Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pentney Park Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Pentney Park Caravan & Camping Site
Main Road
Pentney
Kings Lynn
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE32 1HU
Tel: 01760 337479
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 170
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 39 Reviews
                7/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Freddiegreg 8 reviews from this member

We had the worst start to our summer holiday - overturning our caravan on the M4 on our way to a fortnight in Devon. Consequently we had no means of going on holiday and only this 2 weeks off work. We borrowed my sister's tent and equipment and managed to find a site with space but, to be honest, were not too hopeful. I'm not the most enthusiastic camper but needed my holiday so decided to make the best of it.

First hitch - halfway there we realised I had booked a non-electric pitch. Disaster, as it was Olympic week and along with my cup of tea in the morning I need my radio! However, on arrival at the site I explained my mistake to the owner who was completely non-fazed (must be used to stupid campers) and found us an electric pitch with no fuss, even going to extra lengths to find a good pitch, not just any old pitch.

The staff were all lovely, very pleasant and helpful, always asked how we were, how things were going etc.

Our pitch was a good size, particularly as our tent was 7. 2x3m and partially under trees so had shelter during the sun.

From reading other reviews I can hardly believe we are reviewing the same site. We had virtually no trouble with insects; a couple of bites in a week is not excessive.

Yes, the toilet blocks are not luxurious but very spacious. There are 3 blocks all with loos, showers, mirrors, basin and private basins. They are cleaned regularly, never ran out of loo paper and, particularly surprising as we went in August, we never had to queue.

We used the outdoor pool 5 times during our stay. It does not have a lifeguard but this is well signposted and actually gives the children a bit more free-reign to do what they are not allowed to do in public pools. There were no naughty children dive-bombing others (except, maybe my son!) as parents were all there keeping an eye on their children. It was a reasonable temperature, no colder than to be expected and once under was lovely.

There is a small shop which, I believe, doubles as the village shop. It was always well-stocked when we were there and offers an ice-pack freezing service.

The cafe/bar was perfect for watching the Olympics and offered reasonably-priced food: burgers, pizzas, fish & chips, curry etc as well as puddings. A life-saver when we ran out of gas!

We didn't use the play-area as our children are too old but it was well-used by other children. Ours did use the table-tennis table. The shop sells cheap equipment but had run out when we were there, however we found some in nearby Kings Lynn.

Places to visit: Kings Lynn has a lovely waterfront area and the usual shops.

Swaffham is a nice little town.

Hunstanton - typical sea-side fare - amusement arcades, pitch & put golf, fish & chips but worth going to.

Castle Rising - lovely castle and tea room. Beautiful village.

Castle Acre - the MOST beautiful village I have ever seen! Definitely worth a visit. Good pub, The Ostrich, tea room was recommended but we went to the pub instead. Lovely riverside walk and ford. If you have small children walk from the village centre under the arch, along the riverside at the 1st road junction to the ford. Cars are not allowed so the children can splash for ages in crystal-clear water.

Sandringham House - good for a day out, particularly on a wet day.

The beaches on the N Norfolk are good but we did not go this time.

Negatives: as everyone has said - the road noise. Nothing the site can do about this though. It was not disruptive during the day and the family were not disrupted overnight either. I am a light-sleeper however, and found it diffcult to get back to sleep if woken up.

Maybe the pitches in the centre, by the pool, were slightly cramped, could do with cutting back the numbers.

Overall though, we were very pleased and enjoyed our last minute booking.

Will we come back - probably not but ONLY because we like to go to different areas of the country every year and have done N Norfolk twice now. But we will recommend the site to others

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Getknottd 6 reviews from this member

Lovey area, lots of history and things let unspoiled. 20-30 minute drive to many different beaches. Showers and toilets were ok. Pool is an excellent bonus. Onsite cafe small bar and shop. Small steamtrain that tours the park. We were looking forward to returning this year after a 10 week break last year but sad to hear it has changed hands. Looking forward to returning soon, just hope that the new owners won't loose too much of the sites charm. Excellent value on long stays. Children loved the night sky's (a blanket of stars), beaches and charm of the area. Hunstanton sunset should be on everyone's to do list.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barney688 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 weeks here and this was our second visit to this site, we also did 10 nights last August.

The site is easy to find right next to the A47, the reception is welcoming although parking on arrival with a trailer or Caravan is not the best as you have to park on the entry road.

You are given a handy booklet on arrival, with instructions where to find everything, with opening times etc. And you are directed to your pitch, the map when you arrive is arrowed showing the direction to drive round the park, some of it is one-way, however there are no signs on the park itself, and often people just drive whichever way they fancy, or is quickest.

The pitches are well marked out and of a generous size, easily big enough for our large tent, car and trailer, the ground does seem to be over a lot of rocks/stones, the rock pegs were great, but we saw plenty of people bending pegs due to the ground.

There are 3 toilet/shower blocks, spread evenly through the park, so you are never far from any 1 of them, and all contain male & female toilets and showers, the middle one has the washing up facilities and the motor-home emptying point. They are cleaned at least 2 or 3 times a day, very early morning, middle of the day and a quick mop over later, so are generally always clean, there are limited showers so choosing your times wisely is advised, I usually showered mid morning or mid afternoon and never had to wait.

The site has a small, well stocked, shop for all the essentials, and some not so essentials, however it does close at 7pm.

The on site Cafe does evening meals from 5. 30, and also has a small bar with limited draft beer and bottles. We found both to be a little on the expensive side, although the food was very good quality, this closes at 10. 00pm.

There is a play area for the kids, opposite the bar/cafe area and the toilet block next to the reception/cafe etc. Has a laundry built into it.

There are 2 heated swimming pools, the outdoor one is included in the price of the holiday and is opened from 10. 00am to 7. 00pm (Approx), and is set to about 25 degrees, it is unsupervised so some do break a few rules, but on the whole it's great, and despite the site being almost full, it never seemed over crowded, though it did get busy. The building housing the indoor pool, that can be used at an extra cost, also houses a gym and a sauna, also available at a cost, we never used these facilities, but they open early in the morning until 10. 00 in the evening.

The site itself is well maintained, and the grass is kept short, and the site looks clean and tidy all the time. The owners are always around the site, and are very helpful and pleasant and easily approachable, as are any of their small group of staff.

There are signs for children/teens to be back to their units by 10, 00pm, on the whole this is largely observed, and the site really quietens down from about this time, most people were very respectful and almost always quiet by midnight.

As with any site, not everything is perfect for everyone so I feel it is only fair to point out the negative points as well.

Insects: flies, wasps, flying ants, earwigs, moths, green fly, daddy long legs are an absolute pain in the, you know what ! I know we are in the country, but in the 8 years we have been camping and the dozens of sites we have visited, we have never encountered as many, don't get me wrong, you are not swarmed, it just seems to be a constant nuisance.

As previously mentioned the site is right next to the busy A47, and whilst road noise doesn't particularly bother me, if you are after the country silence, this site will not provide it, and it could become an irritant if it bothers you.

Also whilst on noise levels RAF Marham, one of the busiest RAF bases in the country is located literally a few miles down the road, and is home to The Tornado fighter. This does provide some great viewing and photo opportunities, however the regular taking off and landing of these jets could begin to grate, particularly as they operate late into the night.

Pentney is situated in a great area for exploring Norfolk, with easy access to Kings Lynn, the Norfolk Broads, Hunstanton, Sandringham and even Great Yarmouth, while Swaffham a couple of miles down the road has Supermarkets, take away, pubs etc. However there is nothing off the site within easy walking distance, so a car is an essential if you want to leave the site.

Overall this site suits us, 2 adults and a teenage daughter as a base to explore a part of the country we love, with a pool to keep the teenager entertained, and with enough facilities to sustain a holiday without being at all commercialised. The noise doesn't really bother us, the planes for me become a pleasant background noise, and the road is far enough away from where we have been pitched to not be a major issue, however I would not like to be pitched next to the road.

It would not suit everybody, but would we return? definitely !

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tuppence4 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights instead of the 6 which we had booked and paid for, was very disappointing, the pitches were very poor and uneven lots of mole hills and grass untidy, we were pitched alongside and opposite the most dirty static caravans, It does state you are not allowed to clean your vans, BUT come on! We had to put our windbreaker up to block the unsightly view.

The club house and café was not open until 5. 30pm - 10pm very disappointing.

The noise from the A47 was horrendous, take ear plugs.

The toilets and showers were very basic, need updating.

The only good point, is that the staff were very helpful and polite, and the shop was well stocked.

Sorry would not return

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Techno kid 2 reviews from this member

To begin with the sat nav told us it was on the opposite side of the A47 so we had to turn back again. Not a good start. First impressions, good. Reception was friendly and helpful. Site was clean. Toilets and showers were cleaned regularly and toilet paper always available. The showers were very tiny so much so that my daughter really struggled with her two little ones and they were stop/start push button ones, so just as you got hot water through, it stopped. The shop was ok, but on one occasion, I couldn't get any fresh sausages and the staff member didn't apologise and couldn't have been less helpful. The cafe/bar only opened between 5. 30 and 10. The food offered was all cooked from prepacked frozen/refrigerated stock and took an age. The site was very noisy at night with traffic noise from the A47 and we had jet planes flying over every night.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mprince 4 reviews from this member

Visited with family of four, two children, two adults.

Reception friendly, with small shop. Useful information about area.

Toilet blocks - ok, but could be better for the price.

Level site, but hard ground, bent a lot of pegs!

Outdoor pool - good to have, but needed more maintenance, as a lot of insects in there.

A lovely indoor pool, which we used twice, but had to pay extra for this.

Good children's playground.

Would definitely return, as close to home for a weekend break, but is rather pricey, so we will only go for short stays!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chegre 3 reviews from this member

We visited Pentney Park with friends. Our daughters x 3 aged six and three loved it. They thought the playground was great and loved going in the swimming pools - both indoors and outside! The outdoor one was actually warmer! The train only seems to run on special weekends. There was a cafe / bar open evenings from 6. 30pm so we could have a drink while watching the kids play. The camp site shop is very well stocked and also has a good camping section. Staff were super friendly as were all the other tourers we met on site. There were three blocks - perhaps a bit old-fashioned but clean and empty most of the time. Showers were nice and hot. We pitched our tents under the trees near the indoor pool which was a nice place to be. We could hear road noise but it didn't bother us. Actually the RAF planes going over were much noisier. It was very quiet at night. My one concern was the entrance to the site is quite near the playground and local residents also use the shop so we had to make sure the kids didn't stray too close as there were cars and then the entrance to the lane. This site is near Kings Lynn which is great for shopping and we enjoyed a morning at The Walks which is a big park with a huge playground and cafe selling coffee and snacks. We would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Virgincampers71 5 reviews from this member

Had a few days here - a lovely campsite - although our pitch was a bit smaller with what we are used to but managed to get on our 6 beth tent, gazebo and van with no problems. We did hear the busy road but didn't really seem that bothered by it.

Facilities - toilet/shower blocks - very dated but plenty of loos. Only 4 showers and the showers were push buttons (which lasted 30 secs per push) with a shower curtain - cubicles were pretty small but managed for a few days OK.

Outdoor swimming pool was very warm - and clean (although the horseflys were attracted to the chlorine which tended to dive bomb you in the late afternoon.

There was an indoor pool - but we never had to use them as the weather was very nice - but the facilities did look clean and well maintained.

Staff - very friendly and helpful

Shop - small but very well stocked.

Bad points - mosquitos! need I say more? - lots of them so go well protected with sprays and creams. All in all - cheap, cheerful and I would defo go again!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kugae 3 reviews from this member

Campsite was nice and pitches well placed, however, the toilets are very dated and in need of a revamp. The children's play area was great and we enjoyed the outdoor pool which was helped by a very hot day.

The nearby road is very busy and you could hear traffic right through the night which wasn't great. Most of the staff were very polite and helpful but not all of them.

We did have a good weekend due to the weather and the company we had but this campsite was not for us and not one which we will visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mariannemitchell 1 review from this member

I booked an extremely last minute family camping trip for Fri/Sat nights of the Jubilee Weekend. After ringing countless fully booked campsites I was over the moon to find a space at Pentney Park. I hadn't even had chance to really look at their website or read any reviews at all, but it was in the right sort of location for us and it had a swimming pool for the kids, so I took a punt.

The kids (aged nearly 4 and 1. 5) had a great time. They enjoyed the little playground which has a good climbing frame/slide, a little swing, a balancing beam made of logs and a sandpit. It was a bit challenging for the little one, but the older one could do it all unaided.

It was a bit too cold for the outdoor pool so we paid to use the indoor one. It was perfect for our kids. It's quite small and 1. 2m all over, so with their armbands they were fine splashing around. Me and my husband took turns to use the jacuzzi and sauna too. It's a basic little pool but lovely to have for a wet day at camp.

Not sure what has happened to the little train other reviewers mentioned, but it wasn't running over the Jubilee Weekend - or at least I didn't see or hear any sign of it. Shame as my kids would have loved it.

Our pitch was fine. Enough room for our large family tent without being on top of our neighbours. The kids got playing with the little kids from the tents either side of ours and it was all very friendly. We were under the trees which meant we were in the shade all day so couldn't take advantage of the nice sunshine we got on Saturday. We regretted not asking for a sunnier spot.

We were pitched very close to the road (not the A47, a more minor road) and we did hear some traffic noise which was occasionally loud but not noisy enough to keep us awake at night or anything.

The customer service for my booking, a couple of pre-arrival queries and check in was really superb. They responded amazingly quickly and were very helpful and attentive.

The toilet block and washing up block we used were basic but very clean and well stocked with toilet paper and soap (so nice not to have to take your own every time you go).

We only really had one full day at Pentney and we drove to Brancaster Beach (40 mins away) which was a lovely day out.

We had a nice stay at this campsite. I wouldn't rush back as it wasn't the most scenic or peaceful site, but for a last minute booking with no research at all, it made for a nice couple of days.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!