Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Philpin Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Philpin Farm Campsite Reviews

Philpin Farm Campsite
Philpin Farm
Chapel Le Dale
Yorkshire Dales
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3FH
Tel: 01524 241846  or  07785244970
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 17/05/2021 to 10/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mica1971 1 review from this member

 Our first camping trip, and we picked a gem. Welcoming hosts, good size site with pitches at the top of a slope and more down at the bottom. (We pitched at the top, now we know with our large family size tent to pitch at the bottom next time, more room and no slant for bbq's etc!).

The grass was cut and was easy to put tent pegs in. The shower block is new, it has constant hot water, with room for your things, toilets are clean and well stocked with paper and toiletries. Washing up area is clean and has washing up liquid supplied.

Access to tap for fresh water. There is a large barn where you can sit if the weather is bad, or where you can order snacks/breakfast/packed lunches (homemade cake is delicious, the breakfast has to ordered the night before but is very nice and reasonably priced).

In the barn there are plug sockets to charge items/use electric pumps. My only suggestions to make this site perfect would be a freezer in the barn for ice packs, and better parking as cars are not allowed on pitches and finding a space in the car park can be a squeeze! There is little to no reception for phones and no wi-fi, but this to me is not a negative! Means people are actually talking to each other!

Plenty of walks near by, Ingelton Falls and the white scar caves are literally minutes away. There is a pub nearby that serves good food and Ingleton is close enough by car for shopping. Would definitely recommend to anyone after a quiet site, away from the hustle and bustle with good facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RRSuffolk 1 review from this member

 Quick review:

• Well kept grass and pitches

• Quiet and peaceful

• Clean and spacious toilet and shower block

• Barn to sit in in poor weather/alternative to sitting in small tent

• Friendly and helpful owners

• Great pub with good food just a couple of minutes’ walk down the road

• Breakfast/packed lunches available on site with pre-order

• Easy access to good local walks and the 3 peaks

Waffly review:

From the moment I arrived at this campsite I saw that it was perfect. There are two main pitching areas, one at the top of the field, and then one at the bottom of the slope down by the stream. The grass is very well kept. At the top you are close to the road but this is a narrow lane leading to a few farms, not a through road for normal traffic. The only traffic I saw was the farmer’s quad bike! I chose a spot at the top where there was adequate flat space for my small 2 person tent. I pitched up before checking in as this is what I had been advised to do when I called the site earlier that day. There are also signs saying you should do this if the owner is not around. The grass was perfect for pushing your pegs in by hand, no mallet required but the pegs stay where you put them.

I checked in and paid for two nights at the owners’ house, I thought it was very reasonable. The owners were very friendly and wanted everyone to enjoy their stay. They told me that the pub down the road was closed that evening, and offered to arrange for me to share a taxi with some other guests who were going into nearby Ingleton for food. Ingleton is 5 miles away and has restaurants, cafes, pubs, a cash machine, tourist info and shops (including an outdoor pursuits shop) and supermarkets. The owners will make you breakfast (various options – I had a bacon roll) and/or a packed lunch if you pre-order. There is a very clean toilet block with toilets, sinks, good hot showers (and space to put your things while you shower), and washing up sinks. There is a water tap outside but you can drink the water from any tap. The best part, however, is the barn. The barn is available to campers who might not want to spend every minute in their tent or outside in the open air. It has tables and chairs inside, is lit and insulated against the elements. It is also big enough for you to fold up your tent in out of the rain. As my tent is tiny I spent quite a bit of time in the barn. It also has a row of plugs that are useful to charge phones or use electric air pumps.

I went to the local pub on my second night. It looks a bit worn out on the outside but don’t be put off. It is much nicer inside – friendly owners and it serves great food - more than your pub classics.

All in all I had a perfect stay at Philpin Farm and would certainly stay there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moffsky 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent basic site in a stunning location (inglebrough out the front window and whernside behind).

The price adequately reflects what is on offer. Nearby Ingleton has everything you will need and the indoor barn is great for bad weather. We were blessed with the weather so bbqs allowed.

Nice and quiet too at 11pm which is ideal for children. Non regimented pitching meant plenty of room for us plus wide open spaces for children to play safely.

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dickmarl 1 review from this member

 Excellent no-nonsense campsite in a wonderful location part way between Whernside and Ingleborough.

Owners were very friendly and helpful.

Camping field was on two separate tiers and each was nice and flat. Grass was nice and lush - easy for hammering in pegs and good for playing on as well.

New toilet block was basic but contained everything needed including two good showers. It was also scrupulously clean.

There was also a barn which was available for sitting/hanging around in - fortunately we didn't need to use this.

A reasonably priced breakfast and lunch service was available - we had our own stuff so didn't make use of it.

The excellent Old Hill Inn was an easy short walk away - we had an excellent meal there (plus the obligatory few pints).

My son and I loved our stay there and will be back at some stage when we return to bag Whernside. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrcarllewis 2 reviews from this member

 A very friendly welcome from the owners who were very helpful and friendly throughout our 4 night stay. We were caving locally and it was a great base with easy access to local amenities.

We enjoyed a couple of great meals at the local pub and found them to be very friendly too.

All in all it was very good. At the time we stayed there had yet to be any shower facilities installed (they were due to be put in) and with only one loo there we a little bit of waiting around (especially on Sunday when the walkers used it too). I think the plan was to install some more.

As such I can only give it 9 stars but the small issues aside it was a very enjoyable stay and we will most certainly be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emily-Newt 1 review from this member

 Beautiful, peaceful campsite with a stunning view of whermside. The location is fantastic & family are very friendly. There are so many amazing walks to do from the site, we could have stayed longer than 3 days.

It's a new site so facilities are minimal but very high quality. The toilet was always clean & has hot running water. Having access to the barn is extremely useful & very easy to charge phones.

The only improvement needed is a shower and the family hope to have one next year which will really make the campsite 10/10 for me! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jet11 1 review from this member

 This is the first time I'd been camping in over 20 years and the first time I'd ever taken my children camping so I was a little apprehensive to take them to a campsite with no facilities other than a toilet! However I was really pleased with Philpin Farm campsite.

The campsite is down a farm track and through the farm yard and I drove past the farm gate the first time because the signage at the gate is very small and unobtrusive. I think this sums up this site perfectly. It is tucked away and therefore quiet!

You cannot take your car onto the field however there is a small parking area next to the field entrance which will take 3, possibly 4 cars if they park considerately. However even parking next to the barn isn't too far away for carting your gear.

The field has an upper level and a steep slope down to the lower level. We camped on the upper level and the ground was nice and soft for pushing tent pegs into.

There is a barn next to the parking area which is available for cooking in if wet and there are some picnic tables. This is also where the toilet is located. The toilet and basin are very clean and housed in a large tiled area. The owners do their very best to keep this as clean as possible and I even witnessed it being mopped out at 10pm! Would imagine the toilet gets quite busy in peak times given that the site is on the 3 peaks footpath however we never had to wait too long to use it. There are drinking water taps located both in the toilet and just outside the barn. Bricks are provided in case you wish to BBQ.

There is a snack bar at the weekends although we were not at the campsite during the opening hours to be able to use it however they will provide breakfasts or packed lunches outside of these hours if you request in advance - great idea!

The owners were both extremely welcoming and the views from the campsite were lovely - when the clouds and rain lifted long enough for us to see them! Would definitely recommend this site for a welcoming back to basics experience in a quiet and picturesque location.

Improvements I would make would be adding another toilet and maybe a shower. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere longer than a weekend if there was no shower, particularly with the wet, muddy conditions we experienced however it was a great choice for a weekend. Other minor niggles are the fact our next door neighbours allowed their dog to come and wee right outside our tent door and the selfish parking of other guests meaning I couldn't park in the area next to the field however neither of these are the fault of the owners and I guess are just indicative of some peoples attitudes today.

On the Saturday we walked up Ingleborough, the footpath for which starts just across the road and past the pub and on the Sunday we went into Ingleton and followed the waterfalls trail. Both highly recommended walks. There seems to be a lot of other stuff to do in the area such as the White Scar caves and the open air swimming pool in Ingleton and as we ran out of time I may well have to make a return visit to the area to pack some more activities in!

I have knocked 1 point off and given it a 9 for location due to it being too far to walk to Ingleton, 9 for facilities due to lack of shower and 9 for value due to lack of shower! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicemaylara 7 reviews from this member

 I'm impressed I found this campsite. It's not really advertised. Facebook was my main source for this one and the owner was very prompt with a reply re prices and access. Newly opened in April, it's an exciting addition, I have a feeling this won't be my only visit!

Location - 5/5

The farm is right on The Three Peaks official route. Below Whernside and just outside one of my favourite places, Chapel Le Dale, a tiny cluster of houses and a beautiful church (a must see). There is a pub about 300 yards away and another one a mile up the road. Ribblehead train station is within easy walking distance taking you to Settle one way or the Howgills and Carlisle the other. Amenities are at Ingleton (amazing bakery not to be missed) and Horton in Ribblesdale, both within 6ish miles.

In the heart of the Dales and sandwiched between Whernside and Ingleborough it's one of the best locations for hiking and mountain biking in Yorkshire. Start at the site and do the Three Peaks anti clockwise, discover Kingdale (on the other side of Whernside) or explore Dentdale on foot or by train. Visit the waterfalls at Ingleton or the geological wonder of Twisleton Scar. On rainy days tour the White Scar Caves, open all year round!

Greeting -5/5

Top marks. A really warm welcome from the owner and some helpful advice on where to walk to avoid a charity walk/400 people. Shown the facilities and left to pitch.

Pitch - 3/5

Tents only! The field is lush green and mown. There are two tiers, a lower, by an attractive (dry when I visited) beck and an upper section with arguably better, elevated views. It's fairly small, but being quiet when I stayed meant I had plenty of choice. You can't take your car into the field but there is a safe place to leave it right by the field gate.

Price - 4/5

£6pppn, no other charges. Although I've paid as little as £3 before I think the location and isolation of this site means it's worth the extra.

Noise - 4/5

This site is on a working farm, down a quiet lane. It's on the Three Peaks route so there are plenty of walkers passing by and enjoying the snack bar, 100m. No other noise, and at night, peaceful.

Facilities - 4/5

As mentioned in the intro this is a very new site so the facilities are basic, one toilet and a cold tap. However the owners plan to build a toilet and shower block for 2016. You can order a cooked breakfast, packed lunches or fresh eggs to cook yourself. The snack bar which fuels those doing The Three Peaks Challenge is really handy, ice cream, chocolate and hot and cold drinks all available. You can charge your phone for free.

Views - 4/5

Depending on which tire you decide to pitch on you get great views of Whernside. I love the little beck at the bottom too.

Comments

The location of this site sells it to me. There are so many walks to do. The snack bar is really handy as there are no shops nearby and the cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are appealing, especially for large groups. In bad weather the fact you can't take your car into the field might put me off but in fine weather it's not a problem. Expanding to another field would be great, I can imagine it being really busy in peak season. I'm glad I was able to enjoy it before it's becomes popular, because it will, there is no doubt! The only improvement (apart from the planned new washing facilities) would be a sign asking dogs to be kept under control. My dog wasn't happy with another dog running around us in the evening, stealing her leftovers! 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Philpin Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Philpin Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Philpin Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4813 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement