Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Monkey Tree Holiday Park Reviews

Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Scotland Road
Rejerrah
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5QR
Tel: 01872 572 032
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 650
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Olliethedude 2 reviews from this member

Went there last year, going back on the 16th Aug for 2 weeks the staff were very helpful and the site very clean, my son spent most of his time with the Alpacca's when we were on site.

Too many pay to play activities such as a digger and miny boats that never worked last year, crazy golf very dated.

Could do with a slightly larger shop but overall very good

Great brochure pack on arrival,

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigfat-sam 5 reviews from this member

We visited with our friends for Whitsun week and had a lovely holiday, the weather was fantastic though which always helps.

Positives

Excellent package handed over on arrival, every leaflet you can think of, every thing you would need to know is put together in a handy pack. Good security system, nice restaurant and clubhouse for a pub style meal, shop not overpriced.

Layout of site is very good with high secure fencing around water areas, good play areas and well landscaped.

Excellent base with loads to do in the surrounding area. Recommend Padstow for crabbing, the beautiful Camel Trail and a speedboat ride but get there for about 9am. We tried the quad bikes and the karting, both brilliant.

Kids entertainment good with very patient staff, even when my two year old tried to pull down some decorations, very embarrassing!

Negatives

Some noisy few campers spoil it for others, cars open with music blaring before everyone goes to the club, that kind of thing.

The toilet blocks are fairly modern and new but the design of the showers means it's impossible not to soak the floor of the changing area and the entire walkway of the block. Go in your flip flops. No mop left out for you to clean up after yourself which would help enormously.

Friendly Warning

We both took large super-pitches, tucked away in the corner. Both pitches were huge, so much so that we had to go and buy another hose for the water and borrow some waster pipe, we weren't the only people to get caught out by the large pitches but these items were not stocked in the shop. Also take rock pegs if on super-pitches.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nogrod 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site last week April 2010, site quite

Because out of season, site was clean and well kept.

The fishing in there two small pounds is good and suits young and old. Site a short drive from Newquay (4 miles). Bar on site with entertainment at weekends, shop on site selling most things,

Swimming pool and takeaway and pub meals. There is also a large games room. Would call again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Judeobscure 6 reviews from this member

We frequently visit during the spring / summer season for the following reasons

a) Due to living locally we are able to get away, at the weekends,

b) Overall considering the facilities, it is excellent or even unbeatable value for money

c) During April, May, June and September the site has excellent offers for tents / caravans / motor homes / RV’s

d) Again considering the facilities, it is one on the cheapest sites during high season and it does not use every opportunity to extract money from its visitors

e) Normally we can get a weekend pitch during the summer school holidays, quite rare in Cornwall and f) the staff are really friendly and helpful.

As Simon has commented, there is some building work going on, (new shower block and soft play ball park facility for the children) this is due to be finished within the next 2 weeks and I think we were quite fortunate as there was not any building work during the Bank Holiday Weekend.

While overall showers and toilets are normally spotless, it is agreed the facilities on the rally fields are not the same, these are due to be demolished and rebuilt next year, in the interim if you find yourself on a rally field, it is only a short walk to an alternative shower block.

The faculties on site are Amusements, Animal Encounters, Bakery, Bar, Children’s Funky Monkey Club and Play Facilities, Club Rallies, Disabled Showers and Toilets Dishwashing Facilities, Entertainment, Early Arrivals Area, Fishing Lakes, Jet Wash, PADA Diving Centre Plymouth Argyle Soccer School, Quicksilver Surf School, Seasonal Pitches Shop, Take-Away and Themed Breaks.

Also has Loyalty Scheme (you should check with the site direct to check availability of some facilities during individual dates)

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonjenjosh 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from Monkey Tree, when we arrived at our pitch there was another Caravan on it so had to go back up to reception and get another pitch, the receptionist seemed shocked that there was a caravan there, but very quickly got us another pitch sorted out.

There is a lot of Building work going on at the moment, with diggers and dumper trucks going past on Friday all day, on Saturday morning they came past us at 7:50am I think the work should of been done during the Winter months, not during the Easter Holiday.

The pitch itself was a very good size with plenty of room for an Awning and Car and still had room to sit outside.

The toilet block was very clean and well kept, however the wife has told me that one of the ladies toilets were without Soap for the 3 days that we were there.

The Park is excellent for children and there is an amusement arcade with pool tables, table tennis and crazy golf, there is also fishing lakes and some great animals for the children to look at.

The fishing lakes are well priced for a good days fishing and they even hire out rods etc.

The club room is on the small side for a big park when we went up to the club for a game of bingo it was quite busy this wasn't even peak season.

All in all a great park situated close to the beaches of Newquay and the A30 we will be coming back again. Just a shame of the building work going on.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Frankie+1 2 reviews from this member

Nice friendly site out of season. Limited facilities due to time of year but not a problem for us as we were only using the site as a base to sleep. Toilets/showers reasonably clean. Site was safe and secure - saw a security guard doing the rounds quite late at night. This site was ideal for us as we had use of a car, but it is a little way out of Newquay itself if you haven't got transport.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris36 1 review from this member

Pitches are a good size, toilets and showers very clean (only problem on occasion was water pressure)and washing up facilities clean and tidy.

Crazy golf is in need of repair, table tennis was good value at a £1.00 for 1/2 hour. I can't comment on the clubhouse as I did not use it. The shop is well stocked and the baker's is handy. The pitch I was allocated was at the highest point of the site, which is slightly sloping and unfortunately got hit by high winds 5 nights out of the seven, 2 were severe, it would of been better in the middle of the park.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smallguy 1 review from this member

We have just got back from spending 2 weeks at Monkey Tree.

Just a few comments about certain aspects :

Location – The site is on a quite road and a little isolated. Not possible to walk into Newquay / perranporth etc. Bus stop is available at the site entrance. The site is on quite high ground and sometimes very windy. Some pitches in the centre of the site seemed to be more sheltered. The field we were on was VERY windy at times.

Pitches are very large – Upon arrival you get a ‘guide’ to how to layout your tent / caravan with a note that says that you will be asked to change the layout if it is not according to the guide. We didn’t follow the guide and did not get asked to move / change the layout

Toilets / Showers : There do not seem to be enough showers in my opinion. We went just as the high season was starting (i.E first week of school holidays) and queues were starting to form for showers. A bit ‘hit and miss’ on whether the water temperature was OK (some showers were cold, others too hot etc – when you find a good one try to stick with using the same one !) We had a mixture of weather and during times of heavy rain, the toilet / shower area remained clean and tidy

Entertainment – The club is not big enough during high season. Not enough tables meant that people were needing to stand around the perimeter of the room to watch entertainment. Acts were OK but repeated during the second week with little or no difference from the previous week. Party songs etc for children 19.30 till 21.00. Bingo 21.30 till 22.00 Cabaret 22.00-23.00. Disco 23.00 till close. Beer costs between £2.60 - £3.10 / pint.

Food – Avoid the takeaway – Portions very small and not the nicest. ‘Basket’ meals available from the club which are better value for money. We didn’t try the restaurant so cannot comment.

Swimming pool – Not big enough for the amount of people in high season but clean / tidy

On site shop has limited selection available – Prices are OK for emergency purchases. Best option is to venture out to Morrisons which is about 5-10minutes away

There are several play areas scattered around the park for kids. There are some coin operated activites - £1 a go, and only last for a minute or so ! Crazy Golf £1.50 a go and good value for money.

Generally, I would say that this site is good value for money.

We stopped at Hendra the same time last year, and felt that the £200 savings we made by going to Monkey Tree this year far outweighed the few extra’s that you get at Hendra. However, saying that, if we go to this area again, I’d probably pay a bit more and go to the Haven site in Perranporth (more to do for the younger children !)

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueandjohn 4 reviews from this member

We started our holiday in our f/c but after 2 nights if was so cold and windy that we asked to move into a static. The site manageress was really lovely and couldn't be more helpful , it only cost us an extra £3 as we had booked a pitch with a private bathroom.

The facilities were great (although some were closed as late in the season)and the halloween party was brilliant and a definite must do .

This is the best site that we have stayed at and the friendliest staff , we would go back again as the kids loved it.

Would also recommend the private bathrooms if you have young children as you can all go in together and it made it less stressful.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chez70 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Monkey tree, It was our first visit to this site and to the Newquay area.

We didn't really have great weather while we were there a mix of sun and rain and very heavy rain throughout the night almost every night, this left the grass very boggy, However we still enjoyed this site.

The site is a very big site with lots of touring pitches however because the size of your pitch is very large theres plenty of room for your caravan/tent car and awning you dont feel too close to your neighbours.

We managed to use the outdoor pool on two occasions which is heated but because of the outside temp your lips went blue pretty quick.

The on site site shop stocks a good range of food and non food items and all seemed to be reasonably priced. We never used the on site restaurant so cannot comment but did use the fish and chip takeaway that also sells nugetts and burgers and this we found to be nice.

There is also a pub on site which has childrens entertainment for the first part of the evening and a club turn for the latter. From our pitch you could her the music but this stopped for midnight which wasn't a problem for us.

The only down fall was the toilet/shower block wasn't the cleanest and the pressure of the showers was a bit weak.

All in all for the price of this park and its location in between perranporth and newquay you were never a long drive away from the sea. We would use monkey tree again if we vist that area again and hope the sun shines next time.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5607 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019