Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochgilphead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Lochgilphead Caravan Park > Reviews

Lochgilphead Caravan Park
Bank Park
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA31 8NX
Tel: 01546 602003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2024 to 15/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Niloc S 2 reviews from this member

 We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Lochgilphead Caravan Park. Can only back up the 2 previous reviews.

The site is very clean & tidy. The pitches all hard standing with electric & own water supply.

I have to say that the toilets & showers are some of the best we've seen in a long time. The warden helpful and friendly without going OTT.

Really handy for the town & the Crinnan Canal towpath.

Would certainly come back when in the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbate67 4 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site. Owners friendly.

Facilities clean and more than adequate.

Perfect location for cycling on Crinnan Canal.

Take food for meals not many local eateries. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Our 4th visit and review of this site and there have been a number of changes since we last visited.

The main touring area was next to the road but this has now been given over to seasonals. Tidy and well kept with most vans occupied.

There is a high fence that separates this from the brand new touring area. Massive pitches on gravel, all have a tap, drain and ehu.

There is also new showers and loos at the new reception but the old block also remains in use so no shortage of loos or showers. We found this new area quieter as further away from the road.

Other than that all as was, 5minutes walk to town, a further 5 minutes to a good Coop. The Crinan Canal is worth a stop, fabulous to walk or cycle both ways and brilliant cafes at both ends.

This site is well place for Kintyre and the 'Secret Argyll Coast' over from Dunoon. It was full when we stayed and people we spoke to all loved the improvements. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 The upside; its location. Clean facilities. Dog friendly. You can walk into the town.

The downside; Static units, far too much gravel everywhere very little greenery.

Would I visit again not really. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 51 reviews from this member

 The site is in Lochgilphead so shops, pubs and takeaways are all accessible. There is a a good sized Coop and another small supermarket at the petrol station.

Good location for Mull of Kintyre, Crinan Canal (with cycle path) and the stone age sites of Kilmartin Glen. We'll stay again because of the location.

The site has been developed since we visited last with more statics. Still spaces for tourers obviously but seems to have lost a little bit of its appeal.

New facilities - one toilet room and three shower rooms with toilets too. Outdoor washing up facilities. All clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Louise 1 review from this member

 Well organised site with obvious efforts to ensure safety and cleanliness.

The reception was not open when I got there but it was easy to see which plot I had been allocated and there was written information readily available.

Individual water and plug in supply for each plot.

Showers and toilets were spotlessly clean and appear to be newly installed. I did not have to queue at all. Most of the site is statics or similar that have there own ablutions.

The site was quiet and peaceful and I would definitely recommend it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackso 1 review from this member

 Great facilities-free hot water for showers and washing up area.

Just off main road but very little road noise.

Level hard standing cold water and electrics at pitch.

Staff very friendly.

Close to Crinan canal cycle path. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this site, perfectly placed for us when heading down from Oban to Kintyre, the ferry terminal at Tarbert or back towards Ayrshire.

Nothing much has changed on site from my last review, and that is all for the good. Think all the pitches are now fully serviced and charged at 23. 00 per night.

There are signs that dogs need to be kept on a lead, however for for 3 nights we stayed there were dogs roaming free and being walked around the site off lead. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JPal 1 review from this member

 Thanks for excellent showers, and our new heater was excellent for frosty mornings. We found the site to be very quiet at night, even though near to road, and pitches very good size.

Lochgilphead could do with a good pub with pub meals but we found the Argyll cafe which was fine for fish and chips. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Each time we go back to this site its a little better. This time there are new fully serviced pitches with water, waste, electric and tv for 23 per night. Large pitches with enough room for car, caravan and awning on hardstanding with a grass area separating each pitch.

Wifi is included in pitch price across the site. Regular non fully services pitches with electric are 20. 00.

There is new landscaping around the site which has softened the views and made it much less municipal. Everything is really well kept and tidy including the loos and showers.

As previous reviews the site is perfect for Crinan Canal with has a great towpath for cycling or walking. The town has a few touristy shops, a couple of hardware shops, a butchers etc and a decent sized Coop.

The owners on site are really friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Again would say the laundry did not bother us in anyway, if you are on the main site you do not see or hear anyone coming to use it - on the overnight pitches near reception you probably would. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochgilphead Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochgilphead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement