Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park Reviews

Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park
Lincoln Road
Tuxford
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG22 0JN
Tel: 01777 870264  or  07825093551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 touring + 12 seasonal = plenty for tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DerbyshireNow 1 review from this member

 We booked this site for the weekend as our first trip out in our new (to us) caravan. Booking was easy. Check-in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our grass pitch, arriving Friday evening.

Unfortunately, we had similar issues to the previous reviewer. Key to the toilet block did not work every time regardless of the amount of 'wiggling'. Good job we had taken our portaloo for the awning as it was needed on a couple of occasions having not been able to gain access to the toilet/shower block. Also like the previous reviewer, we found the number of notes all over the site saying what you could and couldn't do to be quite off-putting and did not make us feel relaxed or at ease.

Once in the toilet/shower block, the facilities were clean and fine. You get a good length of shower for your 20p. Ample hot water for washing up.

During the waking hours the nearby train track was not an issue, however, a freight train did pass during the early hours which did disturb us.

There were strict instructions in the leaflet handed out at check-in and notes all over the site about what you can and can't do. Just a shame the owners don't practice what they preach! Permanent pitchers and owners had a party on the Saturday which started around lunchtime and went on all afternoon/evening. We went to the local pub at tea time (which is very nice by the way), for some 'peace'. Despite the leaflets saying 'absolute silence after 10pm or you will be spoken to'. The music did go off but the noise did not stop after 10pm. The couple parked next to us were also none too happy about the noise either as they tried to sit outside and enjoy the warm evening weather. We were so fed up, we packed up as soon as we woke and headed home.

I'm not opposed to people enjoying themselves but when it is to the detriment of other paying customers. Not on!

As above, the local pub is very friendly (and dog friendly) and the food was lovely. There is also a local shop within walking distance.

Very disappointing visit and will not visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinkindleysides 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Greenacres on our way to Whitby as an overnight stop. The site is ideal for a 'stopover' if travelling long distances. The proprietors were very pleasant and helpful. The facilities are exceptionally clean and well cared for. Although some form of heating in the shower and toilet facilities would be nice. The local pub which is about a five minute walk does excellent bar meals. We were so pleased with the location of the site as a 'stopover' from travelling that we booked again on our return trip. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rodnpauline 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from yet another visit to greenacres caravan park in Tuxford Notts, would just like to say if you are planning a visit to this area, this site is well worth a visit, we have been many times before, and we wouldn't hesitate to return again, the site is adults only, only a small site, but beautifully kept by the owners Steve and Martin, whom on your arrival will help you on to your pitch, and are friendly and very helpful, the toilet and shower facility's are spotless and are more than adequate for the size of the site, only 10 minutes walk into the village of Tuxford, not five minutes walk away, to the local pub, serving good food, what more could you ask ? ! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stulie 1 review from this member

 Excellent Site with good facilities, very clean - friendly/efficient staff who have good knowledge of local area. Good site for walkers as lots of Public footpaths directly from the site. Local pub next door, selling food. Village approx. 10 mins walk, with fish shop, Chinese, newsagents, co-op and chemist. Bus stops at site entrance. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Estweyn 16 reviews from this member

 Well kept site, nice welcome from owners who took us to our spot. Lovely birdsong, sadly for us it was spoiled by road noise and passing trains but some people are not affected by such. Field opposite for dog walk. Good base for touring round area or a one night stop to break a journey. Toilets clean, a little dated. Able to pay extra for a late departure if required. We found it a little expensive due to noise element. Static vans on site and seasonal touring pitches, we found it a friendly site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcshane 1 review from this member

 This is a well run, efficient and clean site. We had no problem with a late check in on a friday evening, and found the site easily. The site is next to a railway line, which is not too bothersome, and we soon learned to ignore the sound of passing trains. The toilet blocks are not modern, but are pristine.

We had a pleasant stay in this quiet and friendly site. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CherylnAndy 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Greenacres. The site was very, very clean and tidy. The lawns were lovingly cared for.

The owners were very friendly and welcoming and made our arrival very simple. It was a pleasure to meet them.

We had our dog with us. It was made clear that he should be exercised off the park, which was very easy as there was a lovely field just across from the park.

The shower blocks were spotless. However, they are in need of modernisation and could do with some heating as it was a little chilly. There was only one shower in the male and female along with a disabled access shower so if the site was busy it may have been a problem. It was not an issue for us as the site was quiet. 20p for a shower was also not a problem as there was plenty of hot water and the shower lasted for plenty of time. There is also a laundry room but we did not use it as we were only on a short break. There is also a freezing block service for a very small cost, which is very handy for picnics etc. The gated entrance gives a feeling of security.

There is a pub (The Fountain) just up the road (well within walking distance) but we didn't use it as it is not dog friendly. Infact, compared to Derbyshire and North Yorkshire there was shortage of dog friendly pubs in the area. Tuxford village was a short walk away and Newark just a short drive.

This site would not suit rowdy groups but if you are looking for a quiet break from hum drum life this is the place for you. We will definitely be back there. In our opinion the rates are reasonable and we found it to be excellent value for money. All in all a lovely little camp site run by lovely people. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAGGIEANN65 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights on the way home from Northumberland. The site was very tidy lovely mower grass. The pitches are spacious. It was very quite schools gone back so that would account for that. The showers were adequate for our needs. We wanted to visit Lincoln for the day and the guys were very helpful. Lending us a map and telling us where the car parks were. We had a very enjoyable day in Lincoln. We did not need a shop or pub but the guy in the caravan next to us said pub food over the bridge was good. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Erikheijerman 1 review from this member

 We stayed two weeks in a static caravan, which was especially prepared for us because it was the last one available. Everything clean and tidy. The place is very quiet, except for the trains that come by, but you get used to them soon. The owner was very helpful, drinking a pint of bitter with him in The Fountain nearby is great fun, and they serve food just better than in an average pub. Lincoln with its fantastic cathedral is just 30 minutes driving. The area is not that touristic, but for lovers of mediaeval churches there is a wealth of saxon, norman and perpendicular style churches to visit with fabulous carved heads and gargoyles. Take your Jenkins Englands thousand best churches with you and enjoy! Erik and Pieta, Houten, The Netherlands 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juliegoth 7 reviews from this member

 The initial welcome was very pleasant and helpful. The site was immaculately clean, grass cut, no rubbish etc. Despite the site being next to a road and a railway, we were not disturbed at all by either of these. The shower block was very clean, liked the music but is very, very outdated. 20p for shower but more than enough lovely hot water. When we were there, there were not many other tourer vans and it appeared that not many of the statics were occupied so the fact that there were only two showers was not an issue, but imagine it may be if the site was fuller.

The pub next door, The Fountain, is excellent in every way; service, food, presentation and useful shops within walking distance with cash point. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Caravan & Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement