Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Monkey Tree Holiday Park Reviews

Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Scotland Road
Rejerrah
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5QR
Tel: 01872 572 032
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 650
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derkers56 1 review from this member

Stayed for one week on palm trees field. The pitch was a good size for the tent ( hi gear voyager 6 ). I have a 15mtr hook up cable and it just reached inside the tent. Rock pegs needed as in places ground was solid and bent normal pegs, I always take a number of rock pegs with me so it was not a problem. We were pitched with a choice of toilet/shower blocks one looked like a newish build and was brilliant the other one needed demolishing. Monkey trees is a large site it clean and tidy, well planted and well kept but for the size of the site the amenities drop short. Swimming pool was small but well presented, take away was ok cheap but only cooked a certain amount of food and when that had gone they shut shop, so after a night in the club don't expect a take away. One of the clubs was like a large conservatory were the dog owners used it had a nice relaxing pleasant atmosphere, the other club is were you took the kids, bingo, disco, games and live entertainment but club much too small. Shop was small but had the basics at a reasonable price. All the staff where friendly, polite and very helpful. Kids play ground was a good size, restuarant was good but too small. Overall a really good site but has the the potential to be a brilliant site. Would I go again, yes definitely.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisway74 2 reviews from this member

We had a good size pitch for a 10 man tent plenty of room. Found the ground hard for the tent pegs very rocky a lot of bent pegs. The site itself had lots to do for the family day and night kids enjoyed the club, if you didn't want to leave the site still loads to do large games room, trampolines, indoor play area swimming pool, crazy golf, play parks and activities. Also a lot to do around and about outside the site to visit. Evening entertainment was good few different things going for everyone. The food was also very good in the restaurants and takeaways places. Shower/toilets where clean washing up areas. A shop on site very friendly and helpful could get what you needed for your stay. We had a very enjoyable stay and would return again work permitting

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely 5 days here - we have an R. V and the pitch was fully serviced, shop not open too much but early in season - launderette facilities brilliant - just a shame that to access public transport we had to walk a mile up to the main road, and the road outside of monkey tree is quite busy, also have to say a very expensive site but very nicely planted and landscaped - would return out of school holidays again. We had a key to our own private bathroom which was lovely, have only ever encountered this in France -really nice touch.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J0GG 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit this summer so we had the privilege of visiting when the park was quiet and when the park was busy. When booking, the staff were friendly and we were made aware that as it was Aug bank holiday we would have to go on the overflow field. This was fine (although we couldn't find our pitch number). The nearest toilet block was quite a walk as were the washing up sinks. The newer toilets are far better than the older 'cabin toilets' as these let in a lot of rain water when we had some heavy downpours. We love the entertainers and it was great that they remembered the children on the second visit. We will most definitely be returning (and will just make sure not to book last min during busy periods!)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at monkey tree the 1st week in august for a week, we arrived on site after booking a superpitch only to find our twin axle caravan was too big for the pitch, a visit to reception soon sorted it out and we were moved to a massive pitch which even with the awning up was huge, it had a hedge on 3 sides so was quite private. We found the diggers for our grandchildren which didn't work and the radio controlled boats were all locked up, the arcade was very old fashioned and out of date, the takeaway food was cheap and horrible the music in the bar was very loud and went on quite late even during the week the park itself was clean and tidy and we probably would stay there again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickfishing 7 reviews from this member

Our third year here can only say site is very good facilities are cleaned regularly, and are very good, only down side club is a little small for the site size, fishing is ok, reception good, children's facilities are very good (although some of the things did not work, Perranporth is very nice (Visit the beach bar in the top ten beach bars in the world ) Newquay is a bit dated and needs sprucing up, Porthtowan is worth a ride to for the day (park by village hall pay in hall £3. 00 allday cheaper than local authority car park, all in all a very family friendly site and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarkac1 5 reviews from this member

We had a very good sized pitch, with short grass, and electric hookup, so no problem with the tent. The location is good, quite close to Perranporth. The facilities are not so good however. The toilets/shower block nearest us was shabby, in need of refurbishment. Likewise the washing up area. We played table tennis in the bar, with about the worst bats and ball you could imagine, right next to a TV with a broken screen! Tables in the bar look very sad. To sum up - good pitch, good location, facilities shabby.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The cat 2 reviews from this member

Have stayed here several times, in statics and our tourer. The statics have always been lovely and clean and the touring pitches are the biggest we have stayed on. The toilet blocks are rather varied, for example in the overflow field, there are portacabins and 2 brand new purpose built blocks (I personally preferred the portacabins as they were quieter and had proper shower cubicles), this field though is more exposed to the elements! In the main camping & caravanning fields there are again a mixture of new & old blocks. There are also 2 launderette areas, 1 smaller one located in an old toilet block and a larger one in a larger new toilet block. Some areas could do with better illumination. My daughter loves the on site entertainment and I have found it to be great value for money, although I can understand why it would not be to everyone's tastes.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshmamof2 1 review from this member

We have just returned from Monkey Tree and have to say that overall the park is fine, the trampolines and bouncy castle need fixing but the actual climbing frame/park area is really good.

The food in the club was beautiful even though they run out of jacket potatoes every single night and not too expensive. Caribbean night was great although the restaurant was cheaper than the actual bbq so we ate there instead.

The kids team could do with a bit of enthusiastic training but my kids were happy so it didn't really bother us.

The toilets were sufficient but not always clean although with a busy campsite and a lot of rain it would be impossible to keep on top of. The cleaning lady also collects glasses and dishes in the night and even though her english was minimal she was always eager to please.

Will definitely go back again but not in a tent, unfortunately Monkey Tree can't control the weather.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonzalo 3 reviews from this member

After arriving on site, first impressions were good. All the facilities you could think of were all present, including a very handy bakery for some warm fresh bread for breakfast. The wash room facilities were really clean and modern with all boxes ticked.

Unfortunately our experience was slightly tainted. We were put out in what must be one of the overflow fields. Wash facilities were no where near the standard of the main blocks.

The ground was very rocky just below the top soil, so pegging out was somewhat a challenge! The other big issue for us was the lack of shelter in our field. This ultimately cut short our holiday when the good old fashioned British summer weather returned with a vengeance. With no shelter, our tent took a battering.

I would return to this site but make sure the pitch is not so exposed. As always with negative reviews, it comes down to our experience while there. With better weather, the negatives would never have existed.

Ps. We had a dog in tow and they were very accommodating, as is large parts of Cornwall!

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019