Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Philpin Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Philpin Farm Campsite Reviews

Philpin Farm Campsite
Philpin Farm
Chapel Le Dale
Yorkshire Dales
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3FH
Tel: 01524 241846  or  07785244970
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 17/05/2021 to 10/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mullog 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip of the year and we will struggle to find anywhere as good.

This is a family run campsite and the members of the family are all friendly and can't do enough for you.

The barn was a god send for the kids to charge their phones and use the wifi and as people have already mentioned there is a freezer for your ice packs.

We didn't use the little cafe but it was always busy and the prices are very reasonable.

The showers and toilets have a rustic feel and were always clean and tidy, they were cleaned at least twice a day that I saw.

The owners are always at hand if you need anything and they have a wander round each pitch on a night to make sure you are all ok which was a nice touch.

You are not allowed your car on the field so we had to you carry our gear down the hill to find a spot because we were a group of 7 tents and we wanted to be together but if you are on your own there is room at the top of the hill so you don't have to carry the gear as far.

This is a better system in my opinion rather than having cars everywhere.

As we where leaving the farmers wife let the kids hold the lambs which made there day

Thank you for having us the campsite is a credit to you and your family and I look forward to coming again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 13 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site to try to complete the 3 peaks but failed again. Did walk up Ingleborough and across to Horton in boiling hot conditions. Caught the train back to Ribblehead, pint in the station then short walk back to the campsite.

Enjoyed my stay, shower was superb, site clean and tidy had the place to myself mostly, loved it!

Will go back as I have still got Pen y Ghent to do, hopefully this year. Friendly helpful hosts. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kingfisher32 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights on this campsite. We were there to do the 3 peaks challenge, as this is an ideal point to start, as it is directly on the route.

This is a lovely site with fantastic views and good facilities which are clean and tidy. The 2 showers are large with plenty of hot water.

We had a breakfast on 2 mornings which were excellent and set us up for the day.

There is also a large barn with wi-fi and sockets for charging phones etc, also a freezer for ice blocks.

With friendly and helpful owners, this is definitely one of the nicer sites we have stayed on. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strrider 4 reviews from this member

 Found the owners very friendly and helpful. A large shower was being cleaned when we arrived, where we found the facilities very good. Bought a full English breakfast from them which you can have at time you choose and is eaten in a barn where there are good facilities.

As we were walking the High Dales Way we also ordered a lunch pack as shops are few and far between in that area.

There was a good choice for the lunch pack and at a reasonable charge, the pack being provided with the breakfast in the morning at our requested time of 7. 15am. Dinner is available a very short walk away at The Old Hill Inn. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

 We go here every year for May Bank Holiday. Lovely friendly owners, snack bar open on site during busy times, great for an ice cream.

Good clean facilities, just could do with some kind of flooring in showers. Tent field is on a steep hill so you need to pitch at top or bottom to get some flat ground.

Perfect location for walking up whernside or Ingleborough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tlovick 1 review from this member

 This was our return to camping after 7 years following a very bad experience with a very noisy campsite. Could not have asked for a better reintroduction. This site is superb.

A quiet site set on a farm. The owners and facilities are great. We conquered Ingleborough on this visit and will definitely be back to attempt the next peak and will without doubt be staying here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 13 reviews from this member

 My first visit to the Dales and it was a big success. I rode up from S. Wales on my motorbike and the roads off the motorway through to Ingleton and then Chapel le dale were great for a biker.

A friendly welcome from the owners and a clean, quiet peaceful site. I pitched at the top of the slope and had some shelter from the stone wall of the car park as it was quite windy when I arrived. Great view of Whernside which I walked up the following day. The nearby Old Hill Inn gave me a good welcome and I enjoyed a lovely meal and local draught beers.

The showers and toilets were immaculate, with plenty of soap, shampoo, toilet roll, hot water. Also a bench, to sit on to dry your feet, with stacks of room to change in! Something that's missing in a lot of sites. The barn is very useful for many things but I used it to cook my breakfast and sit at a table in comfort, with the view to enjoy.

I did also take advantage of the farm cooked breakfast which has to be pre-ordered, also sandwiches for the trail which I should have done? I have to return here as there is so much more to explore and enjoy. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimbob4224 1 review from this member

 I want to to start this review by saying this is one of the best campsites I have ever had the pleasure of camping at. The farmer and his wife were very friendly and helpful, they would come round and see how your day had been on an evening and recommend places to visit, which I thought was a very nice touch.

They offered a pack lunch service (which was the best pack lunch I have ever had on the hills) for 5 each, there was a variety of options, all you had to do was fill the menu order slip in and give it to the farmer's wife before 7pm and she then delivered it to your tent the next morning at a time of your choice!. There was also breakfast option you could order but I never tried that, still a fantastic addition.

The facilities are basic but very clean and kept. There are 2 showers which are huge but again very basic which is all you need in my opinion. There are also 3 toilets which were always clean and filled with toilet roll. There is a barn you can use to sit in in bad weather which also has plug sockets in for charging your phones or using a hair dryer (if you really need to)

The camping area is really well kept, you can camp at the bottom of the hill which is very flat but there is a hill to climb when you need the toilet. Or you can pitch at the top of the hill which has fantastic views of Whernside and keeps the sun most of the evening. You can't bring your can onto the site but this keeps the grass and the site looking very fresh and clean, only a short walk to your car if needs be.

The campsite is a working farm so quite interesting to watch them at work, I can imagine it would keep kids entertained.

There is a lovely pub at the end of the driveway which serves excellent food and is very friendly.

Ingleton is about a 5 minute drive away, there's a Coop there where you can stock up on supplies.

At only 6 per person a night its brilliant value.

If your into your walking and outdoor adventures and want somewhere to camp in the yorkshire dales this is the perfect site. Looking forward to going back next season! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrissy1246 1 review from this member

 A lovely peaceful site with amazing views of Whernside - one not to be missed. Basic amenaties very clean and well maintained. Friendly helpful owners ready to assist even though they are running a busy farm.

Ability to order cooked breakfasts and packed lunches a bonus and the snack bar at weekends is great. Dont miss it,

the surrounding area providing great walks and easy access to Ribblehad station extending the walking area

Christine and Allen Haigh 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 7 reviews from this member

 I visited this site and found it excellent one of the best I have visited with very friendly owners and the walking in the immediate area is second to none.

The facilities on this site are first class with lots of room in the showers, you can even sit down on a bench to dry your feet! there is only one other site that caters for this.

The food from the barn is surprisingly good and the local pub is ok even if they ask you to use the 'lean to' when we were all wet and muddy which you cant blame them for.

Overall we stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Philpin Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Philpin Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Philpin Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement