site. Tony was most helpful. Pitch was level.

Facilities were closed due to Covid. Great location from which to explore oxford & surrounding areas.

Recommend visit to Blenheim palace and Woodstock. Low scores on facilities as they were closed and not because adequate.

Low score for child friendly couldnít comment as didnít have any with us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jon-quirk 1 review from this member

 Great site with park and ride to city centre on the doorstep.

Tesco express and Go Outdoors shop very near by too.

No drive over motor home service point though.

Shower blocks closed due to Covid.

Really friendly welcome 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 27 reviews from this member

 The site is in a great location to visit Oxford - easy access from the A34 and busses into the city go from the park and ride opposite. It's our first choice for a city break.

Very friendly welcome from the wardens, in the winter they park the motorhomes along the access roads to avoid them sinking into the grass which is a great idea.

The toilet block is a bit dated, but we tend to use our own facilities so we're not too bothered about that. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 44 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover on the way down to Portsmouth. We are not club members so pulled in about 1. 45pm and found reception was closed from 1 to 2pm.

The warden gave us a very warm welcome and came round to see if we needed help to pitch up. We have a very nervous collie and she was absolutely brilliant with him.

We were a bit concerned about the electricity supply which appeared to be live cables lying on the ground to plug into. I am not sure this is a good idea, particularly in wet weather and also thinking about children and dogs running around.

The toilet facilities were perfectly adequate, although dated. There was some train and traffic site which did not bother us, and it is a city centre site.

We walked into Oxford in the afternoon, which was a pleasant walk and took us about 45mins. As we only used the site for one night this is a snapshot view only.

Very convenient for Oxford and we hope to return in the future. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Oxford Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oxford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement