Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochgilphead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Lochgilphead Caravan Park > Reviews

Lochgilphead Caravan Park
Bank Park
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA31 8NX
Tel: 01546 602003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 202 reviews from this member

 This site is embedded in the town and made an excellent stop-over. The fish & chips from the main street are excellent and were still hot by the time we'd walked back. For 17 we got a hardstanding pitch & EHU - pitches are widely spaced and many are fully serviced, so we thought that was very good value, as the showers & hair dryer were free too. Facilities dated but spotless. With a car rather than motorhome it would make a good base - from here you can head south round Kintyre or north along the coast to Oban or west into Knapdale, or to the stone circles and chambered cairns of Kilmartin and the Moine Mhor (pronounced moyna vor). Site sheltered, in a week where the strong wind was a problem on the exposed sites with sea views. There was a well-maintained dog walk on site, and over the road there's access to the Crinan Canal tow path.

Some previous criticisms puzzled us - the laundrette closes at 10 pm, so the cars coming to use it aren't a problem, and it's away from the pitches. I saw no evidence of workers living in caravans, but we're increasingly seeing this on other sites, and have never found such folk to be noisy - the helpful owner lives on site anyway. There's a bit of road noise, but the hedge screens the traffic which almost stops at night; it's easily zoned out, not a problem. If you want a sandy beach, go to the west coast, not the head of a sea loch - but there's good bird watching when the tide's out. Yes, there's some tidy storage of materials and some older caravans on site, but we didn't find that a problem. For bijou coffee shops and galleries, go to West Loch Tarbert (but there's no campsite near there). Lochgilphead shops provide everything you need for stocking up.

I've tried to think of something that would stop us using the site again, and can't think of anything. So yes, we would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Hjgkb 1 review from this member

 I have never been accommodated so friendly. You can get everything you ask for. All you need is to go around and see. There is all for you in the surrounding. A central place to visit Scotland and find the very heard of Scotland. A lovely nine hole Golfplace 3 Miles to reach. A gigantic hospital complex. The best caravan site I have ever stranded.

Hans-Juergen Gahler 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

 The site could do with an update, but I must state straight away that these were by far the hottest showers we had all week!

The facilities are dated, but clean. I didn't use the laundry but as the previous person stated was for public use. There are pitches for caravan and some modern statics.

There are a selection of restaurants within easy walking distance and the loch is just over the road. There is a Co-op store just around the corner. And a couple of bars/pubs in the main street

The road didn't bother us.

The cost was reasonable including electric.

As to the site itself, it looked a bit unloved, pitches had a few weeds, but well spaced out - a bit of a tidy up and getting rid of some of the spare parts would give a better impression. For the facilities I used I felt the site was adequate - my overall rating is for the facilities I used

With a bit of TLC and updating the site would be a good overnight stop. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Badly executed site complete with half completed jobs, storage for boats plus cars, plus caravans, this site is combination of touring pitches and statics. The dilapidated caravans provided temporary housing for workers. Laundry is open to the public. Site is adjacent the main A83 with its steady flow of traffic and emergency services. Loch Gilp is on the opposite side of this busy road, but is so shallow it becomes huge mud bank when tide is out.

The only positive thing from this site is the access to the Crinan Canal with its 8 mile connection between Loch Fyne and the Sound of Jura, with towpaths for walking/cycling and used by ocean going yachts/boats as a short cut. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Double d33 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a week in this campsite with both and tent and caravan and found that it prices were good making it good value for our money, very easy to find just of the main street though the sign for it could be better posted.

The campsite is clean and tidy and peaceful and quiet. Toilets and showers kept clean and tidy. There is a area to walk your dogs which is also kept clean and tidy.

All the tourer sites had electrical hook up and running water though there was a dishwashing area again this was clean and tidy. I will be going back again.

It has a great play area for younger children and the local swimming baths are only 5 minutes from the campsite. It is also 2 minutes from the main street and 30 secs from the beach.

The Crinian canal is also 5 mins from the campsite and the walk along is a great walk again it is kept clean and tidy. I wil be going back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

 On the whole a very nice site. Good toilet/shower block with free showers, and good and roomy cubicles, laundry and dish washing facilities.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and dogs were welcomed. There is a dog walking area along the river next to the site.

All pitches appeared level with many gravel hard standings, some fully serviced, and plentiful drinking water taps. The town centre is only a couple of minutes walk along the loch and is worth a visit.

We were expecting lots of midges but were delighted to find very few 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanterrier 28 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site with friendly owners. Pitches were all level hardstanding with hookups and were well spaced out in the main although it did get busy later on with campervans arriving late and they got squeezed on, and some had drains too.

Location in quiet town was handy short walk for all facilities, pubs, supermarkets etc etc. Short walk to grassed area along lochside.

Site facilities were clean and functional with good sized shower cubicles, no problems hanging stuff up. There was a laundry and clear areas for dumping waste and filling up with water. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tyrone 19 reviews from this member

 Our third year at this site. As ever friendly staff. This is a totally relaxing site. We have never found the road noise intrusive and the gravel pitch drains well.

Lochgilphead is at the head of the loch so don't expect sandy beaches!

This time we visited Tayvallich and walked out to Keills Chapel, a 12th century site with wonderful views over the Sound of Jura.

We also looked at Kilmartin and Kilmichael up to Loch Awe. The amount of prehistoric stuff is amazing, and all the roads quiet.

Lochgilphead town itself has improved since our last visit 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 37 reviews from this member

 This is a site that is looking old and shabby. Toilets etc were clean but dated. No access if you are disabled.

Motor home parking is in a large expanse of gravel and concrete near the main road, so we parked as far as we could away from the road. This is the main Glasgow to Campbeltown road so busy until late evening.

There is a small children's play area. Young kids from the permanent caravans were up playing until 10pm, so not quiet enough when you have kids who want to go to sleep an hour earlier than that.

The site has no entry gates so anyone can drive in any time. Given the loud drunks I heard late at night just outside the entrance, you do wonder who might decide to visit when there's no one around.

When we came to fill up with water, the pipe sat over a blocked drain which was breeding flies, so not nice.

Lochgilphead has a very good bookshop, but is otherwise a bit rundown looking. It doesn't help that the bay is silting up, so the seaside is a long way from the town especially at low tide.

In short, OK for the one night, but not somewhere I'd want to stay for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tyrone 19 reviews from this member

 A second visit for us. As ever it is a good site in a good touring area. Showers are clean, hot and spacious. There was a heavy storm on the Saturday night but the site is well drained and good to walk around on in the morning.

Well worth the drive up from Lancashire for a long weekend. We hope to be back.

Once again we went to Crinan and walked the towpath. Lots of boats to watch. The drive to and from the site alongside Loch Fyne is lovely. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochgilphead Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochgilphead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3440 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement