Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Norfolk Woods Resort (was Pentney Park)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Kings Lynn > Norfolk Woods Resort (was Pentney Park) Reviews

Norfolk Woods Resort (was Pentney Park)
Main Road
Pentney
Kings Lynn
Norfolk   (Browse area)

Tel: 01760 751370
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Statics Only Now
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 39 Reviews
                7/10 from 39 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mder 4 reviews from this member

The pitch we were given was opposite the park and pool so the kids had a great time, we didn't see them all day it was very safe for them to play out

The toilets were cleaned and well maintained and there is a fully plumbed in baby bath in the ladies changing room.I felt it could have been in a unisex bit for dads too.

The spa shop and the reception area good well stocked and cheap stuff but only has steps to it night mare with buggy but it doesn't say they plan to update this area.

The swimming pool lovely warm clean but it charges £3 adults and £2 so a family of 4 costs about a tenner which can work out expensive if you go a few times !they are my only faults

The place is next to A47 you do get traffic noise but not much just like at home really

Kings lynn 10-15 mins away and hunstanton about 35 mins too great place as a first timer I really loved it friendly staff and friendly campers!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Veronica60 4 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site. The toilet blocks are spacious and well looked after. Pitches are uneven but you just have to look for a reasonably flat spot. There are natural hedges to give you some privacy and shelter.

Outdoor pool although small was heated amazingly well and my son had a very enjoyable time in there.

There is an indoor pool but you have to pay extra for it.

The shop is well stocked and the food in the small cafe is good value.

I would definitely come here again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojosmith 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived (2 adults, 1 child and 1 baby) we were given the wrong pitch. We requested a hookup large pitch and were given a medium sized non hookup which after having unloaded are gear and half put up are tent we were not impressed. However one of the staff apologised and moved us to another pitch. We have a few criticisms and positives about the site I will start with the positives.

Showers blocks were very clean had good baby changing facilities and plenty of toilets and showers.

Outside and indoor pools were clean with plenty of seating around. The indoor pool was reasonably priced and it only cost £7.40 for 2 adults and 1 child baby free. You had an unlimited time in the pool which we thought was brilliant as many campsites pools we have used you are limited to only an hour!

Now for the negatives:

Pitches uneven and as it rained for most of our stay the site became very waterlogged

Spar shop closes at a ridiculous early time as well as the bar. The bar doesn't open on a Sunday

Rubbish bins need to be emptied more often

The food that the bar offers tastes lovely and isn't too badly priced but there needs to be more of a variety.

Gates to the park do not open until 8am and on day we needed to leave the campsite as had a emergency back home and we couldn't leave as the park owners use a big 4x4 to block the entrance / exit

Play area was ok but could be bigger and there were no swings for the smaller children

On the whole we had a nice short break here even though it rained for 90% of the time. We wouldn't rush back to use this site though.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penno42 1 review from this member

We have just sited our caravan here on a seasonal pitch and its a lovely site with many facilities including the option to eat out and have a drink without having to drive added bonus I would say and the indoor pool is also an added bonus when you have weather like ours its nice to have the choice

The facilities and the hospitality are second to none

Oh yes it is a bit noisy close to the roadside but if you don't pitch near then its hardly noticeable

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helann 4 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site on Bank Hol weekend. It was packed! The pitch itself was big enough but they seemed very crammed together - we felt claustrophobic! There were quite a lot of 'coach' sized campers which seemed to dwarf and crowd everything else. However a lot of people went home on the Monday and so it was more spacious then. The road is VERY noisy - it was constant, and on top of that there was a lot of air traffic noise from RAF Marham. Not a place to visit if you want peace and quiet.
The indoor pool was hideously expensive - just under £10 for a family of 4. We only used it once. If you fancy a walk before dinner (or after) there is nowhere to go. The site is bounded by 2 roads and 2 large dykes. You would have to drive to find a walk. So they were the downsides.
Now for the upsides. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Other campers were obviously friendly and honest because my husband dropped his wallet in the toilet block and it was returned to him completely intact. Thank you to whoever it was that found it. The little train looked fun but only runs on weekends so we missed that.
The toilets and showers were plentiful and clean. The showers were hot and had good pressure. The outdoor pool was fab. My children were in there just about the whole time and really enjoyed themselves. It was warm enough even though the weather wasn't great. On the whole then, we had a good week but I wouldn't rush to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danya 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Obviously family run with good old fashioned values - helpful, friendly, informative. Lovely outside pool, we were lucky enough to be sited next door to it so could watch the kids when they were in it. Modern shower blocks, nice and warm with good water pressure. Our 7 year old loved the train ride you can take round the site. We visited bank holiday weekend so only had one good day of weather but the pool was still open, even when it rained, so the kids were occupied all the time leaving us to relax and read the Sunday paper in peace! Hardly any road noise, generally a peaceful weekend. Lovely Chinese restaurant in Narborough (about two miles away) serving lovely take away or sit down meal. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julieg1230 2 reviews from this member

As the weather forecast looked good we booked this site on the Thursday for the Friday and Saturday.  I had read on here about the noise from the A47 and as we were in a tent put in a request for a hookup pitch as far away from the road as possible.  The lady was very helpful and this was not a problem although I was told we would be in the woodland area where we may have some shade rather than full sun.  We arrived and I could understand why some had mentioned the main road - the noise does seem to carry.  The woodland area was definitely quieter and near to the children's play area which was great for my 5 and 7 year old and kept them occupied while we put the tent up. 

We visited the outdoor pool as the weather was so good which the kids loved.  There is a shallow and deep end which suits all.  The temperature in the pool was 27 degrees - lovely.  There is only a small cafe (porta cabin) on the site which is attached to the Spar shop and Reception.  This is one thing we felt could be updated and would make a lot of difference to the site.  The staff did however recommend a pub, the Rampant Horse, in nearby Gayton, only 4 miles away.  It had a lovely kids play area and the homecooked food was great, definitely worth a visit. 

The road noise could be heard on site overnight but it tended to fade into the background the more you got used to it.  It certainly didn't bother us, maybe it was because it was a weekend with not so many lorries.  There are 3 shower and toilet blocks which were basic but had everything you needed.  The showers were powerful and warm.  The washing up facilities were a little limited - one sink in our block - but everyone there was friendly so it was a chance for a chat while you waited.  We spent Saturday in Hunstanton which was only 19 miles away taking a lovely drive through Sandringham.  We had a good time at this site and would return for another weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kimrats 2 reviews from this member

The site looks lovely, however my first gripe is the added cost of the pool, which is very tiny and easily gets full, especially as the locals have a lane for lengths. This is all well and good if it was a larger pool, but its not. We were a family of four and we went for our main holiday of the year for two weeks and £10.00 per day is a lot of money every day, on top of the site fees. There is of course the outdoor pool, if you care for frostbite. (to which I did challenge the owner of the site when the electricity blew in the laundry room due to the way the washing machines are filled, but that's another story (see my next gripe to see why that happened) The owner stated that normally there was steam coming off it? We never saw steam in two weeks.
My next gripe was the washing facilities. I had to fill the washer with buckets of water to work. Now doing the washing is bad enough without going back in time to do it.
The staff were friendly enough but, due to the cost, for a family that want to go caravaning all year, this site is way too expensive, and too far out from the things that keep the children occupied if the good old British weather strikes. We definitely wouldn't be visiting again, although having read other reviews of this site, I have to say that the meal in Frankie and Benny's was very nice! And we too also spent another small fortune on the sea life center, and various other trips out.

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyandLynda 3 reviews from this member

As we arrived at this site we noticed there were quite a lot of caravans already on site and expected it to be quite busy but we soon realised that almost all the vans were on seasonal pitches and were empty so the site was very quiet. The traffic on the nearby road could be heard but was not as loud as the jets taking off from the nearby RAF base, it shook our cupboard doors. The toilet blocks were not very good, one had a heater but had no hot water and the other was cold damp and smelly. They do not need upgrading they need pulling down. The only chemical toilet emptying point that was in working order was at the far end of the site so it meant a long walk carrying the cassette or using the car.

The site is in woodland and has a good playground and the indoor pool is very good with only one but very nice shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the shop was well stocked.

Date of Visit: January 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachael Groves 7 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite for a winter break over New Year. The campsite was great for our purposes but I have a couple of gripes!
 
There was a lovely indoor swimming pool but this did cost us an extra £10 each day on top of our site fees to get in. It was great for keeping the kids amused though. There was also a gym which we understood we could use. On our 2nd day there I went to have a run on the treadmill there only to be told by the owner that I couldn`t use it unless I`d had an hour long induction costing me a further £12! Furthermore she couldn`t do my induction until the following day which would have only allowed me 2 days use of the gym.I decided this was a bit steep but had it been explained to me on arrival I might have made use of it.
 
Tha toilet facilities were very good & always spotlessly clean. Being winter they were always lovely & warm.
 
The position of this campsite lets it down being next to an extremely busy & very noisy trunk road. The noise could be heard throughout the night.It was also close to an airforce base & on the day we left the noise from the planes taking off every 10 minutes or so was phenominal!
 
There was plenty to do in the area. Being a winter break we couldn`t do much with the kids outside.We had a good day out at the sea life centre in Hunstanton, had an excellent meal at Franky & Benny`s in Kings Lynn (booking recommended!) & had pre booked tickets before we went to the panto at the Princess Theatre in Hunstanton which was excellent!There was also an outdoor ice skating rink at Sandringham.
 
All in all we had a good time.I definitely wouldn`t come here for a main or summer holiday due to the noise but it was great for a short winter break, so we`ll probably visit again.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019