Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Monkey Tree Holiday Park Reviews

Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Scotland Road
Rejerrah
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5QR
Tel: 01872 572 032
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 650
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doe42 15 reviews from this member

Good access to site with touring caravan, reception handed us a pack with all the local attractions (Nice touch). Good size pitches. While we were there the weather was gale force winds and torrential rain but grassed areas were no worse than staying elsewhere in bad weather (which we have done a few times this season). Facilities on site - Shop, stocks all essentials required, Morrisons = turn left out of entrance, right at junction, right at roundabout and left at roundabout (about 10 mins away), Tesco = Truro. Pool - little on small side for amount of people on site (in peak season) and no lifeguard in attendance to ensure the teenagers obeyed the pool rules (a few were 'dive bombing' in pool and had a couple of near misses with younger children). Plenty of showers, water pressure a little low when full but if you go at less busy times of day, they were fine, clean and tidy. Beaches = nice cove near Perran Sands resort and Perranporth has few shops and nice beach. Padstow has lovely shops & harbour. Couple of playgrounds about the site, small arcade. Would recommend this site to families and local to all attractions and beaches.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judeobscure 6 reviews from this member

We are fortunate enough to live in Cornwall and spend our weekends in our Motorhome at various campsites in the County.

Monkey Tree is in our top 3 favourite campsites, it is our favourite campsite in the Newquay area. We have just spent the last 2 weekends there the weather was gorgeous, and we will probably be on site again next weekend, as will many campers who have a seasonal pitch.

This is an excellent site, the pitches are great and the communal areas are well maintained and very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful

If you wanted to you could spend all your holiday on site as everything is there, pool, food, shop, play area, laundry etc.

Alternatively the site is quite central for touring Cornwall and there are several beaches near by. Newquay is very accessable and bus stop at the site which saves trying to park in Newquay in high season.

Enjoy your holiday at the Monkey Tree

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 88 reviews from this member

This is a large site set a mile or so inland from the coast. It is quite exposed to the winds off the Atlantic so make sure you are well pegged down. You will need rock pegs.

Large spacious pitching areas are well divided by landscaped areas so the site never feels as big as it is. Toilet facilities were new and kept very clean throughout our stay.

We paid the extra to hire a private shower room suite and thought it was well worth it.

The site has a WiFi facility priced quite reasonably. The on site club sells drinks at pub prices and the well stocked shop is not overly expensive. Limited menu available at the takeaway, but again reasonably priced.

There are two on site laundry rooms with ample numbers of washing machines.

The pool is not huge, but is heated and coped with the numbers quite easily. Small play areas are scattered around the site, while there is a larger play area close to the club house complex. The adjacent rally/event area provides loads of room for games and flying kites.

There is an activity area that houses many inflatable’s and such, and is priced at £3 per day for a wrist band. Adjacent is the small arcade and crazy golf.

This is a well laid out site that offers everything you need. Pitching fees are below those of other comparable sites in the region and while on site you don’t feel you are being ripped off all the time.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alisonrawlings 1 review from this member

What can I say about this caravan park apart from Brilliant, was great from the time we got there. Pitches were massive, great location, toilets and showers absolutely spotless, we loved it so much we are stopping in one of their static caravans this year.

Great value for money and staff were really friendly, loads to do from activities on the park to swimming in the pool. They also have a wireless connection if you want to take your laptop. The site really has everything from young to old, it is in an ideal location with Newquay approx 5 miles away, Morrisons Supermarket approx 4 miles away and Crantock beach 3 miles away you can bike there if you like.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muppet234 1 review from this member

This site is great !
 
2 adults and 2 Girls 13yrs & 10yrs.
 
The facilities are good, staff are friendly and the place is kept neat and tidy.
 
We went the first week of August so you would expect the possibility of a little mayhem - but this wasnt the case. It was relaxing yet the kids where kept occupied.
 
I must admit though I would not have liked to stay in the Rally Field, it did look a bit grim up there, and I do agree with previous reviews that the wind seems to hit you there.
 
Thankfully we weren't on the rally field and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  The shop is decent, bar and entertainment are good.
 
The outdoor pool area is really nice, great for the kids when all you want to do is chill.
 
Ideal location for days out close enough to the A30 yet also for enough away not to realise it.
 
We had family staying at the Haven site a few miles away.  They loved comming up to Monkey Tree, and said that they would be booking for next year.
 
We will definitely be going back.  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Caz Thomson 1 review from this member

Monkey Tree is without doubt one of the best camp sites around! I have been to Monkey Tree lots of times over the years, as have my family, and each time we go it only ever gets better!
The site is huge, which is very practical due to its popularity and its facilities. How many camp sites can you go to which can offer you masses of space, a swimming pool, a clubhouse, arcade, take away, restaurant, a fishing lake, a playpark, a children's club, nightly entertainment, promotional activities, a shop, numerous places to shower, do laundry, designated places for dogs to be walked etc etc. And all within easy reach of nearby Newquay and Perranporth.

Monkey Tree is fantastic, it has so much to offer for families with children, couples of all ages and people who enjoy a variety of activities. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful in all areas of the site. There are security workers on site, as well as procedures taken to ensure maximum security on the campsite.

I would recommend Monkey Tree to all those who are wanting a fantastic holiday. You will love it!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amyitb 1 review from this member

We have just came back from a 2 week holiday at Monkey Tree and we thought it was very good. The reception was nice with lots of leaflets for things to do in Cornwall, and the staff very friendly.
There were only 2 of us (young adults) but we have a big tent (sunncamp vario 500) and the pitch size was brilliant, very spacious. We had electric hook up which was very close to the pitch.
The toilets were big and fairly modern and always clean. Every morning there was someone cleaning them. There was a lot of showers although at peak times you still had to queue. The shower head was not very good, when the showers were busy there would be hardly any pressure at all. I recommend not to go in the morning if you can help it! There were electric points for hairdryers/straighteners but only a few although I never had to wait to use them.
The shop covered all basic needs and I think was fairly priced for a campsite shop.
Although we don't have children we could see there was a lot for them to do, a number of parks and an activity area (bouncy castles, trampolines etc). This was for a price of 3 pound all day.
We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and a good size and also had chairs and sunbeds placed around the pool.
The chippy wasn't very nice and very expensive we thought. The restaurant is very small but the food was nice and fairly priced.
We tried the club on the first night and didn't set foot in there again. It looked nice and the bar was very modern looking but we didn't feel comfortable with the people in there. We are far from stuck up but we felt there were lots of 'chavs' that lowered the tone slightly. We can't comment on the entertainment because we didn't see any.
Overall we were pleased with the site and would use it again because we think it was very good value for money and nicely kept. The only downside were SOME of the other people using the campsite! But generally a very good site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zofo 4 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday here.  We enjoyed it very much.  We were in the new part, it had modern toilet/showers.  plenty of sockets for hairdryers etc.  The facilities were good although we never went in the pool, it looked nice.  The takeaway did great fish and chips. 

The site has a lovely new horse shoe shape fishing lake. Stocked with lots of new fish, My husband caught quite a few and I am sure when they start growing it will be great. The fish mainly were up to a pound and all different carp. Plus roach.

It was quite windy there, but you got used to it. My daughter only went in the kids club once, but she did enjoy it, they had a visit from an owl place!  Very nice

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frenchy 1 review from this member

Booked here for 2 weeks( last week july, 1st week aug). Had slight reservations as never been before and with a 26ft caravan in tow would pitch be big enough. Arrived abt 8.30 and was directed to a massive car park for overnighters/early arrivals. Booked in at reception where we received a very friendly welcome and got our barrier pass. We got pitch number and site map and were told if our pitch was free we could get on it straight away. Had a stroll round site, spotless loo blocks and massive pitches! Also small outdoor pool but always clean, a clubhouse and a place to eat. I have stayed at numerous sites in cornwall. Some good some awful and I would have to say that Monkey Tree is the best we have stayed on. So much so that weve already booked for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janice.40 1 review from this member

We arrived and were quickly dealt with by the young reception staff, given our swipe card and clear instructions to our very large pitches. We were near the new and modern toilet blocks that were very airy and spacious with working hairdryers and plenty of electrical sockets for straightners etc. We had five teenagers with us who were impressed with the bus that ran from the site directly into Newquay and the Nightclubs and Fistral beach!

For dog lovers it is worth noting that dogs ARE ALLOWED on Fistral beach with water bowls available too! We did not use the night club because we had a dog with us but the shop was well stocked with everything you would need and reasonably priced too. Only complaint was the water taps were not on a hard standing and the ground around them became muddy and soggy! Otherwise a very good site with good facilities, nice take away food service too!

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5192 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019