Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochgilphead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Lochgilphead Caravan Park > Reviews

Lochgilphead Caravan Park
Bank Park
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA31 8NX
Tel: 01546 602003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: V650 2 reviews from this member

 A nice well cared for site with friendly staff, the shower block is a bit dated but was very clean with plenty of free hot water.

The tent field was in very good condition and the site was hardly midgey at all.

The site is within a five minute walk of all the shops and pubs with a petrol station and Tesco direct at the other end of the main street. It is perfect for a couple of nights stay with great road links to Oban, Campbelltown, Inverary and the Cowal areas.

The only down side is it can be a bit noisy with traffic passing on the main road but I didn't really have an issue with it.

I will certainly stay here again 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Skyeblue 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site from coming off Islay and found it to be a little gem. Great facilities, friendly welcome, and good pitches. Ideal for walking into town, which has a good fresh fish shop, and excellent wine and whisky shop, also a Tesco and a Coop store. The site has a small dog walk, but access to the Crinan Canal tow path. We only had time to spend 2 nights here, but are planning a longer stay in September. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

 The site is located next to the main A83 and is very busy with commercial vehicles, the site has a mixture of static vans and seasonal caravans, many of the workmen leave for their work early, so if your a light sleeper, wear ear plugs.

The Crinan canal runs near the site and is always a fun to watch the boats navigating the canal, the town has lots of local shops, the hospital is close at hand.

The site in my opinion has seen better days, although clean and functional the toilets and shower block are very run down.

You have a choice of pitches, 20 this month gets you a full service pitch on hard standing.

We find the site handy to restock, do the washing before heading of to your next location.

I hope the site upgrades its shower block before we return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skipper10 5 reviews from this member

 We camped for two nights in May 2015. There had been rain so we carefully found a dryish pitch. ( We stayed here in 2007 too and the grass/moss tends to be damp, so check. )

The reception, toilets etc. Were all fine.

All our pegs went in ok and the pitches are pretty well all flat.

The town has a rocky beach front at the head of the loch. There are plenty of shops, garage etc.

There are plenty of things in the area to visit, we walked the Beaver Trail.

A useful site for those of us on our way North or back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lin1087 5 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site many times over the past 30 years. It's our favourite place to break our touring holiday for a stock up in the local supermarket. Even using the laundry if running out of clean clothes. The warden is so welcoming. The pitches are spacious with water and electric on hand. The dog walk is convenient. Locally the chinese takeaway is good. All in all 10:10 we will be back for sure. See you in August. Thanks for looking after us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dawny14 6 reviews from this member

 A larger site than we would usually visit but lovely and quiet, good location with a small high street/petrol garage close by, pitches were spacious with electric hook up and water our pitch, showers lovely and hot, toilets and washing up area were spotlessly clean. Site also has a laundry facility. Site is dog friendly and allows bbqs as long as they are off the floor. All in all a good site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laings5 7 reviews from this member

 We returned to this site again with my brother, sister-in-law and their two children from South Africa. They really enjoyed their stay for the weekend in our tourer. Weather was lovely and they enjoyed the trip out to Crinan Harbour. The site was a lot more busier - it was Scottish school holidays - but the site was still quiet and nobody made a nuisance of themselves. The wooden fence they were working on the month before is finished. It is very good value for money and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be returning shortly! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laings5 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights at this caravan site and found it to be very pleasant and the weather perfect. Although ablution block is dated, it was always clean. Owners are very friendly and we're helpful even though we had arrived just before 9pm. We chose our hard standing pitch and sorted payment out the next morning. Site is very clean, grass was short and well kept. A wooden picnic bench was conveniently placed at almost each pitch. Wooden fencing was being put up in the far corner of site, but nothing to rob us of peace and quiet. Site has had a revamp and caravans/statics moved around. Small play park for the children and plenty of space to ride their bikes too. Loch Gilp is just over the road - we hardly noticed the traffic noise on the main road. Crinan Canal was beautiful and we cycled along the tow path to Cairnbaan where the locks start. Crinan Harbour is very quaint with a lovely coffee shop and hotel/restaurant. There is a Tesco Express & Co-op in town. Tarbert is a lovely town to visit and a walk around the harbour is a good day out. The surrounding scenery is spectacular - and we even took a ride down to Castle Sween and found a beautiful white beach with crystal clear sea water. On the whole one of the best holidays we've had in a long time - definitely going back. Even considering relocating to the area with our four children! Only downfall were the midges - so stock up on Smidgee cream & they will leave you alone. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

 This site 100yds out of town, ideal for visiting local shops / pubs. 'The Comm' pub did a OAP special. Any half pint with a wee dram. 2. 50. Various shops in town, all worth while a visit. Campsite has some 50 statics. Touring is all hard standing. With lots of space and very dry. Even though we had loads of rain. Toilet block dated. But. Very clean. On site laundry used by village. Not a problem. A83 runs by campsite, not noisy Hardley noticed it. Crinan canal close by, worth a trip to crinan harbour. Pitch price 17. 00. 2 adults. Free Wi-Fi. Very good value for money. If I'm in the area again I will stay here. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Cameron13 1 review from this member

 After spending time here last year in our tourer we decided to hire a caravan this year. The caravan was clean, tidy and was spacious enough for 5 people and 2 dogs. The park itself is situated in the town centre which is handy for the local amenities. There was towels and cleaning materials for use in the caravan. The site was quite and plenty of space for the kids to play and the dog run was a good size and length for them. The locals are all friendly as we found out in the local pubs. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochgilphead Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochgilphead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2988 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement